Free Shipping on orders $99+. Use code 99FREE

Enter promo code '99FREE' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BF

Free Shipping on orders of $99 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

White River Fly Shop® Dogwood Canyon® Fly Rods

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Line Weight Length Other specs Quantity Price & availability

4

7'

Product Color:
Coffee

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-704

5

7'6"

Product Color:
Coffee

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-765

5

8'6"

Product Color:
Coffee

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-865

6

8'6"

Product Color:
Coffee

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-866

6

9'

Product Color:
Coffee

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-906

7

9'

Product Color:
Coffee

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-907

8

9'

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-908

5

9'

Product Color:
Coffee

Pieces:
2

Model:
DC-905
Designed specifically to help introductory fly anglers excel in the sport. Dogwood Canyon fly rods are forgiving as your skills improve. 4- through 6-weight rods feature western-style grip while 7- and 8-weight models come standard with Full Wells grip and removable fighting butt. Protective rod sock included. 2-piece rods.
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 30 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by excellent rod absolute perfect rod to handle even a stubborn steelhead... May 19, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by inexpensive ultra light I purchased this as a trial for an in expensive 7' fly rod. I love it, spooled it with 4-weight line and took it to Penns creek last week, landed a 14' rainbow on a brown caddis. Great for tight spot presentations, which is why I purchased this outfit. Will continue to work this rod all summer, so far.. a great buy. May 10, 2010
Rated 4 out of 5 by Excellent Product I have purchased 3 of these on the recommendation of a family member. I have landed many steelhead on my 5 wt. Handled the large fish great with no failure. I gave a 7wt to my sister and she loves it. She has landed several large steelhead including a 31". I also have a 7 wt that is great for bass and steelhead and hanles extremely well. I have $20 rods to $200 rods. These are great rods for the price. October 13, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Quality I don't normally take the time to write reviews of products I purchase. But this fly rod is worthy of a review. I purchased the 4 wt 7' rod for river fishing, and I figured for the price it would be adequate for my needs. Well I have to say this is one the finest fly rods I've had a chance to use. The balance is perfect and it makes casting a dream. Very responsive and very sensitive. I would highly recommend this rod to anyone considering purchasing one. You won't find a better rod for the price. June 2, 2009
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
7 Questions | 12 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
Details: 
New to fly fishing wondering why the 9' rod has so many choices of line weight? Is it the size of the eyes?
3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Line weight determines the size of load the rod will carry. A 4wt. rod that is 9 ft. long is suited for small flies, whereas a 8 wt. rod in the same length would be adequate for tossing large flies for bass, salmon/steelhead, etc.
1 week ago
by
 - SW Idaho
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
The 9’ rods will have 10 or 11 guides, including tip. Fly fishing is a bit different than conventional, in that the line weight is the primary element, rather than the length.

You first choose the line weight of your outfit based upon what type of fishing you’ll be doing.

If you’ll be fishing for panfish or trout, look at line weights from 4-6.

If you are going straight to bass, a 7 or 8 weight is better because it will deliver bigger flies and control bigger fish around cover.

An 8-1/2 to 9 foot length is average for most fishing. If you’re going to fish smaller streams with lots of overhanging trees, that’s when you might want to look at a shorter length.
1 year, 1 month ago
by
 - rosemead california
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
You have to go to 7 weight for the fighting butt.
5 months, 1 week ago
by
 - Phoenix Arizona
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no and no
1 year, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
The White River Fly Shop® Dogwood Canyon® Fly Rods has a one year warranty.
2 years ago
by
 - Springfield,MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
2 years, 11 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Your size has virtually nothing to do with selection of an appropriate rod/line weight or length. Rod/line wt. selection should be based on the size of flies to be used, along with size of fish pursued. Rod length is a subjective decision but usually a 9 ft. rod will be best for a variety of conditions.
1 week ago
by
 - SW Idaho
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Size is not all that important when it comes to fly fishing. It is all about timing and technique. With a little practice you could handle any rod from 7' to 15'. Depending on where you intend to do most of your fishing an 8' or 8'6" 5 to 7 weight rod should fit about any venue on freshwater (and some brackish water as well).
2 years, 10 months ago
by
 - West Chester, PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
Our OutdoorSite library features an excellent article by Mike Huffman on selecting your fly rod. You can read how to do so by going to the following links:

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CFPage?storeId=10151&catalogId=10001&langId=-1&mode=article&objectID=32632&objectType=article&cmid=OLBASIC_32632_TITLE

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/CFPage?storeId=10151&catalogId=10001&langId=-1&mode=article&objectID=32634&objectType=article&cmid=OLBASIC_32634_THUMB
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 8 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
med fast is the 7' 6" combo.
3 years, 4 months ago
0
0
 
Q: 
1 answer

fighting butt?

Details: 
Any way to order a replacement butt for my 8wt?
4 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Birmingham, mi
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
no
3 years, 4 months ago
0
0
5 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Yokohama, Japan
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
Occasionally, out of stock items may be pulled from display on the web page. If you do not see an item displayed, call us at our toll free number (1-800-227-7776) or email us through the customer service link so that we may check into it further.
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
No , I purchased a 7 weight Dogwood Canyon rod 2 months ago.
3 years, 10 months ago
by
 - Phoenix Arizona
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime