Free Shipping on orders $99+. Use code 99FREE

Enter promo code '99FREE' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BF

Free Shipping on orders of $99 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Shakespeare® Ugly Stik Lite® Inshore Spinning Rods

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

6'6"

Medium

Line Weight:
6-15 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SPI 1166-1M

Shakespeare's ever-popular Ugly Stik Lite®, now offered in actions perfect for the inshore saltwater fishing enthusiast. The Ugly Stik Lite Inshore Spinning Rods feature an even-tapered parabolic action that will toss a finger mullet or shrimp bait effortlessly. Built with the famous Ugly Stik Clear-Tip® for extra strength and sensitivity with cork grips and Fuji® components, all Ugly Stiks come with the ''Ugly Back'' 60-day/5-year limited warranty.

Action:
ML = Medium Light
M = Medium
MH = Medium Heavy

Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 40 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Monster Striper I wasn't sure this rod had the back bone I was looking for, but man the night I bought it this rod proved its true grit. I caught about 5 fish and couldn't believe this rods sensitivity. I typically use all graphite rods but I swear I could feel more with my 7 foot-medium-heavy action ugly stick lite than my IM7 graphite rod. At around 1 a:m I hooked a monster 34 inch striped bass on 15 pound test and couldn't believe how well this rod held up. After fifteen minutes of fight in strong current I finally landed the fish, snapped a picture, and set it free. I thought I was done with ugly sticks but the ugly stick lite is my new lucky charm. Light weight, sensitive, and plenty strong. It's the best buy for the money hands down, and their not paying me to say it. August 10, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Deal for the Money! Great rod and super warranty! I am never afaird that this rod will break somehow when i'm casting large sinkers, having too big a fish on, hung up on those nasty rock fish..lol, or someone mistakenly setting it down on the ground and having someone step on it. Even if it does happen to break Shakspere is great about replacing it! July 24, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 by Another Great Product This rod has an excellent action for tossing lures on monofilament or braid. It has a very sensitive tip to detect the small bites that are missed when drop shoting or slow fishing a senko along the bottom. It also works well if you use it for live bait fishing and has plenty of backbone for large stripers and catfish. My only complaint is that they don't make a 2 piece version for easy transport, overall a great product. June 9, 2006
Rated 5 out of 5 by casting in the wind One morning in mid may the plan was to hit the grass flats North of Bokeelia and catch some ladyfish and spanish for a tarpon trip. The only thing we seemed to be getting hits on were small jerkbaits. My buddy had just purchased a couple of these Ugly Stik Lite Inshore Spinning Rods from basspro and we put them to good use this day. The weather turned unseasonably cool and breezy. The fish were acting very picky and the bite was sporadic. The wind wouldn't cooperate and quite often while trying to throw our baits over sandholes we found ourselves having to make casts into the wind. These new rods sailed our baits effortlessly. It also seemed that sensitivity in the handle was better than I was accustomed to. I'd recommend these to anyone. I'll be buying one on my next rod purchase. May 28, 2006
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10
5 Questions | 15 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
Details: 
I am getting a penn fierce for inshore fishing , primarily trout and redfish. I think I remember using one of these rods before and it seemed a little heavy for fishing soft plastics and such. I will also be using it for freshwater bass fishing. Not sure if I should go with this rod, or the basspro graphite series which I am guessing is lighter (yes, I know it's a freshwater rod).
5 months, 3 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I would not want to fish soft plastics with this rod it is too heavy and not as sensitive as many other rods.

The Gold Cup series are affordable, lighter, more sensitive, and crisper in action but I would opt for inshore extreme if you are willing to spend a little more.

I hope this helps
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
2 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I don't know for sure but I am about 98% confident that it is because it is pure E-glass. Meaning the ip, which is by far the most fragile part of the rod, is pure fiberglass.

Graphite is not clear so in my opinion that is the reasoning behind the clear tip.

The ugly stik lite custom baitcasting rod that I have does not have a clear tip. It is a great rod BTW.

I hope this helps.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I believe the clear tip is designed to enhance visibility when you get a strike; perhaps because it provides a contrast against the black rod and guides?
1 year, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I believe that the clear tip means it does not have any graphite in that small, breakable section of the rod.

The e-glass part of the Howald Process gives the rod its legendary strength. The tip is the most fragile part of the rod so Shakespeare has made their tips strong and the added bonus is that the clear tips are surprisingly flexible. This extremely flexible tip allows for easy casting of lighter lures and a soft tip that can be a great asset in "loading" the rod for a hookset.

I hope this helps.
2 years ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Don't do much saltwater fishing but i will be goin to FL in a month and im looking to purchase a saltwater set up. will be doing alot of shore fishing and might go out on a charter boat for some off shore fishing. Just curious if this rod is ideal for me and what reel would you recommend for me also. Thanks.
2 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I really like the Diawa BG15 on mine!
1 year, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I REALY LIKE THE QUANTUM BLUE REAL FOR FISHING THE SHORE LINE, BECAUSE IT CASTS SUPER WELL. AND FOR OFFSHORE FISHING I WOULD RECOMEND A PENN BATTLE, BUT IT ALL DEPENDS ON THE OFFSHORE FISHING THAT YOU DO. I THINK THAT THIS ROD IS ALMOST EXACTLY WHAT YOURE LOOKING FOR. GOOD LUCK WITH THE FISHING!!!!
1 year, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
good rod for the price ive caught everything from snapper to tarpon on it, but idk about offshore.For a reel any of the penn reels in the 4000 size would be good if u want somthing a little nicer i love my shimano reels
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
it should be fine. just use the stiffest one, but ive never had problems with ugly sticks. and i second the sargus, but dont get a 5000. its too big. i made that mistake. go with a 4000. it is plenty big and strong
2 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I absolutely love this rod, but it is fairly thin and somewhat short if you are considering doing any off shore fishing. I can't imagine trying to pull in a 50# fish with this rod, although it will work just fine for a 20# fish.
2 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
To answer your first question: Yes, this rod is the perfect rod for someone who doesn't fish very often and doesn't want to break the bank. It is a very strong and rugged rod that can withstand some serious neglect and exposure to saltwater.

If you are planning on using an Ugly Stik Lite than you can go with some heavier mid-sized reels on the market. The rod may say "Lite" but compared to premium rods, it is a little heavy in weight, so you will have better balance with a slightly heavier reel.

If you don't fish very often than you probably don't want to spend a lot of money. Therefore, I would suggest a Penn Sargus 4000 or 5000 reel.

A Penn 4500ssg is another good option for a sturdy reel that isn't terribly expensive and can handle a very salty environment.

If you are not an avid fisherman you will probably do better with monofilament for casting.

I personally think that braided line is a better option. You can put a lot of 20lb or 30lb power pro on these reels and handle some pretty large fish if you should hook something substantial.

An Ugly Stik Lite Medium-Heavy spinning rod with one of these reels will serve you well in a variety of situations and the soft tip of this rod allows for easier casting of live shrimp (which is a pretty good 'catch all' bait in Florida).

I hope this helps and good luck on you trip
2 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Kittery, Maine
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
1
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
4 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Cork is cork. Fine grade sandpaper will restore that "new" look, if that's what you are looking for, however the oils from your hand keeps the cork conditioned and supple.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
 - Florida Panhandle
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
All my rods except for my offshore trolling combos have cork grips. I use a guitar fretboard conditioner after I rinse my rods and allow them to dry. If you cannot find this a little mineral oil will do the same. I have rods that are 15 years old and the cork is still in great condition.
4 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Do all the ugly sticks that you carry have the clear tip design? Or is does the clear tip come with those that show the picture?
4 years, 10 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Not all ugly sticks have the clear tip. My lite pro casting does not, but my lites (2), catfish casting, and big water spin all do. Incidently, the lite pro is the only one that has even broken, and it was the smallest guide, and it came from walmart.
They also vary in pieces- 1, 2, or even 3 piece for surf.
3 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
All ugly stiks come with the new clear tip design
4 years, 5 months ago
by
 - North Carolina
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Best Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
Yes, the Clear Tip design is standard on all Ugly Stiks. We carry both one and two-piece Ugly Stiks, however we only offer one-piece Ugly Lite models at this time.
4 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime