Free Shipping on orders $50+ No code needed.

Select the "Economy Shipping" option at checkout.

Free Shipping on orders of $50 or more applies to economy shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed.

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L5HA.

White River Fly Shop Crown Spring Tension Vise

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Quantity Price & availability
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1760826

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

The White River Fly Shop® Crown Spring Tension Vise features a spring tension jaw design which has proven to be the most reliable way to securely hold hooks. The Crown Spring Tension Vise’s heavy-duty head is adjustable for angle and rotation. Complete with a clamp mount system and heavy-duty stem for maximum stability.

  • Spring tension jaw design
  • Most reliable way to securely hold hooks
  • Heavy-duty head is adjustable for angle and rotation
  • Clamp mount system
  • Sturdy stem
White River Fly Shop Crown Spring Tension Vise 3.4 5 9 9
Jaw point broke While tying flies for an Alaska salmon trip, the jaw point broke ,upon inspection the jaws are made from pot metal (cast iron) and a bubble in the cast located at lever. I did use this several hundred times before it broke, and it did hold hooks very secure. If jaws were made from stainless steel I would pay the extra and order another on. August 10, 2013
Broke in the First Month of USe A month after tying with mine the screw to keep the jaws from rotating stripped. I did not over tighten the screw it just wore out. You can not put a #6 2X Heavy nymph hook in the vice either even if you follow their instructions. Sending it back and buying a better vise. I give it a 2 star because it holds small hooks very firmly. February 12, 2013
Too hard to squeeze This hurt my hand every time I tried to squeeze it open. I thought it would work like a a higher end product, not even close. I went back to my old vise. March 31, 2011
Great Vice The vice works great couldn't be happier with it's performance; holds the hook very secure. Easy to open for almost any size hook. October 19, 2012
<<prev2 3 next>>
7 Questions | 18 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
Details: 
How long is the shaft?
1 year, 5 months ago
by
Anonymous
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
The diameter of the shaft is .482". This will be just shy of 1/2".
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - Main Headquarters
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
 
Q: 
2 answers

Is the roatation smooth?

3 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
extremly smooth
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Northern California
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The rotation is extremely smooth. Thumb screw allows for more or less tension of the rotation.
2 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
No
1 year, 5 months ago
by
 - Youngstown , Florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes it has more steel in it in my opinion.
2 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
no
2 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
comes with a pedestal base and a clamp vise is available at additional cost
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Northern California
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
yes it does
2 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Full 360 degrees
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Northern California
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes. Full rotary.
3 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes
3 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
The reviewer commented that loading a #6 hook was a chore but how will it work with smaller hooks say #12 to #20?

Answers

A: 
Loading #6 is not a problem...smaller is not a problem either
2 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I've used down to a 16 with no problem.
3 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
fine but mine broke after about a month
3 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
First hook I put in the vise was a size 22 dry fly hook, rock steady. I dont go below size 24 just because its to much of a pain in my opinion, but I dont think it would have a problem with down to a 28. Just make sure you have the hook in the jaws right because spring loaded jaws like these can cut finer hooks off.
3 years, 11 months ago
by
 - State College PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I've been able to tie up to a size 4, I haven't tied any thing larger than that. I would recommend going smaller than a size 20 either.
3 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

whats the max hook size?

Details: 
I tie saltwater flies,I need to know the max hook size.
4 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I've been able to tie a Size 4, I haven't tried any thing larger than that yet.
3 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The directions say larger that #6 "For larger hooks ( size 6 and larger), align the hook bend with the curved groove in the Vise Jaws adn rock the hook back and forth as you close the jaws (this will lock larger hooks in position)" Hope this helps
4 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Kentucky
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime