Shimano® Cardiff® Round Baitcast Reels

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Model Retrieve Gear Ratio Other specs Quantity Price & availability

CDF200A

Right

5.8:1

Line Capacity:
14/120

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
10 Lbs.

Recovery:
24" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.6

CDF300A

Right

5.8:1

Line Capacity:
14/180

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
10 Lbs.

Recovery:
24" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.9

CDF301A

Left

5.8:1

Line Capacity:
14/180

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
10 Lbs.

Recovery:
24" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.9

CDF400A

Right

5.2:1

Line Capacity:
14/250

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
11 Lbs.

Recovery:
22" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11.9

CDF401A

Left

5.2:1

Line Capacity:
14/250

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
11 Lbs.

Recovery:
22" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11.9
  • Silky smooth, reliable performance
  • 4 A-RB® stainless steel ball bearings
  • Diecast aluminum frame, aluminum spool and sideplates
  • Handle-side VBS® centrifugal brake
  • Super Stopper® anti-reverse plus Assist Stopper

Shimano's Cardiff Round Baitcast Reels are equipped with 4 A-RB® stainless steel ball bearings for long-term reliability. Very smooth; high retrieve speed. Diecast aluminum frame, aluminum spool and sideplates, Diecast aluminum frame, aluminum spool and sideplates, handle-side VBS® centrifugal brake,Super Stopper® anti-reverse plus Assist Stopper™. Recessed reel foot puts the reel closer to the rod for comfort and leverage. 400 Series reels have non-disengaging levelwind and clicker.

Line recovery in inches per handle turn.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 70 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by specktackler Shimano never lets me down. But non the less this reel is great in saltwater! There is no difference between this reel and the shimano Calcutta other then price! April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by A Great entry level swimbait reel. I picked up the Cardiff 300A last year as my first dedicated Swimbait/big bait reel. I researched this reel on forums and read tons of reviews before making my decision. The Cardiff doesn't feel as tight as higher end reels like the Calcutta, but it does its job well. I have it spooled with 80lb samurai and it casts further than the low profile reels I had been using. For the past year, I have been throwing 6-8" bbz's, larger pencil poppers, shell crackers, umbrella rigs, etc.. with no problems. The only thing I don't like is that you have to remove the side plate with thumb screws in order to adjust the reel. every time I hand tighten the screws, they will eventually back themselves out after some use. I have to snug them down with a penny or a tool to get them tight enough to not back out. I consider the Cardiff to be a great entry level Swimbait reel, though I can foresee a Calcutta upgrade in the future. April 15, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 Reel # 2 A few years ago I bought the 400A and have fished hard with it. It still works good, cast good and has held up good so the other day I purchased another one, Im now the proud daddy of twins. LOL March 20, 2013
Rated 3 out of 5 by Not that great I recently purchased the Shimano Cardiff reel and got to use it this past week-end. I catfish with Ambassador 6500C3 reels and this is my first Cardiff. I myself did not like it. It is a really noisey reel when casting and does not cast very far. It is smooth on retrieve. I find my 6500's are a way better reel. I am returning the reel to Bass Pro Shops. March 13, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
9 Questions | 26 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
1 week, 1 day ago
by
 - Buckeye nation
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
On wide-spool reels with a non-disengaging levelwind system, the levelwind remains engaged during the cast, allowing the the levelwind to track back and forth with the line as it flows off of the spool. This eliminates the drastic line angles caused by a disengaging levelwind system that can cause extreme friction, which can lead to short casts or frustrating backlashes. By doing this Shimano is able to increase the efficiency of the cast, allowing for more distance with less effort.
4 days ago
by
 - Springfield,MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Details: 
looking for a really light reel for lead core trolling
1 week, 3 days ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
It should, the lead core I looked up was .54mm which would be equal to the mono 30# test in diameter. It would be close anyway.
1 week, 3 days ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
2 years, 10 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i have used this reel (The 300A Model) for the past 3 years switching from between salt and freshwater just make ssure you always rinse and oil it!
1 year, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - cincinnati,ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
They have special bearings that are corosion resistant. I use them and have read several reviews of people who use them in saltwater. I would definately rinse them off with fresh water after use and keep them well lubed.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Have been fishing the reel in the salt for over 4 years. I even dip the reel in the water to lube the line before the first cast. NO RUST YET. the main thing about reels being used in the salt is care. rinse down the reel in warm freshwater when you get home. take it apart and apply some light cleaning agents. SOME those drags need to stay dryish.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Los angeles,Ca
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
This reel is not recommended for saltwater use. Since the reel is specifically made for freshwater fishing, the saltwater may dramatically reduce the life of the reel. Thank you!
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
1
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
yes I use it in saltwater all the time
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Long Island NY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I'm thinking lighter for musky, pike, and walleye, and for travel considerations.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Colorado Springs
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Think you will be disappointed whith that real! I recommend a Abu Garcia C3. The 6500 model has a bait clicker which would give you more versatility.
1 year, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use the 400 on a similar rod for muskie so I would say go for it!
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I personally like round reels for baitcasters. I got the 300a for the sole purpose that it has a 'clicker' for live bait striper fishing here in Ca. I wish we had muskies, pike and walleye here. For chucking lures all day I would go for the 200 series.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - sf east bay
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

Is this a good Muskie reel?

Details: 
Can it handle big spinners and is a power handle available? Thanks
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Harrisburg, PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I use the 400 model for everything from Muskie to big catfish. I love them they have a lot of power. I dont know if you can order some kind of power handle for them. I did not see it as an option when I ordered mine. There might be another one that would fit on it though. Big spinners wouldnt be a problem. Great reel for the price.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It's a solid, decent reel. Basspro sells an aftermarket power handle item 38-350-834-01 that will fit it. It has the same paddle spacing as the ABU revo winch. I use mine to throw double 10 spinners. It works well for me.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Hoffman Estates, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
can handle big bait. I have not found a power-handle that don't cost half as much as the reel itself.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - sf east bay
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 4 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Their size and spool / line capacity.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
8 months ago
by
 - Earlville, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
the size and the amount of line it holds.the 200 is a little bigger
2 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
line capacity, the cardiff line are fine reels. If you fish a couple of times a week and this is not going to be your only reel, save $100, get a cardiff and pass on the calcutta.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - sf east bay
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
What rod could i match this reel up with
4 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Any number of rods will work with this reel. And yes, you could use this on everything from pan fish to stripers to musky if you select the right size.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
8 months ago
by
 - Earlville, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
BIGB Bob the 300 & 400 series reels are a beast there a perfect match for hualing in big monsters.
2 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I matched it with the Ocean Master
OM20CB 7'. Combo worked great for me. I added Power Pro line and found that I feel the slightest tap on the line
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Long Island NY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
yes, and the ugly stik striper rod should give you the perfect striper combo
4 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

pounds of drag?

Details: 
Im trying to find out about the drag i looking at this reel for med to light muskie and heavy bass. thanks for any help!!
4 years, 9 months ago
by
 - ontario canada
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The Cardiff is a great reel. I use mine for sturgeon fishing out here in ca. For musky I would use the 200good class reel. I use the larger class and its profile is to large to be using it for casting musky spinners and other lures all day.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i checked out some field tests for this reel and it has 10.5 pounds of pressure.
3 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Best Answer
A: 
I would say no. I prefer a high speed reel like 7 to 1 ratio for throwing frogs. (Hny toad) It's just easier to get those legs kickin with the higher ratio. If you are OK with the lower ratio, then the Cardiff will work fine for the slop.
4 years ago
by
 - Hoffman Estates, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I don't forsee any adversity, I've used this baitcaster for just about and in all kinds of senarios from throwing big saltwater surface plugs at Cobia and Tarpon to cut bait for many different species of fish and bottom bouncing jigs for anything and everything. Give one a try, you won't be sorry. I mostly use the CDF400A model for both salt and fresh water
4 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
not the best it really depends on the weight of your lure or bait that you are using
4 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Lutz, Florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
1
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime