Daiwa® SS Tournament® Spinning Reels

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Model
Retrieve
Gear Ratio Other specs Quantity Price & availability

SS700

Left/Right

4.9:1

Line Capacity:
4/145

Ball Bearings:
3

Max Drag:
8.8 Lbs.

Recovery:
26" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
7

SS1300

Left/Right

5.1:1

Line Capacity:
6/240

Ball Bearings:
3

Max Drag:
15.4 Lbs.

Recovery:
32" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
8.5

SS1600

Left/Right

4.9:1

Line Capacity:
10/210

Ball Bearings:
3

Max Drag:
15.4 Lbs.

Recovery:
28.7" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11.5

SS2600

Left/Right

4.6:1

Line Capacity:
10/210

Ball Bearings:
3

Max Drag:
17.6 Lbs.

Recovery:
29.9" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
13.7
  • The ultimate long-cast spinning reel
  • Revolutionary Long-Cast technology
  • Smooth drag with oversized felt/stainless discs
  • 3 stainless steel bearings
  • SiC line roller

The ultimate long-cast spinning reel. Features Daiwa's revolutionary Long-Cast technology; exclusive worm gear for perfect line winding; 3 stainless steel bearings; aluminum spool; super-smooth drag with oversized felt/stainless discs and precision click adjustment; SiC line roller; and Lifetime® Bail Spring. Right- or left-hand retrieve.

Line recovery in inches per handle turn.

** = Not recommended for saltwater use.

(FW) = Freshwater
(SW) = Saltwater

Action:
UL = Ultra Light
L = Light
M = Medium
MH = Medium Heavy

Rated 4.8 out of 5 by 52 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by Rock Solid A no frills, everyday workhorse of a reel. Sure, you can spend twice as much for a reel with a hot sauce permeable, twin canooter valve, 12 ball bearing slackblasting, zero contradiction friction spool lip made with the same materials as the Space Shuttles toilet flush handle with an enriched plutonium pinion gear. My guess is, after 5 years, the Daiwa SS will still be catching fish. The same may not be said for todays latest & greatest. When I first used my original SS (many moons ago), I was impressed with the castability & strong bail spring. Roughly 20 years later, the same things are evident, and so much more. If I were a guide, this is the reel I would have at hand for clients to use. I wouldn't be afraid of the little things that could happen to one of todays "stimulus busting" reels. Buy it & be glad you did many years from now. March 30, 2009
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Reel One of the best reels I have ever used! I have owned the 1600 for the past 6 years, and have it paired with an offshore angler powerstick (10-20#). I have abused this reel and it has survived some of the harshest fishing environments I can think of. From the NJ surf, being pounded with waves, dunked in saltwater and dropped in sand countless times to the rigors of kayak fishing. All I do when I get home is hose it off and occasioally give it a spray with some silicone. It will hold 200+ yards of 20# power pro and handle big stripers and blues without a problem. Sure there are more high tech and smoother reels, but for value it can't be beat. It reminds me of the old Penn spinning reels (simple, reliable, and easy to fix), but in a much lighter form. Unfortunately, my 1600 just broke (my fault not the reel), when it was crushed between my boat and a dock. I will be replacing it with a new 1600, and will also be purchasing a 2600 for a lamiglas beach/jetty stick that I am currently building to handle big snook and mid size tarpon down in FL where I now live. December 28, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Best Reel I own I've had this reel for 2 years now. I fish the West coast of Florida for Redfish, Trout, Snook, Sheepshead and more. this reel as others have said, may not be the smoothest reel on the market. But this thing casts further than any other reel I own and retrieves and wraps line perfectly. I have mine mounted to a Ugly Stik Intercoastal 6' 6" rod and they pair together perfectly. This reel has the best drag that I have ever used, it's reliable and it dosen't fade. I conduct routine maintenance by washing it off and keeping it oiled after each trip, and have had no problems at all. The only gripe I have is when you grab the line and the bails spins backwards to the next stop, there is a stop that puts the pivoting part of the bail right over the reel support, so that the bail will not open fully. This is a minor gripe, but it happens quite often. they need to get rid of that one stop point inside the reel and it would be perfect! Yes I did give it five stars, because even though I have other reels (Shimano, Penn and Okuma), I always choose this one first. It's my favorite reel hands down. I wish extra spools didn't cost so much. I will be buying another reel soon to add to my collection, and it will be another SS. September 17, 2008
Rated 5 out of 5 by Daiwa SS Series I was a member of The Daiwa Pro-Staff back in the late 70's when the SS reels were first introduced. Well here it is about 30 years later, and I still use the reels that I got a year that they were available to the public. It doesn't matter what size, they are all still in use. From panfish and walleyes, to bass, pike and muskies, these reels have seen everything possible and have come out with flying colors. I do nothing more than give them a good cleaning every year. I believe that they will outlast me. June 10, 2008
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 ... 13 next>>
6 Questions | 40 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
4 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Bakersfield
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Great on anyrod
9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
excellent pairing...
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Naples, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
sure
2 years ago
by
 - chesapeake, va
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
SS Tournament reels will go good w/ any spinning rod.
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have a 1300 SS on a Loomis GL2 720 and it is a great combination.
3 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
I have 3 0f the SS 1600's. While mine are on custom built rods I do use gloomis as my primary baitcast reel rods. I really love both the SS series reels and gloomis rods. If I should ever replace a spinning rod it will be with a gloomis rod. I don't see how u could go wrong with a SS reel on a gloomis rod
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Nashville,TN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
of course!
3 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Diawa SS1600
4 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
no.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Naples, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
2 years ago
by
 - chesapeake, va
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No not that i am aware of.
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No, sorry it doesn't.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - PA summer, FL winter
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
3 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
4 years, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
1600
1 year, 7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
like the 1300 cause its light...the 1600 has more line capacity if your salmon like to run.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Naples, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
1600
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have several Daiwa SS Torunament reels in different sizes. I mainly saltwater kayak fish with them using a 700 with 15# Power Pro line and this littel reel has done more than its job. Its not a high tech reel but they are very dependable and will hold up with a little care forever. I would highly recommend this reel for any fishing you would like to do as they are rock solid and will get the job done. When I bought my first one I tried it in the store and didn't think it was as smooth as a $100 reel should be, but after using these reels year after year I will say they are the Bee's Knee's and well worth the money in the long run.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Annapolis, Maryland
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Can't go wrong wiht this Diawa, long casts, great drag, perfect for big salmon!
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - PA summer, FL winter
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
4 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes
1 month, 1 week ago
by
 - Atlanta, Lake Lanier
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes at back of reel
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Naples, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes
2 years ago
by
 - chesapeake, va
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes it does. It has a switch at the base of the reel.
2 years, 7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes
3 years, 3 months ago
by
 - De Soto, Wisconsin
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
Yes...but the SS series does not have an instant anit-reverse.
3 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Woonsocket Rhode Island
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
No
1 month, 1 week ago
by
 - Atlanta, Lake Lanier
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Naples, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
2 years ago
by
 - chesapeake, va
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No not that I am aware of.
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
These reeels have never come with a spare spool. I have two of them. if I recall correctly the extra spool can be purchased but it runs over $20.00. In my opinion it is well worth the extra cost if this is going to be one of your primary reels.
4 years, 10 months ago
by
 - Fresno, CA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I noticed that this reel fits some rods oddly. Angles upwards a good bit, any help would be appreciated.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Lehigh Valley
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i fish inshore and back country and like the results i get from pairing this reel with the star stellar light 7 footer, fast action ML
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Naples, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
never had that probem
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
My personal choice is St. Croix spinning rods. As always fit the rod to the reel.
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I put mine on a Shakespear Liberty 98% Graphite UL and it's great. Of course it depends on what size reel you have and the kind of fishing you are doing.

That upward angle is one of the reasons you can cast it so far, it keeps it alligned better with your first eyelet and reduces friction that way. I would be comfortable putting this reel on any rod I own.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - PA summer, FL winter
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
all good spin reels angle up abit to keep in line with the guides.
3 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use my 2600 boyh on my Shakespeare Ugly Stik 6´6" and 7´.
Both Medium action.
The shape of the SS Spool, combined with the whip action on the Ugly, allows you to cast every line as it was half the weight.
The Spool seems to push the line away.
I will also recomend the Uglys with the Tournament
4 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Lima, Peru
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
An ugly stick works very good with this reel. You get the added bonuses of them being tough and cheap. I use the bigger SSs'(?) and have used primarily med-heavy 6'6"-7' rods.
4 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime