Free Shipping on orders $75+. Use code SHIP75

Enter promo code 'SHIP75' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BE

Free Shipping on orders of $75 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Temple Fork Outfitters™ NXT Fly Fishing Rod and Reel Outfits

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Line Weight Length Other specs Quantity Price & availability

4

8'6"

Pieces:
4

Model:
TF NXT 4/5
  • $219.99

  • SKU: 1339345

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

5

9'

Pieces:
4

Model:
TF NXT 5/6
  • $219.99

  • SKU: 1339346

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

8

9'

Pieces:
4

Model:
TF NXT 8/9
  • $229.99

  • SKU: 1339347

  • Available for Backorder
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

Temple Fork Outfitters’ NXT beginner rod and reel outfits are an affordable way to shorten the fly fishing learning curve. The NXT outfit comes with a high-performance IM6 graphite fly rod, up locking reel seat and a composite cork handle. A cast aluminum disc drag reel comes rigged up with fly line, backing, leader and a tapered tippet all packed in a handy rod and reel carrying case. Just in case there are any ''mishaps'', TFO has been kind enough to include a lifetime no-fault warranty.
Rated 4.1 out of 5 by 12 reviewers.
Rated 3 out of 5 by TFO NXT Combo I have been using TFO rods for 8 years now and will never use another more expensive brand of rod. With this combo, I have the 9', 5/6 wt. rod and it casts smooth and flawless, however the TFO reel and the line that it came with frustrate me. I have lost several fish due to the line tangling (it loses it's lubricant very quickly) or the drag locking up. I would highly recommend ANY TFO rods but the reel just leaves me frustrated.... July 29, 2009
Rated 3 out of 5 by Decent starter outfit I've had the NXT 5wt outfit for a little over a year now and have fished it many, many times in a wide range of conditions. First, the good: The rod itself if far and away the best part of the outfit. The rod action is pretty easy without being too stiff or too whippy. It'll handle mid-size streamers pretty well, but can still gently place fine tippets and small dries. These are qualities that any decent 5wt rod should possess. Now, the not so good: First, the fly line and leader that come preloaded with this outfit are pretty subpar. If you are intent on buying this outfit, just know that you will have to buy a quality fly line at some point not too far down the road. I've found that even after the first 3 or 4 times I used this rod, the fly line lubricant comes completely off and it sticks to the guides wet or dry. You can always buy fly line lubricant separately, but the fact that the line also starts to absorb H20 and sink makes the hassle of re-lubricating not really worth it in my opinion. Second, the reel quality leaves a lot to be desired. For someone just starting out, it will work Ok for a while, but you can't fine tune the drag much at all. It's either "on" or "off". Also, the click spring on my reel just gave out this past weekend. I was able to doctor it a bit streamside, but it just reinforced my opinion that the reel and fly line aren't practical for extended use. Bottom line: For someone just starting out fly fishing or looking for a relatively inexpensive backup rig, this is a pretty decent choice. Most outdoor companies are coming out with their own fly rod outfits and I'd put this one up against any other in the $150-200 range. Just know that a new fly line ($60+) and probably a new reel ($100+) will be in the offing as well. May 29, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by TFO NXT Fly Fishing outfit I received this outfit for my birthday as an introduction to fly fishing. As a beginner I can say that this has been an extremely satisfying piece of equipment. I have had no problems and have progressed in casting very well using this rod and reel. I recently lost the tip overboard while dissembling and will be testing the no-fault warranty. Looking to buy another outfit. April 13, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have The TFO is a awesome rod and reel combo! I trout and bass fish with a 5/6 weight TFO and it works great. I highly recomend this combo to beginners and experts! January 4, 2009
<<prev2 3 next>>
9 Questions | 15 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
 
Q: 
1 answer

Line wt for 9wt, 9ft

Details: 
I am going to N. MI to fish for salmon. Would the line that would come with this outfit be suitable for chuck & duck fishing or should I look at different options?
1 year, 11 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I would the ditch fly line that came with the outfit. Didn't like how the line loaded on the rod and the first 3 feet of the fly line would sink but if you're chucking and ducking you can probably get away with this line. However, for any other type of fishing I would switch to something like a Scientific Angler mastery series.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Boston, MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Details: 
I'm an avid bass fisherman who is considering trying to use a fly fishing rig. I know basically nothing about rods and reels so I'm wondering if the reels are left/right specific or like spinning reels are they reversable?

Thanks for any help.....
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - West Chester, PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes, they are reversible. Just take the spool out and unscrew the gears and flip it over.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Boston, MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Some are, but the Reddington crosswater is easy to change from left to right hand retrieve.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Key West, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 4 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes
3 years ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
5 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
We do not carry the replacement spool, however, you may be able to purchase the replacement spool through either our Outdoor World Rod and Reel repair department (phone: 417-873-5274; M-F 8-4:30) or by contacting Temple Fork Outfitters directly at 800.638.9052.
 
Q: 
2 answers

RE: "case"

Details: 
Is the case a tube style or a rectangular style (more suitable for gift wrapping & presentation)?
5 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
both....it is a hard tube that holds the rod and a soft pouch the reel fits in
1 year, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
The case is designed with a built-in reel holder, so it probably wouldn't be real easy to wrap. Would make an excellent gift though.
5 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I would like a seven weight and is there enough space for a lot of backing?
5 years, 5 months ago
by
 - South Padre Island, Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Mine has held up for over a year with proper care, but the size diversity in fish I would recomend more than one outfit. I fished the 8/9 wt for reds and sea trout on the gulf for 12+months going 5-8 times a month wadding chest deep. Still works here in WY as it did new, but only used in the high wind or when throwing larger flies.
3 years ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
If you're on a budget and still want a TFO rod, I'd go with the other outfit that is a combo TFO rod and Hobbs Creek large arbor reel. The reels that come with the NXT outfits just aren't built for heavy and extended use. Especially if the species you chase frequently take you to your backing.
5 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The 8/9 wt is a four piece.
3 years ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
The combo comes with a carrying case. Yes, the rod is a four-piece rod, so it will break-down into four pieces.
5 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 8 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
with proper care, and alot of it, yes, but I think everything is in that aspect. I used mine in salt water before moving and it has been fine, but I flush and lub after every trip.
3 years ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
Probably not saltwater proof, but would be suitable for use in saltwater. This reel would need to be cleaned more often than true saltwater reels.
5 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
What type of fly line and size of leader
is included with the 5/6 outfit?
6 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
6 weight weight forward line. The leader is like a 7.5 foot 7 or 8x. If you buy the combo you may want to consider purchasing a good 5 w double taper or 6 w weight forward fly line.
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The line appears to be a weight forward taper in #6, the leader is a little short at around 7' but it is a tapered leader tied to the line with a bloodknot.
6 years ago
by
 - San Antonio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime