Shakespeare® Ugly Stik Lite® Inshore Spinning Rods

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

6'6"

Medium

Line Weight:
6-15 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SPI 1166-1M

6'6"

Medium Heavy

Line Weight:
8-17 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 3/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SP 1166-1MH

7'

Medium Light

Line Weight:
6-15 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 1/2 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SPI 1170-1ML

7'

Medium Heavy

Line Weight:
8-17 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 3/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SP 1170-1MH

7'6"

Medium Light

Line Weight:
6-15 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SPI 1176-1ML

7'

Medium

Line Weight:
6-15 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SPI11701M

Shakespeare's ever-popular Ugly Stik Lite®, now offered in actions perfect for the inshore saltwater fishing enthusiast. The Ugly Stik Lite Inshore Spinning Rods feature an even-tapered parabolic action that will toss a finger mullet or shrimp bait effortlessly. Built with the famous Ugly Stik Clear-Tip® for extra strength and sensitivity with cork grips and Fuji® components, all Ugly Stiks come with the ''Ugly Back'' 60-day/5-year limited warranty.

Action:
ML = Medium Light
M = Medium
MH = Medium Heavy

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 39 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by Terrible guides!!! The rod is unbreakable and very sensitive.........but I've had many problems with the guides.... Several friends of mine have had the exact same problem. They should make these rods with higher quality guides. May 26, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Ugly stick lite. Brilliant !!! This is one of the best rods i've ever used. The performance is excelent and i've had it for 2 and a half years now without any problems. Suggest getting it if your a guide captain or just and inshore fisherman. Works great on pilings for sheepshead with the medium-light action. also great for red/black drum, flounder, and speckled trout. I have 4 ugly sticks but this ones the best of all. May 3, 2009
Rated 2 out of 5 Bad Rod Guides I was fishing with this rod and the rod guide popped out, making rod useless. Who cares if it will not snap if you can't keep a fighting fish from breaking your line. Two stars for bad rod guides. July 7, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hard worker I've had my Lite Inshore rod for 3 years now. I use it on the grass flats, around jetties, and near shore. Never had a problem. Love the way the reel stays locked in unlike some other rods I've owned. Speckled Trout, Redfish, Flounder, and Lady fish all get whipped with my medium lite action. The greatest benefit is the sensitivity! I can feel even the lightest bite in the handle. I also have an Ugly Stick surf rod that is tough, tough, tough. July 1, 2008
<<prev 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 next>>
5 Questions | 15 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
Details: 
I am getting a penn fierce for inshore fishing , primarily trout and redfish. I think I remember using one of these rods before and it seemed a little heavy for fishing soft plastics and such. I will also be using it for freshwater bass fishing. Not sure if I should go with this rod, or the basspro graphite series which I am guessing is lighter (yes, I know it's a freshwater rod).
2 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I would not want to fish soft plastics with this rod it is too heavy and not as sensitive as many other rods.

The Gold Cup series are affordable, lighter, more sensitive, and crisper in action but I would opt for inshore extreme if you are willing to spend a little more.

I hope this helps
2 weeks, 6 days ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
1 year, 10 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I don't know for sure but I am about 98% confident that it is because it is pure E-glass. Meaning the ip, which is by far the most fragile part of the rod, is pure fiberglass.

Graphite is not clear so in my opinion that is the reasoning behind the clear tip.

The ugly stik lite custom baitcasting rod that I have does not have a clear tip. It is a great rod BTW.

I hope this helps.
11 months ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I believe the clear tip is designed to enhance visibility when you get a strike; perhaps because it provides a contrast against the black rod and guides?
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I believe that the clear tip means it does not have any graphite in that small, breakable section of the rod.

The e-glass part of the Howald Process gives the rod its legendary strength. The tip is the most fragile part of the rod so Shakespeare has made their tips strong and the added bonus is that the clear tips are surprisingly flexible. This extremely flexible tip allows for easy casting of lighter lures and a soft tip that can be a great asset in "loading" the rod for a hookset.

I hope this helps.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Don't do much saltwater fishing but i will be goin to FL in a month and im looking to purchase a saltwater set up. will be doing alot of shore fishing and might go out on a charter boat for some off shore fishing. Just curious if this rod is ideal for me and what reel would you recommend for me also. Thanks.
2 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I really like the Diawa BG15 on mine!
1 year, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I REALY LIKE THE QUANTUM BLUE REAL FOR FISHING THE SHORE LINE, BECAUSE IT CASTS SUPER WELL. AND FOR OFFSHORE FISHING I WOULD RECOMEND A PENN BATTLE, BUT IT ALL DEPENDS ON THE OFFSHORE FISHING THAT YOU DO. I THINK THAT THIS ROD IS ALMOST EXACTLY WHAT YOURE LOOKING FOR. GOOD LUCK WITH THE FISHING!!!!
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
good rod for the price ive caught everything from snapper to tarpon on it, but idk about offshore.For a reel any of the penn reels in the 4000 size would be good if u want somthing a little nicer i love my shimano reels
1 year, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
it should be fine. just use the stiffest one, but ive never had problems with ugly sticks. and i second the sargus, but dont get a 5000. its too big. i made that mistake. go with a 4000. it is plenty big and strong
1 year, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I absolutely love this rod, but it is fairly thin and somewhat short if you are considering doing any off shore fishing. I can't imagine trying to pull in a 50# fish with this rod, although it will work just fine for a 20# fish.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
To answer your first question: Yes, this rod is the perfect rod for someone who doesn't fish very often and doesn't want to break the bank. It is a very strong and rugged rod that can withstand some serious neglect and exposure to saltwater.

If you are planning on using an Ugly Stik Lite than you can go with some heavier mid-sized reels on the market. The rod may say "Lite" but compared to premium rods, it is a little heavy in weight, so you will have better balance with a slightly heavier reel.

If you don't fish very often than you probably don't want to spend a lot of money. Therefore, I would suggest a Penn Sargus 4000 or 5000 reel.

A Penn 4500ssg is another good option for a sturdy reel that isn't terribly expensive and can handle a very salty environment.

If you are not an avid fisherman you will probably do better with monofilament for casting.

I personally think that braided line is a better option. You can put a lot of 20lb or 30lb power pro on these reels and handle some pretty large fish if you should hook something substantial.

An Ugly Stik Lite Medium-Heavy spinning rod with one of these reels will serve you well in a variety of situations and the soft tip of this rod allows for easier casting of live shrimp (which is a pretty good 'catch all' bait in Florida).

I hope this helps and good luck on you trip
2 years ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
1
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
4 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Cork is cork. Fine grade sandpaper will restore that "new" look, if that's what you are looking for, however the oils from your hand keeps the cork conditioned and supple.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Florida Panhandle
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
All my rods except for my offshore trolling combos have cork grips. I use a guitar fretboard conditioner after I rinse my rods and allow them to dry. If you cannot find this a little mineral oil will do the same. I have rods that are 15 years old and the cork is still in great condition.
3 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Do all the ugly sticks that you carry have the clear tip design? Or is does the clear tip come with those that show the picture?
4 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Not all ugly sticks have the clear tip. My lite pro casting does not, but my lites (2), catfish casting, and big water spin all do. Incidently, the lite pro is the only one that has even broken, and it was the smallest guide, and it came from walmart.
They also vary in pieces- 1, 2, or even 3 piece for surf.
2 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
All ugly stiks come with the new clear tip design
4 years, 2 months ago
by
 - North Carolina
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Best Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
Yes, the Clear Tip design is standard on all Ugly Stiks. We carry both one and two-piece Ugly Stiks, however we only offer one-piece Ugly Lite models at this time.
4 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime