Free Shipping on orders $99+. Use code 99FREE

Enter promo code '99FREE' in the "Enter Promotion Code" box at checkout

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BF

Free Shipping on orders of $99 or more applies to standard shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

Hornady® Critical Defense® Handgun Ammo

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Cartridge or Gauge Grain Other specs Quantity Price & availability

.380 Automatic Colt Pistol

90 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1000

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
25 rounds

.38 Special

110 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1010

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
25 rounds

.38 Special +P

110 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1090

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
25 rounds

9mm

115 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1140

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
25 rounds

.357 Magnum

125 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1500

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
25 rounds

.40 Smith & Wesson

165 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1175

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
20 rounds

.45 Automatic Colt Pistol

185 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1000

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
20 rounds

.38 Special

90 Grain

Velocity (fps):
1200

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
25 rounds

.45 Colt

185 Grain

Velocity (fps):
920

Bullet Type:
Flex Tip

Quantity:
20 rounds
  • Effective, consistent, and reliable self-defense from Hornady
  • Patented FTX bullet with Flex Tip® design
  • Controlled expansion, flat trajectories, and large, deep wound cavities over a wide range of velocities
  • Clean burning and stable propellants for reduced recoil and consistent performance in all temperatures
  • Minimal muzzle flash to protect night vision
  • Cannelured and crimped to avoid bullet setback
  • High visibility silver nickel plating to prevent corrosion  
The pinnacle of Hornady's self defense ammunition, Critical Defense handgun ammo combines quality propellents and design with the patented controlled expansion FTX bullet for effective, consistent, and reliable self-defense. Critical Defense round utilize Hornady's clean burning and stable propellants for reduced recoil, consistent performance in all temperatures, and minimal muzzle flash to protect night vision. Unaffected by thick and heavy clothing, these rounds feature Hornady's patented FTX bullet. The FTX's Flex Tip design delivers superior controlled expansion, flat trajectories, and large, deep wound cavities over a wide range of velocities. Critical Defense rounds are also expertly cannelured and crimped to avoid bullet setback, and feature a high visibility, shiny silver nickel plating to prevent corrosion. Feeds reliably in all pistols.  
   
Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 34 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Deadly and Accurate Bought the ammo for my wife's new Ruger LCR. Most of the ammo I have been testing had too much bite for this gun. My wife shot up a whole box of this ammo without a complaint and the ballistics jell test show this ammo to be an effective self defense ammo. Bought 3 more boxes. January 25, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great ammo I have used this ammo in my Glock and Ruger for over a year now. Ive shot several rounds of this and love it. Its one of my go to defense rounds. December 26, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best I've used in awhile. I really like these. For the price, I think that they meet and exceed expectations. I mean if you are debating between getting these or somthing else for your ammo, get these. March 30, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by great ammo Bought for ruger cr9c functions great with no misfires or jams, will use for personnel defense in ruger. good price also and quick shipping. December 22, 2011
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 9 next>>
5 Questions | 15 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
Details: 
My neighbor told me that bear prints were found near my cabin in the woods. For protection, which ammo would be best to have? Just in case! Thanks, Bill
2 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
44 magnum or larger...
7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
When I hike in the woods, I carry my .45acp, but I wouldn't go buy a .45acp if I had a .357 mag. Just load it with the hottest ammo you can find. I don't know KY laws, but if you shoot a black bear in TN out of season you got a whole mess of trouble. Look up your state regs and call your local game warden and ask him to come to your property and show you how to bear proof it.
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The 45 ACP was originaly designed for the military in 1911 for Knock Down power. However 100 years later the 357 mag will do the same job. I carry a Ruger GP100 (357 mag and .38) when in deep woods without a rifle.
2 years ago
by
 - Toms River, NJ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
357 mag packs a good punch, i have killed deer out to 100 yards with the 357. thats my opinion
2 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

Which 38 Spcl Load is +P?

Details: 
Of the two 38 Hornady Critical Defense special Loads listed, 38-872-891-00 and 38-872-892-00, which is +P and which is standard pressure/velocity?
2 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Per SAMMI specs all 38 Spl +P loads are higher pressure than regular 38 Spl loads
1 year, 3 months ago
by
 - Mid South USA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I talked with their representatives:
Item number 38-872-891-00 is not the +P.
Item number 38-872-892-00 is the +P
2 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

how many in a package

Details: 
can i use 357 mag in the ruger 38-357 rifel
2 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
50 or 100
2 years, 3 months ago
by
 - south carolina
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Sure can. Should have no problems!!
2 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 11 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
We test fired a 6 round magazine of Critical Defense in my wife's S&W BG380 with no problems. Both her in-gun and spare defense mags are loaded with Critical Defense.
10 months ago
by
 - Citrus County, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I carry a S&W Bodyguard .38 revolver. It's only 14 ounces, hamerless and easy pocket size. I wouldn't worry about the number of rounds the 380 holds. The FIRST shot better do the job.
2 years ago
by
 - Toms River, NJ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Remmington Golden Saber is a good choice in .357 ammo...
7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I purchased 38 Special caliber.
3 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
.327 Federal Magnum
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Hickory, NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Not yet.
3 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Check out Item #38-403-532-00 for Hornady Critical Defense in .357Mag. Bass Pro also offers this ammo in .38 special and .38 special +p, but thay are currently out of stock.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Fort Worth, TX
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime