Browning® Fishing Six Rivers Salmon/Steelhead Spinning Rods

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length
Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

8'6"

Medium

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
4-12 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 1/2 oz.

Pieces:
2

Handle Chart Reference:
A

Model:
SXR86MS-2

8'6"

Med Hvy

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
6-17 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
2

Handle Chart Reference:
A

Model:
SXR86MHS-2
For generations, Browning has led the way to great days in the field. From fine hunting firearms and accessories to fishing rods and reels, the spirit of innovation brings fresh opportunities for sportsmen to enjoy the Great Outdoors. Both Browning and Bass Pro Shops are committed to ensuring quality experiences for all outdoorsmen with well-designed, well-made products that perform under the toughest field conditions.Because salmon and steelheading techniques have evolved beyond the traditional drift methods employed in the Pacific Northwest, the Six Rivers series continues to grow. All Six Rivers rods are built on sensitive 36 million psi graphite matrix blanks and feature Fuji® aluminum oxide guides and Fuji graphite reel seats. Grips are premium Portuguese cork. Extendable butt model SXR96ULNT-2 offers cam-lock tighteners that can be adjusted on the fly to the precise length that gives you the best advantage.
Rated 4.5 out of 5 by 18 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by 8'6" MH Spinning is Great. Using braided line this is a very sensitive rod. The action never feels slow or sloppy. I've only had my rod for about a month but the fishing has good and I've already caught a walleye, two legal pike, and two large small-mouthed bass. This rod, with it's fighting butt and stiff spine, feels like it was made for larger fish. I gave this rod 5 stars because it casts farther than similar rods I own and it has a first-class action and finish. My only complaint is that this rod doesn't seem like a natural side- caster. It is going to take some practice, and maybe a weight on the butt, before I'm really accurate casting this side-armed. Nonetheless this is an awesome all-purpose rod for large freshwater fish. I feel like I got more than my money's worth with this rod. (I've also written a review for the six-rivers noodle rod). April 11, 2012
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rod I had some reservation of going from a 7' to 8.5' MH rod. I am impressed with how this rod handles and casts. I add a Pfluger 6735X reel and 10 lb. fireline. This combo cast anything for a #11 original rapala to a 1/2 jig with ease. I definetly get more distance casting and suprisingly this combo is easier on my wrist than my 7 footer and 6740 reel. I have better control reeling is fish and the extra length helps with landing fish. I casted a jointed rap in the current. I felt the rap action clear in the butt of the pole. Great rod and a steal at the price. You do have to get use to casting with 2 hands, but that's pretty ease. The catalog price is 10 bucks cheaper than the on-line price. November 7, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Pole Purchased this rod for salmon surf fishing. Threw a two ounce wait with it and caught five fish. Worked perfectly and was better than other rods I've used at a higher price. April 19, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Nice Fishing Rod Very nice rod, I actually wanted the med. action rod but made a mistake and got the med hvy rod. But I tried it anyways and i like it. There is a big difference in the action but I still like the quality of the rod. I would recommend this to anyone. I like that i can use it for any type of fishing app. It is over kill for trout and other type of fish but it still works good. January 31, 2011
<<prev2 3 4 5 next>>
6 Questions | 9 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
2 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Don't know if you have any answers yet. I matched with a Pfluger 6735X. It works beatifully. The rod tip is a tab bit heavy, but put the butt between upper arm and ribs and it handles easily. Hope this helps.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Pierre, SD
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
There are four sizes of Sienna reel. If using one of the larger two sizes reel, you'd probably want to use the MH rod.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I think you'd want the Six Rivers Noodle Rod.
2 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
It would be ok -- you may want to consider the longer rods 38-151-830-00 and 38-151-832-00 as the additional length will help get you more distance on your cast.
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 10 months ago
by
 - Niagara Falls
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
shipping Weight: .400
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - springfield, mo
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
 
Q: 
1 answer

Which one?

Details: 
When fishing steelhead as well as browns, which is the better choice? (I am intending to use 8-10 pound copolymer (Pline/Gamma).
3 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
do you want a medium or medium heavy rod?

Medium Action- designed for 6-12 pound test light baits

MH- for 12-25 pount test stronger backbone makes it easier to pull fish from cover.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - springfield, mo
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
 
Q: 
2 answers

1

Details: 
I just bought this rod for stealhead and I think I am going to like it. I trusted the store clerk to give me the correct weight. I the one I got is slow action, 1-6lb line. is that best for stealhead fishing on the manestee river ,mi?
3 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
It is a great rod. I would use a Braided line for steelhead, because you can get a heavier line and it won't break on you.
3 years ago
by
 - Lynden Wa
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i just used a med action 10lb test
caught 2 salmon 1 10+ 1 20+king
and steelhead worked great
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - scottsdale az
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I would like to know if this is the rod that Jon Thelen uses for Wallie fishing
5 years, 1 month ago
by
 - machesney-park, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
We do not have him listed as using this Rod. However, you might search online try key word : Jon Thelen.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - springfield, mo
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime