Free Shipping on orders $75+. Use code SHIP75

Enter promo code 'SHIP75' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BE

Free Shipping on orders of $75 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Offshore Angler™ Mako Spinning Rod and Reel Combo

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Gear Ratio Line Cap Length
Power
Other specs Quantity Price & availability

4.7:1

14/250

9'

  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1647372

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

We feel anglers should have a reliable performing ''grab-and-go'' salt combo that’s versatile enough for surf casting or pier fishing with price that would make frugal fisherman proud. We feel that we've done just that with the Mako Spinning Rod and Reel Combo.

The medium-action, two-piece Mako rod is complete with quality guides, EVA grip handle and graphite reel seat with saltwater-tough, stainless steel cushioned hoods.

The smooth Mako reel is built around lightweight graphite frame and side cover and is complete with an anodized aluminum spool, front drag system, die-cast handle and stainless steel main shaft.

    Rod Features:
  • Medium-action two-piece blank
  • EVA handle grip
  • Graphite reel seat with stainless steel cushioned hoods

    Reel Features:

  • Graphite frame and side cover
  • Anodized aluminum spool
  • 4 ball bearing system
  • Die-cast handle
  • Front drag
  • Stainless steel main shaft
Rated 3.9 out of 5 by 21 reviewers.
Rated 2 out of 5 by other products available The order process went well and arrived in good time and producy in good shape despite the trip to the middle east. That said, I am dissapointed with the overall quality of the product. I remembered Offshore angler having good products but this rod and reel are just cheap. It is a lot of work to send back to the states so I will likely give them away. July 12, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Very Nice!! I'm very happy with this fishing pole. It's a very good deal and works great! Very smooth and reliable. June 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by A review from Florida.... This product is one of the first products I have ever bought online. I have to admit I was a bit skeptical because I am picky about my fishing gear and if there is a bit of doubt about reliability, I save my money. So I took a little gamble and WOW! What a payoff! I got the 9' combo. Two pieces, so I put it together and thought man that looks good, but there is always the true test. So I took it to my favorite Red hole and I was so impressed on the first hook up. For a medium action rod I love the backbone in this setup. Imagine the whole top of the rod bowed while the base is stiff and rock steady. The red didn't have a chance. So I baptized it with fire and it didn't even stress. The red was 22" and I know it can handle something bigger! As far as the reel is concerned, it has a lower ratio than the reels on the shorter rods but that is hardly my concern. What impressed me was the spinner doesn't have any play. Meaning that when you crank it there is no back play as I was so used to on spinners when I was growing up. The drag is smooth and the spool came loaded so all you need to do is tie on your rig and HOLD ON! Five stars guys! Enjoy the pull! April 15, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by GREAT This rod combo was just as good as I expected it would be First time out it out fished all the others Great buy March 28, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
12 Questions | 24 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
Details: 
Is it also good for tuna/small sharks?
1 month, 4 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
Hi, for Squid Fishing: almost any style of rod and reel will work. Think "light and long" because it's best to have something that is sensitive and telegraphs slight changes. Successful squidders use anything from six to 20-pound line but the best chances of success come with the lighter line. For shark and tuna combo you might choose another option. However, this would be good for squid fishing. Thanks
1 month, 1 week ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Details: 
Can the crank handle be moved to the other side for left-handed people?
2 months, 4 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
Yes this reel is a spinning reel that can be switched from right to left retrieve.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
Thank you for your inquiry. Yes, unless specified otherwise, all spinning reels are left hand/right hand reversible.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 year, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
Thank you for your question. The Offshore Angler™ Mako Spinning Rod and Reel Combo will not include fishing line. However, this reel is capable of holding 14-pound test line with 210 yards.
10 months ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
 
Q: 
1 answer

What size is the rod ?

2 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
7 ft
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - west coast florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Details: 
Last question. Thanks!
3 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
yes
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - west coast florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes
2 years, 4 months ago
by
 - South Padre TX
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
4 answers

Is this a 2 piece rod?

Details: 
Just want to confirm. Thanks!
3 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
YES
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No, just 1 pc
2 years, 4 months ago
by
 - South Padre TX
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes its a 2 pc
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Miami/Islamorada, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It is a single piece rod...and does not come wound with any line. I had 20lb braided Power Pro put on it at local shop.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Charleston SC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I am looking for a combo that will be good for fishing in the sound. Mainly spanish, flounder and drum.
3 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Raleigh, NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
If you like spinning gear for that purpose it would work well but there are better choices available
3 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
look at the new PENN Fierce comboc, the 3000 or 4000 series is perfect. The best part is, they are priced for 89.99 right now at Bass Pro Shops
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - hilton head,sc
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I need to get a Christmas present for him and he likes fishing.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
 - Tustin, CA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Depends what type of fishing he would do with it. If he needs to cast, this set=up would likely be difficult for a seven year old
3 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
depending how big the child is. i think the rod would be a little hard to use.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
 - west coast florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Novato, CA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
This combo is sold as a unit. We do not sell the reel separately.
3 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Details: 
I have been looking for a fishing rod to use when i go tho the beach and for on the peir but cant find a good one and i need to know if this comes with hooks, weights, or line
4 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
This rod does come with line but no hooks or weights
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - west coast florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no it doesn't come with any
4 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
This is just the rod and reel, no line, hooks or weights. If you're looking for a get up and go combo, I would suggest the Shakespeare Catch more fish surf/pier kit, it has line, hooks, lures, and weights that come with it.
4 years ago
by
 - South Shore, MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No, this combo does not come with line, hooks or weights. I used Spider Wire line on this reel.
4 years ago
by
 - Texas Panhandle
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 next>>
2 next>>

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime