Pflueger Supreme® XT Spinning Reels

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Model
Retrieve
Gear Ratio Other specs Quantity Price & availability

9225XTX

Left/Right

5.2:1

Line Capacity:
4/110

Braid Capacity:
6/140

Ball Bearings:
9+1

Max Drag:
7 Lbs.

Recovery:
22.4" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
6.3

9230XTX

Left/Right

6.2:1

Line Capacity:
6/145

Braid Capacity:
8/190

Ball Bearings:
9+1

Max Drag:
10 Lbs.

Recovery:
30" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
7.2

9235XTX

Left/Right

6.2:1

Line Capacity:
8/185

Braid Capacity:
10/220

Ball Bearings:
9+1

Max Drag:
12 Lbs.

Recovery:
32.7" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.6

9240XTX

Left/Right

6.2:1

Line Capacity:
10/230

Braid Capacity:
14/280

Ball Bearings:
9+1

Max Drag:
14 Lbs.

Recovery:
35.1" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
9.3

  • Lightweight magnesium body and rotor
  • Machined-aluminum spool
  • Nine stainless steel ball bearings
  • Corrosion-resistant bearings
  • Sure-Click Bail®
  • Ultra-smooth carbon fiber drag
  • Carbon handle

Experience total precision with Pflueger Supreme® XT Spinning Reels. Features include lightweight magnesium body and rotor, machined-aluminum spool, nine stainless steel ball bearings with corrosion-resistant bearings, Sure-Click Bail®, ultra-smooth carbon fiber drag, and a carbon handle. Reel comes with a FREE aluminum spare spool.

Line recovery in inches per handle turn.

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 29 reviewers.
Rated 4 out of 5 by Outstanding reel! I bought this in the 25 series after deciding to step up another level in gear. I will keep stepping up until I think I find gear that can hold up to the amount of fishing that I do...5 days a week....52 weeks a year. That is a lot to expect from a reel. When you think about how many times you will open and close a bail on a 10 to 12 hour day on the water it is no wonder after fishing with a reel for 2 years the bail spring feels weak. This is a superb reel in all areas except one and it is a minor detail and that is why I am not giving it 5 stars. I fish almost exclusively 2# test line and I do not like the way the line lays on the reel. Using 1/64 baits I lose a little casting distance compared to the 1000 series Shimnao reels when the line gets a little low on the reel. But these details do not keep me from recommending this reel to someone. It is light weight, strong, and has a very smooth retrieve and probably the best drag on a reel I have ever seen. As one reviewer said " I am a Shimano man all the way". Well I am also but it was time to try something a little different. I have a Shimano Stradic and this reel is every bit as good and is much lighter. The lighter weight of this reel makes a huge difference after casting for 12 hours. Only time will tell how this reel will hold up. Catching a couple hundred big White Bass in the jumps in the summer really slams these small reels. Reading reviews one really needs to understand that any reel can come out of the box bad. You simply return it and get a new one. If the next one you get does the same thing then there is a pattern. That is why I take a reel out of the box in the store and put the handle on and play around with it. If I hear some grinding or clicking I ask for another one. July 10, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by excellent reel I'm a mostly inshore saltwater angler an i'm not going to give up my shimano reels at all but i was looking for a fast retrieve reel for working spoons and jigs for spanish mackerel,bluefish and small kingfish. I have never owned a Pflueger but have seen them for years.This reel is awsome! the drag super smooth, nice easy grip on the handle for all day crankin', top quility bail,roller and over all constuction. I matched it with an 8' custom made spinning rod not one tangle or air knot fishing 10# braid in one week of hard fishing. Handled bonitas (little tunny) up to 14#s and spanish up to 6#'s both of which will smoke any drag out there. My advice "get one"! Fred from Pier Lures May 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great reel i own two of these and i love them i have had one of them for about 2 years and has never let me down my only fault ot them as with any smaller spinning reel flourocarbon holds alot of memory on spinning reels but i love flour so do yourself a favor and use braid with a flouro leader April 13, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awsome Love this smooth lightweight reel. Even better than my President. Casts all day long, and the lightest full size reel I've ever owned. Think I'll buy another one. March 31, 2011
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 8 next>>
8 Questions | 24 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
 
Q: 
2 answers

What is the warranty?

Details: 
Just wondering if there is a warranty, if so what is it?
1 year, 4 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
1 year for manufacturing defects
1 year, 1 month ago
by
 - Montreal, QC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
1 year
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - Gainesville, VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
4 answers

What size for Med. rod?

Details: 
Whats size would be better on 6ft med rod? I was thinking the 30 or 35. I plan on using 8lb mono.
2 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Don't sell the 25 short. I have caught some very big fish (Reds and Snook) with it and it performs great. I use 20# braid in mine and it casts a mile.
6 months ago
by
 - Punta Gorda, Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i have a 6 footer and i got the orra s 40 and it was the perfect size. i use 15 lbs braid and 8 lb mono and the reel operates with the same high quality. it just depends on what your preference is really, but i would go with the s 40
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - Gainesville, VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
if you are fishing for bass, i would go the 30, I have both sizes and use the 35 for bigger fish species like pike.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - grand rapids
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
get the 35.
2 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
The listed line capacity for mono or braid? If for mono, is there a conversion factor for braided line?
2 years, 9 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
mono 10 lbs 210 yards braid 15lbs 210 yards, but have used 20 lbs and it works fine with now birds nests.
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - Gainesville, VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
Most reel manufactures have official websites and have this info on them about their reels . Im sure that in the future these spec.s will be offeered on BassPro for all reels . Until then look for other sources online or other reels with similar spec.s with this info here on BassPro website . Good luck and tight lines.
2 years, 8 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
both
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 9 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i use the fireline crystal it is made just for the spinning reel and works great, i use around 17lb test.
2 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I've used 30 and 15lb Power Pro on my 9240 with good results, no twists or birds nests all year. As a side note I fish everyday and my reel is shot its been repaired twice and still doesnt feel right I went back to my abu stx. When it work it was great though and I did take care of it.
2 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
I would not use heavier than 8/30# braid on it . A size 30 supreme is really a very nice all around size reel though . The 40 is really only a reel I would use for say carolina rig and wormin. But you can use the 30 for that too but you can finesse with the 30 and not the 40 . If you have smaller reels great but if not the 30 is the better all around reel . If you need more power than a 30 then a good baitcaster will serve better anyway . I personally dont even buy 30's I only buy 25's anymore or smaller but I do have one Shimano Stradic 5000 FH series that is a little bigger than a 40 series reel and I do like it for channel catfishing . Hope that helps out in some way .
2 years, 8 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
more than worthy
6 months ago
by
 - Punta Gorda, Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Personally, I would never dream of taking a magnesium reel anywhere near saltwater.
3 years ago
by
 - Lilburn, GA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
no
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Stanford KY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Absolutely good for inshore use.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Corpus Christi, Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

whats the handle shape?

Details: 
on the pflueger website the handle is shaped more like the other reels, but the one on the bass pro page is round. could use some clerification
3 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The Handle on my 9240Xt is round carbon fibre with a flatend single knob unlike my Abu 504I that has a flatend double sided knob for grip.
3 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
The 9225 and the 9230 are round and the 9235 and the 9240's are flat .
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The handle on my 9235XT is flat, like the one on Pflueger's website.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Lilburn, GA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I comes with a Neopreen bag but it is not water-proof it secures with a hook and loop type system (velcro) around the pole to protect the finish.
3 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
i was talking to one of the people at bass pro and aparently since it is a carbon dragsystem there little to no effect on it when water is applied.
3 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
"Smooth sealed carbon fiber drag system" - Pflueger website.
3 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
my old 9025 supreme xt has a 5.2/1 gearing and it's retreive rate is 30in. per turn and since this newer version(the 9225)has the same gearing ratio I'm really reluctant to believe that the print (22.4 in.) on the retreive rate for this reel is correct. I truly hope it is because I would love to have one at that retreive rate for crappie fishing. Could you call the Pflueger people and verify that retrieve rate for me please. Thank you BP .
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
the retrieve rate has to do with the size of the arbor as well as the gear ratio. Perhaps the arbor on your older reel is a little bit larger than the ones on the newer reels. this would explain the different retrieval rates.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
 - grand rapids
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
The correct line recovery for this reel is 22.4 inches per turn.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - springfield, mo
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime