Free Offer Fenwick® Elite Tech River Runner Spinning Rods

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

5'8"

Ultra Lt

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
2-6 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 3/16 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
ERR58UL-F

6'2"

Light

Action:
Med Fast

Line Weight:
1-4 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 1/8 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR62SL-MF-2

6'8"

Ultra Lt

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
2-6 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 3/16 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR68UL-F-2

7'2"

Light

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
4-8 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 5/16 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR72L-F-2

7'6"

Light

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
2-6 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 5/16 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR76L-F-2

  • High-modulus graphite blank
  • Fast tip with a soft action
  • Ideal for handling even the lightest lures
  • Premium titanium frame guides with SiC inserts
  • Unique ''hidden handle'' has sculpted TAC™ inlays
  • Split grip design keeps weight to an absolute minimum
  • One of the lightest, best balanced trout rods you’ll find anywhere

Like the fine old finesse rods of the past, an Elite Tech spinning rod brings a sense of comfort and purpose to your fishing. Still, every model pits today’s most advanced materials and ergonomic designs against those wily trout. Its high-modulus graphite blank has a fast tip with a soft action (ideal for handling even the lightest lures), and features premium titanium frame guides with SiC inserts. The unique ''hidden handle'' has sculpted TAC inlays that impart the familiar feel of a fly rod for outstanding control, while the split grip design keeps weight to an absolute minimum. Altogether, this is one of the lightest, best balanced trout rods you’ll find anywhere!

Hidden Handle Design
Unique insert eliminates underhand gaps, creating a comfortable, familiar, and very responsive feel that’s similar to gripping a fly rod.

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 26 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 7'6" Light I am a big fan of Shimano and 98% of my gear is made of Shimano high end reels and rods. But I needed a longer light power 2pcs rod that Shimano doesn't carry to fill in the gap. It never crossed my mind before to go with Fenwick and it took me awhile to convince myself and after reading numerous review about this River Runner. I finally ordered the 7'6" Light 2pcs online and tried it in the next weekend throwing light jigs and spoons. The rod surely can cast, the tip is sensitive, not whippy, the grip is excellent, the hidden seat is something new to me but it is a good stuff. Like other reviewers have written, this rod can handle not only trout but bigger fish. I had a small12" trout hitting my spoon and it felt like a freight train hitting it. You will know for sure when you have a strike. Note: Make sure you set the hook hard because of the light parabolic action of this rod. I think this would be a great rod for drop shot as well. Great rod for 1/2 the price of Shimano Cumara Spinning. But Shimano is still my main line up and this Fenwick is a secret weapon for when things need to go finesse and light. The Fenwick River Runner is no Shimano Cumara, but you can count on it and buy it with confidence. I surely going to get a second one. April 8, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 6 ' 8 " U / L This rod paired with a Stradic CI4 1000 is the best trout outfit i have used . I have also caught bass on this up to 6 lbs. and many crappie . This gear is a little pricey but well worth it . March 31, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Hands down one of my FAVORITE fishing rods! For trout fishing aside from using a fly rod, this is THE BEST in my opinion compared to any spinning tackle on the market. I own two versions of this rod and can't put it down during fishing season. I own the 7'2 L and 6'2 SL and sore lip trout and every other fish in between every time out. The sensitivity on this rod is exceptional but still has enough strength to handle bass. I've used both from bream to trout to bass and they hold up great. The hidden handle is extremely comfortable and gives you a full grip compared to other rods that leaves you with a gap where the reel seat is located. The guides are super slick and smooth and allow for great release of line for greater casting distances. I can cast a trout magnet up to if not over 20 yards with these rods compared to my other light tackle spin rods. The tac on the rods is a major plus when your hands get wet, it provides even better grip so you wont lose your rod. I highly recommend this rod if you are serious about using light tackle on big fish. You will not be disappointed. March 2, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by 6' 8" UL River Runner Just took delivery of my 5th Fenwick rod, I have 1 fly rod & 3 other spinning rods. My 1968 5'6" FF55 spinning rod is also an UL, but rated at 1-4 lb test line. One other reviewer states his 6'8" is a true UL with a backbone. I agree with the backbone, but would say this rod leans some to the light catagory as is my 6'6" Fenwick Eagle GT rating. I have not fished with this rod yet. But being a retired packaging engineer, I wrote Fenwick the day the rod arrived. I complained that the 2 plastic zip ties securing the rod to 1 of the 3 panels of the triangular shipping carton could possibly damage the rod if an impact happened to this panel. I did find 2 issues that I explained to Fenwick. One was the line guide at the end of the 'female' spigot rod end was bent, it was not perpendicular to the rod by about 3/16". The other was the 3rd guide from the tip was bent too, it's angle to the rod was dif than the other guides, and after closer examination, had little epoxy opposite the windings. I fixed both problems myself by some gentle bending & a reinforcement of epoxy in several locations. I inspected the entire rod using an inspection 5X power eye piece. Dispite these 2 problems, this IS a quality rod!! The metalflake colors are a sight to see under 5X. The factory epoxy on the windings are smooth and accurate. So I still gave the rod a 5, it deserves it. And it will fish as good as my other 4 rods have! February 20, 2012
<<prev 3 4 5 6 7 next>>
10 Questions | 28 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
 
Q: 
2 answers

Reel for 5'8" UL Rod?

Details: 
What reel would you use for this rod? I was thinking about pairing it with the Pflueger President model 6920. Would that be a good match? Any help is greatly appreciated.
2 months, 4 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
the president is a great reel or the Pflueger supreme model 8225MG.
1 month ago
by
 - Vienna, VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
That would be a great pair. It's all about personal preference really.
2 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I am wondering which of the two has a stiffer action. I am looking to use it for super-finese worms mostly, but ultra-light cranks and spinners as well.
5 months ago
by
 - Phoenix, AZ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I have the 7'6" and it has some decent backbone, plenty for fish over 5 lbs. The 7'2" can't be too much different.
2 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I'll answer my own question. My local BPS started carrying these in-store, so I went in to compare them. The 7'2" is actually more whippy than the 7'6". It probably describes it better to say it is a softer action; maybe moderately fast rather than fast. By that, I mean it was bending farther down the rod than the fast action. Glad to see these in the store, finally.
5 months ago
by
 - Phoenix, AZ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I can't find any info about the rod weight of the 5'8. Does anybody know? Thanks
5 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
E-mail Fenwick directly, they'll help you.
2 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
The ERR58UL-F weighs 2.79 ounces.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
4 answers

What to use on a 2 pc. rod?

Details: 
I have a 2 piece rod and would like to know what to use on it from keeping it together while casting? Wax,Parafin wax,?
6 months ago
by
 - Central Ca.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I've had no problems with mine coming apart while casting ex. If you have problems with that you might want to contact fenwick directly as these rods do have a lifetime warranty and I'm sure they can repair replace or recommend a solution.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
Nothing. Any foreign substance on the rod blank can result in the rod furell jamming together, improper fitting of the two pieces, damage to the rod, and should not be done.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
I have the 6'8" light and I don't use anything on my rod. I think as long as you push it down tight enough, the friction alone should be enough to keep the pole together. If you are having issues, it might be your technique or maybe its just a defective pole? Contact Fenwick and ask them.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
crude as it may sound, wipe some natural grease from your nose and rub it on the rod insert section. This usually works fine. I have used wheel bearing grease when I had time to plan ahead.
 
Q: 
3 answers

Good rod for smallies?

Details: 
Wondering if this rod has the backbone for some big smallmouth, and which model would you recommend for bronzes?
2 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Fenwick makes a line of elite tech smallmouth rods, I'd go with those over this line as these are really light actions for most bass fishing applications.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I would go with the 7'6 for the smallies. It doesnt have a very stiff backbone but should handle smallies with ease.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
The rod will handle big fish, just make sure your drag is set. Go with the ML if you want a stiffer smallmouth rod though.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I want to get a univeral UL rod for fishing small worms, cranks, inline spinners etc.
Is Fenwick elite-tech UL good enough for that or should I get a St Croix premier?
2 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Id go with the Fenwick and match it with a good reel that you can save vs the St Croix. This is really a great rod. It will handle all that you need especially spoons, inline spinners, and worms. I personally like a stiffer rod for cranks but it should handle the smaller crank baits.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I love my Fenwick, very light and smooth action...my favorite rod! Try the Fenwick out, but beware the UL is true to its name.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have 5 Fenwicks & 2 St Croixs. I would rate the Fenwick elite tech better than the Premier, and maybe equal or better than an Avid. For the price, Fenwicks are hard to beat.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Granger IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
it would be a 4 lb test reel and a 6'8" ultra light rod, also would the president reel 6lb test be good with the 7'2" Light
2 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Wow, old question - but yes, it would be good.
2 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes it would be perfect. I like the pfleuger president reel with 6 pd line.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
I would use 2lbs and 4lbs max for the best results using these rods. I own the 7'2 L version and a 6'2 SL and use only SOS lines made for trout fishing from trout magnet. The president is a good choice but I would go with only the 6720 because it's the lightest reel of that line. The reason: to better balance out your rod and allow it to be extra sensitive. Anything in the 25 or higher in any of the Pflueger reels is too heavy for that rod with the exception of the the Patriarch. You want to be in the low 7 oz to 6.5oz for the best results. I use a Shimano Stradic CI4 for both of mine. If you don't want to spend that much money, try the Browning Citori in the 10 series or the Johnny Morris Carbon Lite in the 500 series for about the same price as the President. You wont be disappointed with both. Honestly, I;ve given up on Pflueger because their reels just dont hold up to heavy fishing. I hope this helps, good luck.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - North Carolina
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes, that's in the line test range provided by the rod manufacturer. If you are asking about reels, then any 1000 or 750 series size reel would be fine. I do not like the mini/micro reels because their spool diameter is so small you can get line twists easier than a bigger reel.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Granger IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
also would an "untra light 6'8 " rod be tuff enuff to reel in a 10 pound bass??
2 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The action of the light will be slightly heavier than the ultra light. Lure weight rating should be listed for each rod in the description. I would say yes for the most part you probably be able to feel the current while using this rod. If you are in open water with no cover what so ever you may be able to land a ten pound bass on this rod but you will be looking at a lengthy fight. I would not recommend this rod for most bass fishing applications.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Both rods are sensitive. You would be able to feel the current. I would not use this rod as a largemouth bass rod. This rod is designed for smallmouth, trout, panfish, and crappie.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
An UL is always more sensitive than a light. Obviously, the line specs are dif, and a 10 lb fish on either rod will be a handful. Be sure the reel drag is perfect, and you don't do any of the rod "don't does" ! Or good-bye rod &/or fish.

You don't see any bass pros using light tackle!!
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Granger IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I don't fully understand your question, but if you're targeting 10 LB bass with an UL, you're doing something wrong here, lol. I would imagine the 6'8 L would be much better than the UL. Depending on lure size and flow of the current, a 6'8" will handle plenty of smaller lures, but again, if you're targeting 10 LB bass you might want to get something stiffer than a L.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
1
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes do yourself a favor and get a 7'0 Medium Fast rod
2 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Central MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 4 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I would think so I use it for trout and it handles them with ease. I think with the right line/reel combo it would be good for the smallies.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Yes, the line rating for the 7'2" Light is higher than my 7'6" Light and I could throw lightweight finesse rigs all day with it. You won't be disappointed with this rig, especially if you're throwing braided line. The SiC inserts are smooooooooooooth as butter.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
These rods are about the same weight as other rods in the price range, but they do feel top heavy because the butt sections are much shorter than other rods. My 7'6" L Fenwick has a shorter butt section than my 6'6 Compre. The only drawback to this rod. Buy it still, you will not be disappointed. The guides are smooth as ice, you can't even tell you're reeling in.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime