Free Shipping on orders $99+. Use code 99FREE

Enter promo code '99FREE' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BF

Free Shipping on orders of $99 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Sale Strike King® Tour Grade Football Jigs

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Product Color Weight
Quantity
Other specs Quantity Price & availability

Summer Craw

Summer Craw

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-100

Black Blue

Black Blue

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-2

White

White

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-10

Black Brown Amber

Black Brown Amber

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-23

Candy Craw

Candy Craw

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-130

Gator Craw

Gator Craw

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-132

Green Pumpkin Craw

Green Pumpkin Craw

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-46

Peanut Butter and Jelly

Peanut Butter and Jelly

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-51

Bama Craw

Bama Craw

3/8 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ38-101

Summer Craw

Summer Craw

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-100

Black Blue

Black Blue

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-2

White

White

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-10

Black Brown Amber

Black Brown Amber

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-23

Candy Craw

Candy Craw

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-130

Gator Craw

Gator Craw

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-132

Green Pumpkin Craw

Green Pumpkin Craw

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-46

Peanut Butter and Jelly

Peanut Butter and Jelly

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-51

Bama Craw

Bama Craw

1/2 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ12-101

Summer Craw

Summer Craw

3/4 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ34-100

Black Blue

Black Blue

3/4 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ34-2

Candy Craw

Candy Craw

3/4 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ34-130

Gator Craw

Gator Craw

3/4 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ34-132

Green Pumpkin Craw

Green Pumpkin Craw

3/4 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ34-46

Peanut Butter and Jelly

Peanut Butter and Jelly

3/4 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ34-51

Bama Craw

Bama Craw

3/4 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ34-101

Black Blue

Black Blue

1 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ1-2

Texas Craw

Texas Craw

1 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ1-8

Gator Craw

Gator Craw

1 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ1-132

Green Pumpkin Craw

Green Pumpkin Craw

1 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ1-46

Peanut Butter and Jelly

Peanut Butter and Jelly

1 oz.

1

Model:
TDJ1-51
Strike King's Tour Grade Football Jigs are the ultimate deepwater, big-bass jigs! A wide football shaped head gives the Tour Grade Jig a superior feel and helps the jig stand-up and tantalize on the bottom. The flat eye line tie helps keep the line, knot and jig in the proper position, while an extra-sharp Gamakatsu® 60° round bend hook promotes true hook sets. Featuring durable powder-coated paint jobs and color coordinated weedguards, the Tour Grade Football Jigs sport premium skirts that produce a lifelike look and action.
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great jig! I was fishing a local tournament recently and this jig got me results. I like to use the PB and J color with some sort of green beaver bait as a trailer. Big fish cant pass that combination up. March 8, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by the best!!!!!!!!! i had bought a couple of these jigs last year around christmas then last spring i went fishing at my local lake with this jig and i caught alot of nice 3 pound bass.i was fishing the black and blue jig with a blue chigger craw and i was crawling the jig over rocks. February 25, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by good jig I think this is a great jig. I can always keep contact with the bottom using this jig. I really like the pb&j color. January 20, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by First Jig This was my first time ever trying a jig out and i was very happy with it. I caught a few fish once i figured it out and was satisfied. They definently werent my biggest fish but whatever. I used the number 08 color and had a gary yammamoto grub as a trailer. October 12, 2008
<<prev 9 10 11 12 13
6 Questions | 30 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
 
Q: 
5 answers

Weed Guard

Details: 
Was wondering if anybody trims the weed guard ?...seems a little thick.
Thanks!
1 year, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes......I do at certain times...also helps out with the hook set.
4 months, 1 week ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes I trim my skirt and weed gaurd
8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes I trim it, just my level of comfort
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
11 months ago
by
 - Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
oh yeah its a little too much. i trim them a bit above the hook. i also trim the skirts a bit. keep casting!!!
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Always,
1 year, 6 months ago
by
 - Venice, Fl.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

The right rod

Details: 
What length,action and tip does a rod need to effectively fish this jig. Answers appreciated Thanks TIGHTLINES
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Flowery Branch GA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I use a Med/Heavy Fast Action Tip
11 months ago
by
 - Atlanta, GA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Go with a medium rod, I prefer 7ft fast action. Pair up with a good quality flourocarbon for good hooksets in deeper water. Also, make sure you use a quality rod so you can feel even the slightest hit. With a jig, they'll hit it on the fall, pick it up and sit with it or hammer it so you'll need to feel it when they "soft mouth" it.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Madison, Ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i use a 6 6 med heavy rod
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Birmingham, AL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Here is my go to. In slightly stained to stained water, Black and blue can't be beat. In clearer water, go natural colors like green or even a chartruse and green. My favorite trailer on this jig is a Chigger Craw bar none. second favorite is a yum F2 money craw. Go big, 3/8 size is the smallest I use.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Madison, Ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use Green Pumpkin or Black/Blue only with a Rage Chunk trailer in the same color as the jig.
2 years ago
by
 - High Point, N.C.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i personally use a rat l chunk black and blue craw trailer with yum f2 crawfish scent and a 1/2 ounce black and blue jig
2 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I fish a retention pond in my neighborhood. The deepest spot in the pond is only 20 feet deep. I have been wanting to try jig fishing for a while but never knew where to start. The bottom quality of the pond is pretty bad. The "seaweed" that covers the bottom is pretty mcuh gunk and slime and nothing that is supposedly "weedless" ever comes back from a cast clean. Should I even worry about trying to jig fish? If I could try to jig fish here, what do I need to start?
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Brownsburg, IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
There's a couple things you can try. First go lighter on the jig. This can actually help you pick up more bites on the fall as it will fall more slowly. It will also keep the jig from sinking to far down in the muck. Second, "pop" the jig as soon as you feel it hit the bottom, this will elicit strikes as well and keeps you from settling in the muck. One last suggestion would be to carolina rig a soft plastic craw. this way the craw stays on top of the weeds. Good luck!
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Madison, Ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I would definitely try fishing a jig, especially if you are fishing from a boat. I like a vertical presentation with a jig where I cast a short distance to holes in the weeds or punch through thicker spots in weeds and pull line off my baitcast reel so the jig falls straight down. If my line jumps or moves to the side, immediately set the hook and reel quickly to get slack out of the line and a high gear ratio helps with picking up slack. I like a cone shaped head for weeds and heavier is usually a good thing for penetrating cover. I start with a 1/2 oz and go heavier as needed based on conditions and the mood of the bass.

I like football head jigs best in deep water with either a sand or scattered rock bottom, and I drag the jig rather than hop it. I use 1/2 oz to 1 oz football heads depending on depth and the bass hit the best for me when I drag the football head across the bottom.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years ago
by
 - Grand Rapids, MI
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes the jig is a great heavy cover lure. I would definitely use the football head.
3 years ago
by
 - Mebane, NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
You can try it, but jigs are mostly made for fishing deep structure on a hard or gravel bottom. You will be bringing up alot of junk with your jig fishing in seaweed. If you try start with a Football head jig, with a rage craw trailor or chunk trailor. The football head helps it not get hung up alot.

Good Luck.

Jig fishing in the right place is awsome.
3 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
jig fishing a pond with a mucky bottom is gona drive u crazy. personally i think jigs are best worked slowly across a rocky or gravel bottom. where crawfish wud live. no matter what jig u buy its bound to grab the grass n algae slime when worked on the bottom. other than swimming the jig, i wud recommend trying a drop shot. n try to keep ur bait just above the muck n stuff on the bottom.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Central NJ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Its my observation that fish dont like the gunk and slime and dont relate to it very well. A jig is designed to fish on the bottom unless you are swimming it, so I would try something else that will stay above the slime like a shallow crankbait
4 years ago
by
 - Eufaula, AL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
If the bottom is as thick as you say, a traditional/football jig is going to be frustrating with all the cleaning between casts. You might consider a swim-jig, and try to keep if off the bottom.
4 years ago
by
 - North Central Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I just purchased 2 of these in the 1 Oz. size thinking they would be good to punch through the foilage on a lake I fish. When I saw how big these jigs actually are, it kinda concerns me to fish something that large in less than 4 feet of water. Any thoughts?
4 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Austin TX
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The fish will let you know if it's too big. Chances are it won't be. The good thing about big jigs is they catch big fish and leave the little ones off your line. I've caught 5 pounders in 1 ft of water in the summer with jigs so don't be too concerned. If conditions are good and they are there, they'll bite.y
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Madison, Ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Football jigs are not built for punching through heavy mats of grass..... you need to buy a grass jig with a more bullet shaped head or, even better, buy some 1 oz. tungsten slip sinkers, some 5/0 heavy wire jig hooks (Gamakatsu makes a great braided line hook for this) and just flip the cover with your favorite creature bait. Skirted jigs just don't perform well in dense grass because the head and the skirt want to grab.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Adairsville, GA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
For me when I want to punch thick weeds I go to a cone shaped head on my jig and fish weights between 1/2 oz to 1 1/2oz and that comes through the weeds much easier than a football head. Football head jigs are great in open sandy or scattered rock bottoms and weight depends on depth. Football heads also are better dragged on the bottom rather than hopped so I like to go heavy most of the time.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years ago
by
 - Grand Rapids, MI
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Depends on how thick the foliage you are wanting to punch through. 3/4 oz is great in shallower water.
3 years ago
by
 - Mebane, NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
personally i fish the 1/2 oz. in 100ft. thats right 100ft depths w no problem ( calm lake of course) i wud use a 3/8 or at most 1/2 oz jig for shallow water (less than 8 to 10 ft). the problem is the heavier jig will get snagged n hung up behind every rock or stump or watever n break off. a lighter jig will come thru these structure types much easier
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Central NJ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Well jigs are mainly meant to mimic crawfish which I have seen grow up to about the size of a lobster. I caught an eight pounder in four feet of water the first time out with this jig. It mainly depends on the size of the bass that inhabit your fishing spot. Hope this helped, Shelton.
4 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The football head on these jigs will hang up in the foilage in your lake. I would recommend a jig designed for heavy cover with more of a pointed head that will come through the cover better.
4 years ago
by
 - Eufaula, AL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
It all depends on the density of vegetation. If you have lilly pads or surface grass, it may work. If it doesn't consider one of the jigs designed with a bullet nose. There are also some punch-style weights, to fish flipping soft plastics with, that would by my second choice if the football won't go through.
4 years ago
by
 - North Central Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
You will be surprized of the size of fish that will be in 4 feet of water,and I've had fish hit lures bigger than they are. I use what ever wieght it takes to punch through the top mat of foilage. I think you'll be fine, try it out, then try a lighter wieght one, never hurts to have a few different sizes and colors in your gear bag.
hope ths helps ya out.
G
4 years, 10 months ago
by
 - Near Asheville NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Albany, NY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
There is a BassPro XPS Professional Tungsten Jig that comes in a variety of colors and ranges in size from 3/8 to 3/4 oz.

http://www.basspro.com/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/Product_10151_-1_10001_74328____SearchResults
4 years ago
by
 - North Central Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
Number One Contributor
Number One Contributor
A: 
Bass pro shops has the XPS Professional Series Tungsten Jig. Tungsten jigs are great. With tungsten you can feel the bottom better, and it gets the jig down fast.
5 years, 3 months ago
1
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
booyah works well
5 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime