Free Shipping on orders $50+ No code needed.

Select the "Economy Shipping" option at checkout.

Free Shipping on orders of $50 or more applies to economy shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed.

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L5HA.

CVA Buckhorn .50 Caliber 209 Muzzleloader

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Caliber
Stock
Finish
Quantity Price & availability

.50

Synthetic

Blued

  • $199.99

  • SKU: 1264684

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

A muzzleloader you can depend on for the shot of a lifetime! The CVA® Buckhorn® .50 Caliber 209 Muzzleloader's dual retention points and redesigned trigger make the Buckhorn the most advanced conventional in-line on the market today. This ultra-modern muzzleloader sports a precision barrel and is powered by an extremely hot #209 ignition system that can handle 150-grain magnum charges with ease. Radical solid composite stock design features Grip Dot panels to ensure a comfortable, non-slip grip. Comes standard with a thumb-actuated safety, Illuminator™ fiber-optic sights, CrushZone™ recoil pad, and Bullet Guiding Muzzle. Drilled and tapped for scope mounts. .50 caliber. Barrel length: 24''. Twist: 1 in 28''. Total length: 42''. Weight: 6.3 lbs.
Manufacturer model #: PR4300.

  • Dual retention points
  • #209 ignition system for 150 grain magnum charges
  • Composite stock with non-slip grip
  • Thumb actuated safety  
  • Fiber optics sights
  • CrushZone recoil pad
  • Bullet guiding muzzle
  • Ready for scope mounts    
CVA Buckhorn .50 Caliber 209 Muzzleloader 4.5 5 22 22
Great Gun, Great Value I purchased this gun as an upgrade. I've been shooting a T/C Hawken style .50 for the last few years and got tired of the antiquated design and wanted something more modern, however I didn't want to spend too much since I only hunt 2 or 3 days a year during muzzleloader season. After doing some online research and looking at various guns I decided to go with this one. I have been thrilled with my decision. This gun is an entry level inline that anyone can use. I have mounted a scope and can keep a reasonably tight group at 100 yards. I say "reasonably tight" because there are so many different variables to consider when firing a muzzleloader. Just a few grains of powder more or less can effect the shot placement. I have been firing Powerbelt bullets and have tested between 75 and 100 grains of Pyrodex. I have found that 75 is adequate for the size of deer I'm hunting and the distance of my shots. This gun is very durable and is well built for the price. Disassembly for cleaning is very easy and makes cleaning a snap. They give you all the tools required, but all you need is an allen wrench and the breech wrench which comes with the gun. I have a bore rope that I run through the bore. Cleaning takes about 15 minutes. The only reason I'm giving this review 4 starts instead of 5 is because it is somewhat difficult to put in a new primer and remove the primer after firing. This isn't a big deal when you aren't trying to load in the heat of the moment, but when you are reloading to take a quick shot it can be a little difficult to get the old primer out and a new one installed. I keep my pocket knife handy in the field and use it to pop the old one out and then it just takes a few seconds to get the new one situated in place. This may be something that is common to all inlines, but I've never fired another so I don't know. Overall I highly recommend this gun. I have had it for one season and took a buck and a doe with it. I'm looking forward to the new season starting in two weeks so i can take it out again. In closing I'll say that the selling point for me on this gun was when I was doing some online research. If you Google "The Truth About CVA" you'll find a blog by the CEO of CVA. On that blog people ask him questions and he gives them direct answers. I love the fact that the CEO is accessible and addresses customer comments (and complaints) directly on that blog instead of you having to call some 800 number. I was floored that a CEO was making himself so accessible and that was the ultimate selling point for me. October 13, 2013
Forget the price, buy it for the accuracy! I started muzzleloading with a very cheap, mid-90's inline. I lived in a rifle hunting state where the muzzleloading seasons required open iron sights, open breech, no pellets and no sabots at the time, so I was just muzzleloading to try something new at the range, and to hopefully gather enough ML experience by the time the Army moved me again to be able to function in a ML/shotgun state without having to start from square 1. I quickly learned it would be worth upgrading to a Buckhorn (yes, it was an UPGRADE - I still have that first rifle, but I only use it as a cheater bar on my 3/8" ratchet wrench handle!), put a decent Bushnell scope on it, and picked up a variety of conicals, saboted bullets, and PowerBelts as well as 4 different types of FFg-equivalent BP substitutes and a few brands of primers. Without indemnifying myself by sharing the exact recipe, I was able to use a "poor man's" rifle, a $40 3-9x40mm scope, a BP substitute powder plagued by notoriously bad reviews, a well-accepted saboted bullet that really doesn't cost much, and the cheapest primers in town to get 3-shot groups just under 2" at 100 yards. Velocities off of my Chrony F1 report nice consistency and best efficiency with about a 130 grain load; going above that seemed to get more smoke and thunder, but little more velocity and slight declines in accuracy. Zeroed 1" high at 150 yards, I can hit inside an 8" paper picnic plate every time out to 250 yards with a center hold and that means I'm done worrying about rifles, optics, loads, etc. - I can focus on animals, habitat, and tactics now. Or, at least I could, had I not let my best friend talk me out of the rig, leaving me to start over from the ground up with another make/model... but that's for another review. Bottom line is that if you're a centerfire guy like I was, heading to a shotgun/ML state (and most such states allow your ML during their shotgun seasons too) the CVA Buckhorn lets you get into the muzzleloading game for less than $500 for rifle, scope, rings, bullets, powder, primers, full arsenal of loading and cleaning goods including a good range rod & some speed loaders, and probably even some other accessories such as a rifle case, sling, scope covers, and a decent plastic toolbox to keep everything organized and in one place. You can always upgrade bits and pieces over time, but I'm writing this in mid-July with full confidence that for under $500, if you have solid fundamental marksmanship skills, you can be ready for an Iowa/Illinois/Indiana/Ohio deer season by the end of September with just a few range sessions and very little capital. Those four-figure-as-shown ML rifles in the hands of the big guys with the big hats on TV are nice, but none of the animals harvested on cable television or in the anonymous public wildlife areas on the Midwest's back roads would ever know the difference. July 17, 2011
Great for the money I live in Ohio, I bought it to hunt deer, I went out the first season and got a doe with it. For less than $400 in everything I got a deer during the last ditch muzzleloader season. On mine, the open sights are horrid! The rear sight is all the way to the left and it still shoots left at 70 ft. I just mounted a scope on it, but havnt had time to sight it in. Friend told me that would remedy the inaccurate open sights??? Very easy to clean! Very easy to operate and reload. For the money, you cannot beat it. August 8, 2011
Shoots Awesome This gun is a great shooter. I let my brother shoot it a couple times and he didn't believe me when i told him I paid under $150 for it. It's as accurate and easy to use as guns that are 2-3 times as much money. The first day out I shot 3 shots to get the scope hitting the bullseye at 40 yds then moved the target to 100yds and was shooting inside a 2" group for my next 10 shots. The only thing I found odd was sometimes after firing the bolt would go back open, and sometimes it would be closed against the primer, or half open with the primer smashed sideways in the chamber. I assume the shot was forcing the primer backwards and pushing the bolt open, which would sometimes catch in the "open" position. The kick with 100gr of 777 pellets and a 245gr powerbelt was about half that of a 3" 12 gauge shell. January 14, 2010
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 next>>
9 Questions | 17 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
1 month, 1 week ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
It would be legal in the early doe season where modern in-line guns are allowed. It would not be legal in the late season which is flint-lock only. Effective range of the Buckhorn could be all the way out to 200 yards – assuming the shooter is well practiced at such long range shots. (Please consult with your local game agency as hunting regulations can change year to year)
1 month, 1 week ago
0
0
 
Q: 
2 answers

Is This Washington Legal?

Details: 
Is it exposed ignition and 11 cap or musket?
1 year, 4 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
No I don't believe it is. Your looking for a flintlock I think. This shoots with a 209 shotgun primer. it goes in the breech, and the firing pin hits it through a tiny hole which ignites the powder then pushes out the slug or ball.
10 months ago
by
 - League City, TX
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
Here is the link to the DNR for Washington State: http://wdfw.wa.gov/hunting/, which will help you with local laws. Thanks
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

Recoil

Details: 
I've never shot a muzzle loader before and i was wondering how much kick this had compared to a 12 gauge slug or a 7.62-59 or anything else.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - St Louis Missouri
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
About the same
1 year, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It is between a 20 and a 12 gauge. Not bad.
1 year, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
This is a magnum rifle. You can load it up 150 grains of black powder and, topped with a heavy bullet it bucks pretty good.

I shoot mine with my standard hunting load - 110 grains of BP and 348 grain bullet and it kicks about like a 12 gauge with 2 3/4 target loads. Even then it is a softer kick because the powder charge burns slower than smokeless powder.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
 - Come to Colorado
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
CVA buckhorn .50 cal magnum in-line
5 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
First start out and run 3 primers through it to burn the oil out of the barrel. Drop in you charge (150grain) push your shot down. Put a primer in, and you are ready to go. After you shoot it, wait for all the embers to die in the barrel, and repeat the process.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Van Wert, Ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
You should read your owners manual and ask someone locally to help you if you're not familiar with muzzleloading.
5 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
1 answer

is this Ma.compliant?

5 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i was at the foxboro basspro store an asked the guys at the firearms counter they said yes it is....
5 years, 1 month ago
by
 - westport,ma.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Details: 
I am new at muzzleloading. What scope, mounts, powder, bullets, etc are recommended for the Buckhorn 209? I would like to purchase everything at once so I don't go on a hunt and find out that I lack something I need.
5 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Spring, Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
Buy the CVA rifle/Konus scope kit if you can find it. You won't be able to touch the price of the components bought seperately.If not, buy the DuraSight scope mount CVA recommends and only a scope made for a muzzleloader.

Stick with 100 grm loads as the 150 grm loads tend to cause the groups to be wider. The IMR white hots worked great for me with the Hornady 300 gr SST sabots. Buy the CVA deluxe cleaning kit with the range rod, bore cleaner gel, rust preventer, and various brushes. Also get the loader kit with the loader and different bullet nipples. You want to use the correct nipple for the type of bullet you choose. Lastly, I bought some of the foam bore cleaner. It works while you clean the rest of the gun. Also get the 500 count bag of patches.

Be ready, you will spend all most as much on supplies as you spent on the gun.
4 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
I have the same rifle & I use Powerbelt bullets, I think they're 145 gr, Triple 7 powder, I use 100 to 150 gr, with Winchester shotgun primers. I think the gun can only handle 150 gr of powder, not for sure because I got mine used & it never came with a manuel. I shoot it out to 50 yards & it is putting 1 1/2, 2in groups. I never shoot beyond that because my food plot is only 40x40 yards. Great gun for the money. If this was not of any help give your local BPS a call & hopefully they can answer all your questions that you may have.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Imperial, MO.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
This is just the gun by itself. However, most combo packs include the most cheaply-produced accessories available. CVA's combo packs include usable scopes and loading accessories, but I've found I can shop the web to find better optics, bullets, and so on, for around the same money as the difference in price between the rifle and the combo package. Not to impugn CVA's choice of what to include, but I'd rather keep that extra money in my pocket to use on a scope or bullets that are more in tune with my individual preferences. For example, the woods I hunt won't ever allow more than a 100 yard shot. Therefore, I'd rather have a high-quality 1.75-4x32mm scope than a department-store special 3-9x40mm with a less-sharp focus at close range, poor light transmission, more magnification than I can use at the high end and too much for the "He's Right Under My Stand!!!" shots at the low end. And every rifle is different in what it likes to be fed; so rather than pay for a bunch of bullets that the manufacturer includes because they happen to make and market them too, again I'd rather take my money somewhere I can see other options on the shelf. And at $179, you're getting enough accuracy out of this rifle that I'd consider it a bargain even if it came without sights or a ramrod!
3 years, 6 months ago
by
Anonymous
 - Muscatine, IA
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
this is just the gun and the safety on in could be better. but it is a good gun.
5 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

How do you clean this gun

5 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i use a pre wet cva cleaning patch witch i squeez to just till its damp then two dry patches,after every shot for greater accuracy,the same for end of year use followed by a coating of bore butter......
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - westport,ma.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
Take the cap off the back of the barrel where the rounded plug is w/ the allen head in it & unscrew that to take it out & take the guts out it & take the breech plug wrench & unscrew that & that givs you access to the inside of the barrel. Get some good cleaner & breech plug grease & you should be good to go.
5 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Imperial, MO.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

what is the tug?

Details: 
i was thinking of giving this gun to my son is it safe for a ten year old to shoot
5 years, 6 months ago
by
 - upstate,ny
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
its as safe as you want it to be as long as youre doing everything right irs perfect
4 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
it will be a good gun for him but just use 50 grains of powder.
5 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime