Free Offer Fenwick® Elite Tech River Runner Spinning Rods

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

5'8"

Ultra Lt

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
2-6 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 3/16 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
ERR58UL-F

6'2"

Light

Action:
Med Fast

Line Weight:
1-4 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 1/8 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR62SL-MF-2

6'8"

Ultra Lt

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
2-6 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 3/16 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR68UL-F-2

7'2"

Light

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
4-8 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 5/16 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR72L-F-2

7'6"

Light

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
2-6 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 5/16 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
ERR76L-F-2

  • High-modulus graphite blank
  • Fast tip with a soft action
  • Ideal for handling even the lightest lures
  • Premium titanium frame guides with SiC inserts
  • Unique ''hidden handle'' has sculpted TAC™ inlays
  • Split grip design keeps weight to an absolute minimum
  • One of the lightest, best balanced trout rods you’ll find anywhere

Like the fine old finesse rods of the past, an Elite Tech spinning rod brings a sense of comfort and purpose to your fishing. Still, every model pits today’s most advanced materials and ergonomic designs against those wily trout. Its high-modulus graphite blank has a fast tip with a soft action (ideal for handling even the lightest lures), and features premium titanium frame guides with SiC inserts. The unique ''hidden handle'' has sculpted TAC inlays that impart the familiar feel of a fly rod for outstanding control, while the split grip design keeps weight to an absolute minimum. Altogether, this is one of the lightest, best balanced trout rods you’ll find anywhere!

Hidden Handle Design
Unique insert eliminates underhand gaps, creating a comfortable, familiar, and very responsive feel that’s similar to gripping a fly rod.

Rated 4.9 out of 5 by 26 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Smart Purchase I got the 6'8 lite mainly for Pan Fishing, & Crappie. I was thinking about going with the ultra-lite but wanted a little more beef for casting small lures. I am happy with my purchase, this being my first Fenwick product. Love the hidden handle design that was what hooked me as a buyer. Lite, comfortable, easy to hold, no reel seat screw thread marks that become uncomfortable. As soon as I held this rod in my hand the sale process was over, I bought it. Cast like a dream with such lite weight tackle. Incredible casting distance and feel. I showed my by buddy my $200.00 pan fishing set up and he looked at my like I was crazy until he tried it out. After couple of hours using it he handed it back to me with a pretty quite nice set up. July 31, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Awesome Pole! I fish a lot for trout, so decided I wanted to purchase a trout specific pole. I picked up the 6'8" light online and received it in a few days. This is a 2-piece rod and when I put it together, I thought it was very nice. Very light pole that looks and feels like quality. Beware that when you put the two piece poles together, it looks as if its not seated properly. You will see about a half inch separation, but this is normal as I contacted Fenwick about my concern. The rep assured me that this was normal. I caught several trout all the way up to 18" and this pole held up and handled well. I am very happy with this pole and I would completely recommend it to anyone. It's important to know that Fenwick also offers a lifetime warrant on this rod as long as you have your receipt. You wont be disappointment if you decide to purchase this pole. June 27, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Very good rod for the price Upon opening the package, assembling the rod, and giving it a few faux casts, I was surprised. For some reason, I had expected it to be stiffer, not as "whippy" as it was. I originally thought that this would be a bad thing, but once I used it, it was a benefit. Due to the whippy nature of the top 30% of the rod, very light lures (1/8 oz) load very well, and cast pretty far. I surprised myself with the respectable distance that the rod was able to cast my lures. The rod has good backbone as well, my biggest fish being a 3 lb largemouth bass. I didn't need to play the fish, just reeled it in. I have this paired with a 1000 Shimano Stradic CI4, and the balance is pretty good. It does seem to be a bit tip heavy, but isn't noticeable on the water. I have since changed my line to Sufix 100% Castable Invisiline 6 lb, and casting distance has increased by a noticeable amount, about 20-25 feet. Sensitivity also increased slightly from the previous co-polymer line. The ferrules don't seem to have any issues, and the rod stays put together after 5 hours of fishing; haven't had it fly apart on me yet. I've also banged the tip up half a dozen times on tree trunks, and it's still holding up fine (I'm still getting used to walking in the brush with a 7'2" pole). No real concerns with the quality of the worksmanship. I use this pole mainly for largemouth bass, it's my travel pole for my smaller car. And it's worked well for this purpose. Ironically, I've only caught one trout on this so far (14" rainbow) in a month of use. In conclusion, as long as you understand that the tip is not as stiff as a light action bass rod, it won't disappoint. May 20, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by FENWICK! This rod is a pleasure to fish with all day. Plenty of back bone yet light enough to cast the lightest little jigs. The rod is a little tip heavy, so choose your reel wisely and it will balance nicely. I cant say enough about the the hidden handle with cork inlays, this alone is worth the price. Other "High End" rods have exposed reel seats that are just not comfortable to hold all day. Fenwick really nailed it with their hidden handle design on a great rod. May 9, 2013
<<prev2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>>
10 Questions | 28 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
 
Q: 
2 answers

Reel for 5'8" UL Rod?

Details: 
What reel would you use for this rod? I was thinking about pairing it with the Pflueger President model 6920. Would that be a good match? Any help is greatly appreciated.
2 months, 3 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
the president is a great reel or the Pflueger supreme model 8225MG.
1 month ago
by
 - Vienna, VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
That would be a great pair. It's all about personal preference really.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I am wondering which of the two has a stiffer action. I am looking to use it for super-finese worms mostly, but ultra-light cranks and spinners as well.
5 months ago
by
 - Phoenix, AZ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I have the 7'6" and it has some decent backbone, plenty for fish over 5 lbs. The 7'2" can't be too much different.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I'll answer my own question. My local BPS started carrying these in-store, so I went in to compare them. The 7'2" is actually more whippy than the 7'6". It probably describes it better to say it is a softer action; maybe moderately fast rather than fast. By that, I mean it was bending farther down the rod than the fast action. Glad to see these in the store, finally.
4 months, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Phoenix, AZ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I can't find any info about the rod weight of the 5'8. Does anybody know? Thanks
5 months, 1 week ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
E-mail Fenwick directly, they'll help you.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
The ERR58UL-F weighs 2.79 ounces.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
4 answers

What to use on a 2 pc. rod?

Details: 
I have a 2 piece rod and would like to know what to use on it from keeping it together while casting? Wax,Parafin wax,?
6 months ago
by
 - Central Ca.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I've had no problems with mine coming apart while casting ex. If you have problems with that you might want to contact fenwick directly as these rods do have a lifetime warranty and I'm sure they can repair replace or recommend a solution.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
Nothing. Any foreign substance on the rod blank can result in the rod furell jamming together, improper fitting of the two pieces, damage to the rod, and should not be done.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
I have the 6'8" light and I don't use anything on my rod. I think as long as you push it down tight enough, the friction alone should be enough to keep the pole together. If you are having issues, it might be your technique or maybe its just a defective pole? Contact Fenwick and ask them.
5 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
crude as it may sound, wipe some natural grease from your nose and rub it on the rod insert section. This usually works fine. I have used wheel bearing grease when I had time to plan ahead.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

Good rod for smallies?

Details: 
Wondering if this rod has the backbone for some big smallmouth, and which model would you recommend for bronzes?
2 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Fenwick makes a line of elite tech smallmouth rods, I'd go with those over this line as these are really light actions for most bass fishing applications.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I would go with the 7'6 for the smallies. It doesnt have a very stiff backbone but should handle smallies with ease.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
The rod will handle big fish, just make sure your drag is set. Go with the ML if you want a stiffer smallmouth rod though.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I want to get a univeral UL rod for fishing small worms, cranks, inline spinners etc.
Is Fenwick elite-tech UL good enough for that or should I get a St Croix premier?
2 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Id go with the Fenwick and match it with a good reel that you can save vs the St Croix. This is really a great rod. It will handle all that you need especially spoons, inline spinners, and worms. I personally like a stiffer rod for cranks but it should handle the smaller crank baits.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I love my Fenwick, very light and smooth action...my favorite rod! Try the Fenwick out, but beware the UL is true to its name.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have 5 Fenwicks & 2 St Croixs. I would rate the Fenwick elite tech better than the Premier, and maybe equal or better than an Avid. For the price, Fenwicks are hard to beat.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Granger IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
it would be a 4 lb test reel and a 6'8" ultra light rod, also would the president reel 6lb test be good with the 7'2" Light
2 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Wow, old question - but yes, it would be good.
1 month, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes it would be perfect. I like the pfleuger president reel with 6 pd line.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
I would use 2lbs and 4lbs max for the best results using these rods. I own the 7'2 L version and a 6'2 SL and use only SOS lines made for trout fishing from trout magnet. The president is a good choice but I would go with only the 6720 because it's the lightest reel of that line. The reason: to better balance out your rod and allow it to be extra sensitive. Anything in the 25 or higher in any of the Pflueger reels is too heavy for that rod with the exception of the the Patriarch. You want to be in the low 7 oz to 6.5oz for the best results. I use a Shimano Stradic CI4 for both of mine. If you don't want to spend that much money, try the Browning Citori in the 10 series or the Johnny Morris Carbon Lite in the 500 series for about the same price as the President. You wont be disappointed with both. Honestly, I;ve given up on Pflueger because their reels just dont hold up to heavy fishing. I hope this helps, good luck.
2 years, 1 month ago
by
 - North Carolina
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes, that's in the line test range provided by the rod manufacturer. If you are asking about reels, then any 1000 or 750 series size reel would be fine. I do not like the mini/micro reels because their spool diameter is so small you can get line twists easier than a bigger reel.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Granger IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
also would an "untra light 6'8 " rod be tuff enuff to reel in a 10 pound bass??
2 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The action of the light will be slightly heavier than the ultra light. Lure weight rating should be listed for each rod in the description. I would say yes for the most part you probably be able to feel the current while using this rod. If you are in open water with no cover what so ever you may be able to land a ten pound bass on this rod but you will be looking at a lengthy fight. I would not recommend this rod for most bass fishing applications.
4 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Both rods are sensitive. You would be able to feel the current. I would not use this rod as a largemouth bass rod. This rod is designed for smallmouth, trout, panfish, and crappie.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
An UL is always more sensitive than a light. Obviously, the line specs are dif, and a 10 lb fish on either rod will be a handful. Be sure the reel drag is perfect, and you don't do any of the rod "don't does" ! Or good-bye rod &/or fish.

You don't see any bass pros using light tackle!!
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Granger IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I don't fully understand your question, but if you're targeting 10 LB bass with an UL, you're doing something wrong here, lol. I would imagine the 6'8 L would be much better than the UL. Depending on lure size and flow of the current, a 6'8" will handle plenty of smaller lures, but again, if you're targeting 10 LB bass you might want to get something stiffer than a L.
2 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
1
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes do yourself a favor and get a 7'0 Medium Fast rod
2 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Central MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 4 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I would think so I use it for trout and it handles them with ease. I think with the right line/reel combo it would be good for the smallies.
1 year, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Yes, the line rating for the 7'2" Light is higher than my 7'6" Light and I could throw lightweight finesse rigs all day with it. You won't be disappointed with this rig, especially if you're throwing braided line. The SiC inserts are smooooooooooooth as butter.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
These rods are about the same weight as other rods in the price range, but they do feel top heavy because the butt sections are much shorter than other rods. My 7'6" L Fenwick has a shorter butt section than my 6'6 Compre. The only drawback to this rod. Buy it still, you will not be disappointed. The guides are smooth as ice, you can't even tell you're reeling in.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Winooski, VT
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime