Free Shipping on orders $99+. Use code 99FREE

Enter promo code '99FREE' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BF

Free Shipping on orders of $99 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Temple Fork Outfitters™ NXT Fly Fishing Rod and Reel Outfits

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Line Weight Length Other specs Quantity Price & availability

4

8'6"

Pieces:
4

Model:
TF NXT 4/5

5

9'

Pieces:
4

Model:
TF NXT 5/6

8

9'

Pieces:
4

Model:
TF NXT 8/9
Temple Fork Outfitters’ NXT beginner rod and reel outfits are an affordable way to shorten the fly fishing learning curve. The NXT outfit comes with a high-performance IM6 graphite fly rod, up locking reel seat and a composite cork handle. A cast aluminum disc drag reel comes rigged up with fly line, backing, leader and a tapered tippet all packed in a handy rod and reel carrying case. Just in case there are any ''mishaps'', TFO has been kind enough to include a lifetime no-fault warranty.
Rated 4.3 out of 5 by 10 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by TFO NXT Fly Fishing outfit I received this outfit for my birthday as an introduction to fly fishing. As a beginner I can say that this has been an extremely satisfying piece of equipment. I have had no problems and have progressed in casting very well using this rod and reel. I recently lost the tip overboard while dissembling and will be testing the no-fault warranty. Looking to buy another outfit. April 13, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by A must have The TFO is a awesome rod and reel combo! I trout and bass fish with a 5/6 weight TFO and it works great. I highly recomend this combo to beginners and experts! January 4, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great price for product I have been using this set up for over 6 months now and would not trade it for the world. This has been a great trade up from an entry level to a solid mid-level set up. The rod is solidly made and has a good level of flexibility allowing for some less than desirable casts to reach their destination. It holds up well with bigger fish on the line. The reel works very well and the drag holds up during cold and wet weather. The warranty is one you cannot beat so for me, this was a great buy! November 6, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by The #5/6 combo, great kit for the price I have recently started fly fishing again after taking a break for nearly 12 years. I started back with a cheap graphite rod and then moved over to a couple of classic fiberglass rods, a Martin in #6 and a Heddon Pal in #7. I really love the way the fiberglass rods respond and how they gently put the line on the water, I had heard these NXT rods had a similar action and I was not disappointed. The quality of all the components is very impressive, the rod is finished wonderfully, the reel impressed me with it's drag system, and the case that they fit in is also top notch. I'm by no means a great caster, but I have come close to shooting the line to the backing when needed. The rod loads well and can punch through the wind with a little effort. So far I've only caught some RioGrande perch, Long ears, blue gills, and a pair of small Guadalupe bass on this rod, but it feels like it is up to the challenge of a big fish if needed. The only complaint I have, and it is a small one, is the fly line seems to get a bit "sticky" to the rod and line guides after about an hour of being in the water. So far putting on line dressing after each use has made this a non issue, but that is the only complaint I could find in this combo. August 13, 2008
<<prev2 3 next>>
9 Questions | 15 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
 
Q: 
1 answer

Line wt for 9wt, 9ft

Details: 
I am going to N. MI to fish for salmon. Would the line that would come with this outfit be suitable for chuck & duck fishing or should I look at different options?
1 year, 10 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I would the ditch fly line that came with the outfit. Didn't like how the line loaded on the rod and the first 3 feet of the fly line would sink but if you're chucking and ducking you can probably get away with this line. However, for any other type of fishing I would switch to something like a Scientific Angler mastery series.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
 - Boston, MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Details: 
I'm an avid bass fisherman who is considering trying to use a fly fishing rig. I know basically nothing about rods and reels so I'm wondering if the reels are left/right specific or like spinning reels are they reversable?

Thanks for any help.....
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - West Chester, PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes, they are reversible. Just take the spool out and unscrew the gears and flip it over.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
 - Boston, MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Some are, but the Reddington crosswater is easy to change from left to right hand retrieve.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Key West, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes
2 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
5 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
We do not carry the replacement spool, however, you may be able to purchase the replacement spool through either our Outdoor World Rod and Reel repair department (phone: 417-873-5274; M-F 8-4:30) or by contacting Temple Fork Outfitters directly at 800.638.9052.
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
 
Q: 
2 answers

RE: "case"

Details: 
Is the case a tube style or a rectangular style (more suitable for gift wrapping & presentation)?
5 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
both....it is a hard tube that holds the rod and a soft pouch the reel fits in
1 year, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
The case is designed with a built-in reel holder, so it probably wouldn't be real easy to wrap. Would make an excellent gift though.
5 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I would like a seven weight and is there enough space for a lot of backing?
5 years, 4 months ago
by
 - South Padre Island, Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Mine has held up for over a year with proper care, but the size diversity in fish I would recomend more than one outfit. I fished the 8/9 wt for reds and sea trout on the gulf for 12+months going 5-8 times a month wadding chest deep. Still works here in WY as it did new, but only used in the high wind or when throwing larger flies.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
If you're on a budget and still want a TFO rod, I'd go with the other outfit that is a combo TFO rod and Hobbs Creek large arbor reel. The reels that come with the NXT outfits just aren't built for heavy and extended use. Especially if the species you chase frequently take you to your backing.
5 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The 8/9 wt is a four piece.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
The combo comes with a carrying case. Yes, the rod is a four-piece rod, so it will break-down into four pieces.
5 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
with proper care, and alot of it, yes, but I think everything is in that aspect. I used mine in salt water before moving and it has been fine, but I flush and lub after every trip.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Cheyenne, WY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
Probably not saltwater proof, but would be suitable for use in saltwater. This reel would need to be cleaned more often than true saltwater reels.
5 years, 7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
What type of fly line and size of leader
is included with the 5/6 outfit?
5 years, 11 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
6 weight weight forward line. The leader is like a 7.5 foot 7 or 8x. If you buy the combo you may want to consider purchasing a good 5 w double taper or 6 w weight forward fly line.
2 years, 7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The line appears to be a weight forward taper in #6, the leader is a little short at around 7' but it is a tapered leader tied to the line with a bloodknot.
5 years, 11 months ago
by
 - San Antonio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime