Free Shipping on orders $75+. Use code SHIP75

Enter promo code 'SHIP75' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BE

Free Shipping on orders of $75 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Shimano® Cardiff® Round Baitcast Reels

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Model Retrieve Gear Ratio Other specs Quantity Price & availability

CDF200A

Right

5.8:1

Line Capacity:
14/120

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
10 Lbs.

Recovery:
24" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.6

CDF300A

Right

5.8:1

Line Capacity:
14/180

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
10 Lbs.

Recovery:
24" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.9

CDF301A

Left

5.8:1

Line Capacity:
14/180

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
10 Lbs.

Recovery:
24" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.9

CDF400A

Right

5.2:1

Line Capacity:
14/250

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
11 Lbs.

Recovery:
22" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11.9

CDF401A

Left

5.2:1

Line Capacity:
14/250

Ball Bearings:
4+1

Max Drag:
11 Lbs.

Recovery:
22" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11.9
  • Silky smooth, reliable performance
  • 4 A-RB® stainless steel ball bearings
  • Diecast aluminum frame, aluminum spool and sideplates
  • Handle-side VBS® centrifugal brake
  • Super Stopper® anti-reverse plus Assist Stopper

Shimano's Cardiff Round Baitcast Reels are equipped with 4 A-RB® stainless steel ball bearings for long-term reliability. Very smooth; high retrieve speed. Diecast aluminum frame, aluminum spool and sideplates, Diecast aluminum frame, aluminum spool and sideplates, handle-side VBS® centrifugal brake,Super Stopper® anti-reverse plus Assist Stopper™. Recessed reel foot puts the reel closer to the rod for comfort and leverage. 400 Series reels have non-disengaging levelwind and clicker.

Line recovery in inches per handle turn.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 70 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Shimano makes great products Shimano makes great products - it's really that simple. I had to return the first reel I received though because the spool did on engage when I turned the crank. Bass Pro gave me zero problems on the return though - so kudos to them. A little pricey, but worth it. July 22, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Value Just purchased my second Cardiff. I love the first one. Great value for the price. Smooth, casts well, excellent drag, handles synthetic lines well. My first Cardiff is 5+ years old and works as good as when it came out of the box. Longest lasting musky reel I have ever owned. July 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by It great reel I love it really smooth great with big lure reel grip soft May 21, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great reel Love this reel, second one I have now and it works great and the price is acceptable. May 20, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 18 next>>
10 Questions | 29 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
Yes, according to the manufacturer's web-site each series of the Shimano® Cardiff® Round Baitcast Reels feature the Handle-side VBS® centrifugal brake.
Thanks
2 months, 2 weeks ago
0
0
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
 - Buckeye nation
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Typically on a "disengaging" levelwind reel the mechanism that moves the line back and forth over the spool to evenly guide line back onto the spool when reeled in, is disengaged, as is the crank handle, when the freespool button is depressed, allowing for longer, drag free casts since only the spool moves.
Before these were invented levelwinds were call "knuckle busters" because that spinning handle, during a cast, could really take the hide off of your knuckles.
3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
On wide-spool reels with a non-disengaging levelwind system, the levelwind remains engaged during the cast, allowing the the levelwind to track back and forth with the line as it flows off of the spool. This eliminates the drastic line angles caused by a disengaging levelwind system that can cause extreme friction, which can lead to short casts or frustrating backlashes. By doing this Shimano is able to increase the efficiency of the cast, allowing for more distance with less effort.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
 - Springfield,MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
looking for a really light reel for lead core trolling
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Wamboltwill I would suggest Using a strong braid the best is suffix 832 and lead core extended leaders only my opinion some don't like the super lines because there is not any give. The great part is it cuts through the water like a razor getting your umbrella rig to where it should be.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
It should, the lead core I looked up was .54mm which would be equal to the mono 30# test in diameter. It would be close anyway.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i have used this reel (The 300A Model) for the past 3 years switching from between salt and freshwater just make ssure you always rinse and oil it!
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - cincinnati,ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
They have special bearings that are corosion resistant. I use them and have read several reviews of people who use them in saltwater. I would definately rinse them off with fresh water after use and keep them well lubed.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Have been fishing the reel in the salt for over 4 years. I even dip the reel in the water to lube the line before the first cast. NO RUST YET. the main thing about reels being used in the salt is care. rinse down the reel in warm freshwater when you get home. take it apart and apply some light cleaning agents. SOME those drags need to stay dryish.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Los angeles,Ca
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
This reel is not recommended for saltwater use. Since the reel is specifically made for freshwater fishing, the saltwater may dramatically reduce the life of the reel. Thank you!
3 years ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
1
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
yes I use it in saltwater all the time
3 years ago
by
 - Long Island NY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I'm thinking lighter for musky, pike, and walleye, and for travel considerations.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Colorado Springs
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Think you will be disappointed whith that real! I recommend a Abu Garcia C3. The 6500 model has a bait clicker which would give you more versatility.
1 year, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use the 400 on a similar rod for muskie so I would say go for it!
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
2 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I personally like round reels for baitcasters. I got the 300a for the sole purpose that it has a 'clicker' for live bait striper fishing here in Ca. I wish we had muskies, pike and walleye here. For chucking lures all day I would go for the 200 series.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - sf east bay
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

Is this a good Muskie reel?

Details: 
Can it handle big spinners and is a power handle available? Thanks
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Harrisburg, PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I use the 400 model for everything from Muskie to big catfish. I love them they have a lot of power. I dont know if you can order some kind of power handle for them. I did not see it as an option when I ordered mine. There might be another one that would fit on it though. Big spinners wouldnt be a problem. Great reel for the price.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
2 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It's a solid, decent reel. Basspro sells an aftermarket power handle item 38-350-834-01 that will fit it. It has the same paddle spacing as the ABU revo winch. I use mine to throw double 10 spinners. It works well for me.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Hoffman Estates, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
can handle big bait. I have not found a power-handle that don't cost half as much as the reel itself.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - sf east bay
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Their size and spool / line capacity.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 year ago
by
 - Earlville, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
the size and the amount of line it holds.the 200 is a little bigger
3 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
line capacity, the cardiff line are fine reels. If you fish a couple of times a week and this is not going to be your only reel, save $100, get a cardiff and pass on the calcutta.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - sf east bay
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
What rod could i match this reel up with
4 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Any number of rods will work with this reel. And yes, you could use this on everything from pan fish to stripers to musky if you select the right size.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
1 year ago
by
 - Earlville, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
BIGB Bob the 300 & 400 series reels are a beast there a perfect match for hualing in big monsters.
3 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I matched it with the Ocean Master
OM20CB 7'. Combo worked great for me. I added Power Pro line and found that I feel the slightest tap on the line
3 years ago
by
 - Long Island NY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
yes, and the ugly stik striper rod should give you the perfect striper combo
4 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

pounds of drag?

Details: 
Im trying to find out about the drag i looking at this reel for med to light muskie and heavy bass. thanks for any help!!
5 years ago
by
 - ontario canada
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The Cardiff is a great reel. I use mine for sturgeon fishing out here in ca. For musky I would use the 200good class reel. I use the larger class and its profile is to large to be using it for casting musky spinners and other lures all day.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i checked out some field tests for this reel and it has 10.5 pounds of pressure.
3 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Best Answer
A: 
I would say no. I prefer a high speed reel like 7 to 1 ratio for throwing frogs. (Hny toad) It's just easier to get those legs kickin with the higher ratio. If you are OK with the lower ratio, then the Cardiff will work fine for the slop.
4 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Hoffman Estates, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I don't forsee any adversity, I've used this baitcaster for just about and in all kinds of senarios from throwing big saltwater surface plugs at Cobia and Tarpon to cut bait for many different species of fish and bottom bouncing jigs for anything and everything. Give one a try, you won't be sorry. I mostly use the CDF400A model for both salt and fresh water
5 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
not the best it really depends on the weight of your lure or bait that you are using
5 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Lutz, Florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
1
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime