Free Shipping on orders $50+ No code needed.

Select the "Economy Shipping" option at checkout.

Free Shipping on orders of $50 or more applies to economy shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed.

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L5HA.

White River Fly Shop Fly Tying Kit - Bass Tying

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Product Color
Quantity Price & availability

Assorted

  • $79.99

  • SKU: 841196

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

One of the most rewarding experiences in fly fishing is catching a fish on a fly of your own creation. To help you reach that goal, the folks at White River Fly Shop® have created this series of fly-tying kits that include everything you'll need to learn how to tie your favorite flies - including a FREE instructional DVD featuring Lefty Kreh! In this kit, you'll find high-quality tools, vise, hooks, and materials, all carefully selected to make your introduction to fly tying simple and enjoyable. The bass fly kit provides material and DVD instruction for tying the following patterns: Bendback Streamer, Lefty's Deceiver, Clouser Deep Minnow (baby bass), Lefty's Popping Bug, Hackle Fly (seducer), Deer Hair Diver (frog), and Deer Hair Popper (frog).

White River Fly Shop Fly Tying Kit - Bass Tying 4.2 5 18 18
Pretty Good Starter Kit Many aspects of fly fishing can be quite intimidating for a beginner, just simply because there is so much to learn, especially if you lack a mentor. The video alone makes this a worthwhile purchase. Lefty Kreh is an expert, and he is also a pretty good teacher. He does start with a couple of basic fundamentals, but he then immediately starts demonstrating some flies in such a fashion that you can master the fundamentals of basic tying while actually tying flies. I'v watched the video seven times, and had it up on a laptop for at least the first time through on each fly. I would have given the whole kit five-stars except for three reasons. The equipment and materials in the kit did not really match what was being used in the video. It wasn't an issue for me, but to rate something perfect, everything should match, especially for a starter, in my opinion. Second, the one place I think the video fails is in discussing the proportions of material to use. I am an exacting person, and I would prefer starting to know just how much is recommended to use. Like in cooking, once I have mastered the recipe, then I can feel free to modify the ingredients list to my liking. There was plenty of dear hair, but I could have used a bit more white hackle. There was enough for one seaducer. Everything else, I was able to tie several times at least. Other than that, I like the vice. It is not necessarily easy to understand how to use, but I will be doing so for a while. No need to upgrade for me immediately. July 31, 2011
Great Kit I would rate it 4.5 if i could, its not the greatest thing ever but it is darn close. At first it seems like very little marterial is included but once you start tying you relize just how far the material goes. In reality, plenty is included for the beginer. All the tools are of great quality. The vise is easy to use and is strong. Everything is labled. there is plenty of hooks. I only wish they included more eyes. December 18, 2008
Great Buy This is a great product. I got this for my birthday and use it all the time. The CD is a little confusing at first but once you get going it's very easy from there. Not only can you tie the flies that are mentioned on the CD but you can even tie some flies of your own because of the surplus of materials. I've tied some great flies and continue using it! I use it all the time! December 10, 2009
good product for a novice like myself, this kit is a good deal for the beginner fly tyer, there is a very informative DVD from Lefty. The packages are clearly labeled. the tools supplied seem decent. You will need to have some pliers and nice file for the hooks, lefty mentions this in the DVD. I watched the DVD last night and plan on starting the fly tying this week. January 7, 2008
<<prev 2 3 4 5 next>>
5 Questions | 15 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
2 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
looks like a vise, scissors, bobbin, bodkin and hackle pliers if you ask me......
 
Q: 
2 answers

Kit

Details: 
IS there like a box that all of this comes in and does the vise go i a slot in the box or does it just come with all of that in a cardboard box.
2 years, 11 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
The vise clamps on the side of a table or bench that is up to 1 3/4 inches thick The entire kit is contained in a single box with the vise, bobbin, hackle pliers and bodkin contained in an inner box
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Las Vegas NV & Ocqueoc, MI
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The entire kit comes in a tidy little box with everything you need to start tying flies. The vise is a clamp style with enough adjustment built into it to attatch to almost any table or work bench. the quality of the kit is top notch and the value is great! You'll really enjoy this kit, mine is almost 2 years old and still works like new after tying more than a thousand flies!
2 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Silver City, NM
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
Short answer - No. Not unless you take the hook out of the vise and re-set your "grip angle"
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Las Vegas NV & Ocqueoc, MI
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No, once the fly is clamped, the angle is static. Rotating will change the angle of the fly or loosen the jaws. This is not a rotary vise.
3 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Not the way a rotating vise does but yes you can rotate the vise.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Rutherfordton, NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
5 answers

is it good for starter

4 years, 8 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
Yes - however, you decide to continue with this hobby (obsession), you will probably want to upgrade to a better - more versitile vise
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Las Vegas NV & Ocqueoc, MI
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I would highly recommend this for a starter.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Rutherfordton, NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes, everything you need to start tying is included
3 years, 8 months ago
by
Anonymous
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes! For a starter, or for an experienced tier as well, I would recommend this kit. It has everything you'll need to get started and enough material to tie flies for a long time!
4 years ago
by
 - Silver City, NM
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes!
4 years, 1 month ago
by
 - St. Peters, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
6 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
The kit contains enough material for at least a couple of dozen flies, if not more
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Las Vegas NV & Ocqueoc, MI
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
This kit comes with a lot of material! I've tied all of the flies in the instructional video and have made a dozen more patterns of my own, and still have enough material to tie many, MANY more! You'll be very pleased with everything in this kit and it'll keep you busy for a very long time!
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
4 years ago
by
 - Silver City, NM
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
More than enough to make several of the flies in the kit.
4 years, 1 month ago
by
 - St. Peters, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
The kit includes enough material for most people to tie plenty of flies. I suggest enlarging the image and comparing the material packs with the DVD to see if there is enough for what you want to do.
6 years, 1 month ago
2
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime