Free Shipping on orders $99+. Use code 99FREE

Enter promo code '99FREE' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BF

Free Shipping on orders of $99 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Shimano® Saragosa® Offshore Spinning Reels

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Model
Retrieve
Gear Ratio Other specs Quantity Price & availability
  • Paladin gear durability enhancement  
  • Propulsion line management system  
  • S A-RB shielded ball bearings  
  • High speed retrieves  
  • Stopperless design (no anti-reverse switch)  
  • Aluminum frame  
  • Graphite rotor (aluminum on 14000 & 18000 sizes)  
  • Power roller III line roller  
  • S-Arm cam  one-piece bail wire  aerowave oscillation (3000-8000 sizes only)  
  • Aero wrap oscillation (14000 & 18000 sizes only)  
  • Super stopper II anti-reverse  
  • 5+1 bearings (6+1 on 14000 & 18000 sizes)  
  • Direct drive mechanism  
  • Machined aluminum handle shank  
  • Dyna-balance  
  • Fluidrive II  
  • Cold forged Aluminum Spool  
  • Drilled Spool Skirt  
  • Titanium Spool Lip  
  • Waterproof Drag  
  • Easy Access Drag Washers  
  • Dartainium drag (6000-18000 sizes only)  
  • Ergonomic handle grips  
  • Septon handle grips  
  • Repairable clicker    Line recovery in inches per handle turn.
Shimano Saragosa Offshore Spinning Reels feature Paladin® gear durability enhancement, propulsion line management system, S A-RB® shielded ball bearings, high-speed retrieves, stopperless design (no anti-reverse switch) aluminum frame, graphite rotor, Power Roller® III line roller, Super Stopper II Anti-Reverse, Aerowave® oscillation (3000-8000 models), Aero Wrap® oscillation (14000-18000 models). Tackle the toughest species and conditions with elegance and power. Up to 44 pounds of drag to stop even the meanest offshore fish.  
Rated 5 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by First Impressions First impression is always key, and my first impression when I pulled this reel out of the box was very very very good. I'm not really a Shimano guy myself, so I was a bit skeptical about the reel but everything I read about it sounded great, especially the BassPro reviews. I bought the 4000 model to have a medium-light reel to throw on my 7'0 Avid Inshore rod, but I didn't want something too light. I needed a reel that would handle a good fight when I have 3 or 4 mackerel on at once or when I'm jigging on the bottom for some ground fish, and again have a couple on at a time. As soon as I picked up the reel it felt solid, and I knew right away it would balance nicely with my rod. The aluminum body should hold up great with some tlc and the reel feels very smooth, as it should be out of the box. I also went with this reel because of the simplicity of it's mechanics. This is a simple reel on the inside, perfect for servicing on your own, especially if you know you'll be getting this reel a bit wet or dirty. It won't take hours on top of hours to clean a bit of sand out of it. It has pretty good capacity for braid as well if you think you'll need it in deeper waters, which I do. When I got home I threw the reel on my rod to check the balance and it was awesome. The combination feels very slick. I can't wait to get out and catch some fish. I'm confident this reel won't let me down. I ONLY gave this reel 4 stars simply because I haven't caught anything with it yet. I see other reviewers on this site applying this logic as well, and I agree with it. I'm very happy with the purchase so far. March 27, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Why buy a Stella? The 18,000 that I just purchased makes 2 Saragosas that I own. The other one is a 14,000 They are incredible reels for the money. They get more use on our offshore boat than any other reel. I have used a Stella and I really can not understand the price difference. I certainly can't tell the difference while using it.. February 12, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT REEL Put the 8000 on a TEREZ Waxaing rod loaded with 30 power pro. Landed 4-40 plus pound Cobia with no problem. Super smooth drag no boounce what so ever. Landed several 30 plus Kings with the same results. can't say enough about the reel. Also have the 18000 on a TEREZ with 80# power pro and use it to jig for snapper/grouper/tuna with great results. If your thinking Stella STOP this is as good or better (I own 2 Stellas). July 24, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best reel ever I have the 6000/ 8000 /18000 I use all of them for vertical jigging which is very hard on the reels. 6000 was bought in 2009 8000 was bought in 2010 1800 was bought in 2011 Now my 8 year old son is into vertical jigging and I have plans for a 4000 with the lighter trevala S rod. June 12, 2012
<<prev2 3 4 5 6 next>>
7 Questions | 14 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
8 months ago
by
Anonymous
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Usually it's a difference between how well the reel is sealed from the outside elements. Saltwater inside of a reel is like acid. But each mfgs definition of this will carry.
6 months ago
by
 - virginia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I am by no means an expert, but generally speaking, offshore reels provide more power and toughness for catching bigger species of fish you'll find in open waters. These reels are may have full metal bodies, tougher gears, better bearings, etc.. They may provide anti-rust/corrosion protection especially for the bearings and drag, some may be sealed or "water tight". Inshore reels tend to be more designed for catching smaller species of fish you'll find inshore. They can be better suited towards lighter set ups (e.g. lower lb test line, light/medium action rod, smaller baits). A lot of inshore reels have higher gear ratios than you'll see in offshore reels. Lower gear ratios in offshore reels provide that extra torque you need when reeling in the big one, but can be unnecessary when reeling in much smaller fish.

Again, I'm no expert. This is simply my opinion based on my experience using both types of reels and also what I've read.
6 months ago
by
 - Halifax, Nova Scotia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 year, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
This isn't really a direct answer I guess, more like my "2 cents". Like you, I was also comparing the Saragosa to the Thunnus when trying to find my next saltwater reel. For me, it came down to the applications to which I will use the reel for and the Thunnus is really much more reel than I need. Notice that the highest gear ratio the Thunnus provides is 4.8:1. This thing is a tank for hauling in the big fish, such as Tuna (which is what Thunnus actually means). The Thunnus is also a "baitrunner", allowing you to feed out line while keeping the bail closed. Again, this feature isn't something I needed as I mostly fish artificial baits or I jig bait on the bottom for ground fish. So where the Saragosa can serve as an all purpose offshore rod (can be inshore too, no reason why it can't be), the Thunnus can serve a few more specific applications when using it's specifically designed features. Other than that, I would carefully read through the descriptions and the features to see if there is anything that would entice you to choose one over the other.

As for which size for your rod, I also have a 7'0 St.Croix rod (an Avid Inshore to be exact), and I went with the 4000 size for the Saragosa and the balance is great. Even the 3000, if you can find it, would probably balance nicely too. I also have an equivalent reel to the 5000 size but it's simply too much reel for my rod. I can't say which size Thunnus would fit best since I haven't handled one in person.
6 months ago
by
 - Halifax, Nova Scotia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Love my Saragosa. great drag system. The rod should have a line or lure wt. printed on it. Use that as your guide. you can put a 3000 or 18000 or anything in between on a 7 ft. rod depending on weight of rod
1 year, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I fish at gulf and about to get me a reel since I am sick of using old reels on fishing trips. I hear different suggestions on "how much drag I would need" to catch grouper, Aj or red snappers. I am seriously interested in Shimano SRG18000F which max drag is 44lb. Do I need to look into Fin Nor for more drag or should I stick to Shimano? I got my hands on to compare and Shimano seems much smoother. SOme say I ned about 60 lb of drag on my reel to be able to get larger groupers from the bottom. I am open to any suggestions. thank you.
1 year, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The Saragosa is your best option. I use only 25lbs of drag on stubborn AJs up to 100lbs. I've also used the Fin Nor 95 before and returned it after 1trip, not worth the money. Go with the Saragosa.
6 months ago
by
 - virginia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Depends on where you are catching the AJ's. If on an oil rig yes you need 50 plus # of drag because with a big AJ you will need to slam the drag and get the fish out of the rig with the boat then fight the fish. Snapper, even large 20 plus# fish can be handled with 25-30# of drag. Grouper can be handled with 50# of drag fairly well. I have the Saragossa 18000 on a Terez and have caught all 40-50# AJ's 20#Snapper and 60# grouper.
1 year, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
1 answer

Saragosa for GT popping?

Details: 
Can Saragosa 8000 / 14000 be used for GT popping?

Do the drag washers of the Saragosa need to be changed to "Carbontex"?
2 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Why yes able to hand those fish.
Add washer if u like, but factory wash will work and you will still catch those tuna.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
3 years, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Did you call Shimano? You should be able to order it as a spare/replacement part.
3 years ago
0
0
Details: 
want to go with the 6000 and put on 30lb. braid.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - San Diego, CA.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I have the 8000 loaded with power pro and LOVE the reel use it alot for throewing jigs to cobia and shallow snapper fishing.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
 - MS Gulf Coast
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I put 50lb power pro on my 6000, just happened to have a spool. I use 12lb mono for backing under the power pro. Casts and retrieves very well.
3 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
40 or 50 would be even better.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Galveston
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use a 6000 loaded with 35lb Rapala dynabraid for Zander and Wels Catfish. The combination works really well and the clutch is creamy smooth, great for the confidence when using lighter leaders on the big Cats.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years, 3 months ago
by
 - River Ebro Spain
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I’m looking for a reel that I don’t have to be maintaining frequently. Necessary to have a salt water resistant body and an inside free corrosion mechanism. To make simple, I want to invest a in a reel that will last long. Hellp me to decide. What about the slammer from Penn?
4 years, 6 months ago
by
 - McAllen Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
1
0

Answers

A: 
Saragosa 4000 all the way
1 year, 9 months ago
by
 - Miami florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Had the same question and kept going back and forth on it but contacted a rep w/ shimano - his recommendation and i went with the saragosa 4000 - couldn't be happier. This reel is probably as close to a stella as you will get.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Galveston
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime