Select the "Economy Shipping" option at checkout. No code needed.

Free Shipping applies to economy shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all basspro.com or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, Santa's Wonderland pictures, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed.

Free Offer Berkley Lightning Rod Shock Series Trigger Rod

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power HANDLETEST Other specs Quantity Price & availability

6'

Med Hvy

A

Line Weight:
10-25 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 1-1/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
A

Model:
SHC601MH
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548363

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

6'6"

Medium

B

Line Weight:
8-20 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 3/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
B

Model:
SHC661M
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548364

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

6'6"

Med Hvy

B

Line Weight:
10-25 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 1-1/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
B

Model:
SHC661MH
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548365

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

7'

Med Hvy

C

Line Weight:
10-25 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 1-1/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
C

Model:
SHC701MH
  • $54.99

  • SKU: 1548366

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

Because superline fishing is here to stay, Berkley® designed their Lightning Rod® Shock Series Trigger Rods to give anglers a rod specifically designed to handle today's superlines. The Lightning Rod Shock Series Rod's 1K Power Helix construction creates extra strength with a lightweight feel, and the Strike Amplifying Tip (S.A.T) blends fiberglass with graphite to produce for a slower-reacting tip that results in fewer lost fish. Diamond-polished aluminum oxide guides reduce friction, decrease wind knots and other line management issues while remaining lightweight and tough. The Lightning Rod Shock Rods feature a split-grip design that delivers more sensitivity and better balance with less weight, and a suspending reel seat keeps the reel from hampering vibration, ensuring maximum sensitivity.

  • Designed specifically for superline fishing
  • Diamond-polished aluminum oxide guides
  • 1K Power Helix construction
  • Strike Amplifying Tip (S.A.T.)
  • Split-grip design
  • Suspending reel
Berkley Lightning Rod Shock Series Trigger Rod 4.5 5 90 90
Great Rod This has been a great rod, I have 4 of them and they work really well. May 27, 2013
The tradition continues! Bought 2 lightening rods, 6'6" med. and a 7" MH over a year ago. Have used the 7' exclusively for jigs. 3/4oz. jigs. Initially paired this rod with a Daiwa PR1-2Bi reel that i revived out of nostalgic reasons. It is now sporting a Lews tournament pro with 50lb braided Sunline,(butter). As stated all I have thrown with this rod is 3/4 ounce jigs with numerous trailers, always a trailer and it continues to give a good account of itself. The sensitivity is fine for a rod in this class, hooksets have never failed, and it fights fish fine,plenty of backbone along with enough sensitivity to determine what is being felt on the bottom. I have caught over 100 bass on this rod with 5lbs being my largest and the majority in the 1-3lb class, several 4-4.5lbers. In my opinion, a review should not be written, until one has used a product for at least a year, unless there has been a malfunction. i am on season 2 with this rod, it doesnt make every trip and typically will get called upon when bank fishing or short 1-3 hr. trips. Also in my opinion, comparing this rod to a $300.00 rod isn't comparing apples to apples. $60.00 is $60.00 and $300.00 is $300.00. This rod delivers what i would expect and then some from a rod in it's price class. I have used Berkley rods since 1985 for all manner of fishing and have yet to find a reason to quit. This rod was a tad stiff and a little heavy, but then again I am wanting to drive a hook through a fishes skull!!!! For the $ it is quite a deal. May 12, 2013
Excellent for the price I use braided line almost exclusively so I was intrigued by these rods. But after hearing many stories of them breaking, I was scared to buy one. But I went ahead and picked up two, one 7' MH casting and one 7' medium spinning and both have been fantastic and are amazingly sensitive. You can actually feel bites when your line is completely slack fishing senkos (braided line helps of course, but I can feel the bites better on these rods than many more expensive rods). I haven't had any issues with quality at all and I have pulled in some lunkers, been stuck in the weeds, and stuck on rocks on the bottom. Those who are breaking these rods are most likely breaking them due to user error (perhaps grabbing up high on the rod and pulling bass in, putting extra pressure on the tip). May 4, 2013
My favorite $50 rod ever Was excited to try out this rod because the guides were designed for braid and thats what i mostly use.I paired it with a Bass Pro Nitro Tournament Z reel and what a great combo it is. Its by far one of my favorite rods i use.I have caught many smallmouth with it and it performs very well everytime.I will be buying another. April 7, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 23 next>>
28 Questions | 104 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
This rod is available in the 7'6 Heavy sku 1944820, they are in stock in the warehouse, however the inventory is low therefore not appearing online at this time. New inventory is expected in mid July.
5 months, 4 weeks ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
9 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
There are 6 guides.
9 months ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
2 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
Yes you can. Just about any low profile bait caster is compatible with this rod.
2 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
Yes, you sure can. I have a lightning rod shock and it is great.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Dahlonega, Georgia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
2 answers

graphite or blend?

Details: 
Is the entire rod a blend of graphite and glass, or is it just the tip?
2 years, 8 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I am not 100% sure but im 99.98% sure that the entire rod is graphite
2 months, 1 week ago
by
 - West Palm Beach, Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
Just the tip. Its a blend to give it longetivity
2 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Looking to use my Zebco 733, 17LB mono. Looking at 6'6" MH, or should I go with 7ft MH? Just want a good rod to handle just about anything and a have fun and loaner rod.
2 years, 8 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
if your planning to use 17lb mono most of the time I would get the 7 foot rod. I use mono between 10-20 lbs and I have never had an issue
2 months, 1 week ago
by
 - West Palm Beach, Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
7ft would be better
10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
Get the 7' MH. It may be too light a rod for heavy cat fishing but its better for an all around rod than the 6'6". Plus you will get more distance with the 7'
2 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
For all around I personally would get the 7ft. Saying that, I usually am fishing out of a boat and do not have to worry about the tip hitting the ground while doing presentations like walking the dog or something like that. In that case I would go with the 6'6. I have a 6'6 rod like this and like it a lot, however that was when I was first getting into baitcasters and serious fishing so I really didn't know how I felt about the 7 ft rods. Hind sight, I should have gotten the 7 footer. Hope this helps!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Canton, Georgia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
Best rod for the money. I would go with the 7` med. hvy. this rod is great for all around fishing, no question.
2 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 11 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I have used the SHC701MH 7' for going on 2 years now for jigging exclusively. It has performed fine for a rod in it's price class. I have tossed nothing less than 3/4 ounce hack attack jigs on this rod and have landed numerous bass. It won't set you back too far $ wise. To date I have not had any malfunctions with it. E.
1 year, 7 months ago
by
 - central illinois
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
I would defiantly use the 7' MH. That is provided you are using weighted worms.
2 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
Worming i like to use the 6'6 or 7 ft medium heavy, but for jigging i like the heavy action to really get the fish out of the weeds in a hurry so he doesnt tangle me up
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Dahlonega, Georgia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The Abu Garcia Veritas is perfect for it. I almost only jig and it's all I'll use now. And it's one 99$ at bass pro
2 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
does anyone have advise on rod reel set up for frog fishing and is the 7ft mh good choice
3 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
I prefer a H rod for frogs but this MH is pretty stiff. It will work.

As for Reels I prefer Abu Garcia. Try the silver or black Max to stay around 100 dollars
2 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
N0, because you need to have the rod tip down when fishing a frog and 7ft is probably going to be to long when fishing it down off of a boat or bank. I prefer a 6ft
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Cambridge, Maryland
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
very good choice as you have plenty of backbone plus a soft tip for sensitivity.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - New Bedford Ma
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
the 7ft mh is a great all-around rod. if i only had to have 1 rod, that's the legnth and action i would have. i've used 7ft mh for everything i think and it's always came through for me. i would definately use it for frogs. the lightning rods are good quality rods
3 years, 7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
6 answers

How are the tips?

Details: 
I am looking at getting the 7ft MH. Are the tips fast?
3 years, 10 months ago
by
 - Washington State
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
I don't know about the 6'6" models but yes the 7' MH is a fast tip. Has plentybof backbone too
2 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
They are not the fastest I have ever used. I like the tips on the KVD signature rods much more than these because they are lighter. But for the money, you can not go wrong with this rod. I use it to throw topwater, spinner/chatter/buzz baits mostly.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Dahlonega, Georgia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes
3 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Mobile, Al.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The tip seems to be a bit slower than my other rods with a fast tip but also faster than my moderate cranking rods. I would say it is between the moderate and fast tips.
3 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The tips are a bit slower than a typical 7MH graphite rod. There is a reason for this though. When a fish gets in close with no strecth line and a stiff rod you are going to rip the hook from his mouth. Also if you are acustom to fishing mono your more than likely crossing the eyes of the fish with the hookset, with braid you need some cushion to keep from ripping the lure from a fish's mouth. It's a great rod, go for it man.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
 - South Texas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
slower tip to absorb for the no stretch of braid I would say moderate.
3 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
4 years, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I cant speak for any rod thats not the & footer. The seven foot rod I have has 7 guides. Hope that helps
2 months, 1 week ago
by
 - West Palm Beach, Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
On the 6'6 rod there are 7.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Dahlonega, Georgia
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
There are 7 guides
3 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Mobile, Al.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
on the 7 foot model, there are 7 guides counting the tip
4 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
6 Guides
4 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
6 answers

6 foot or 6,6

Details: 
which one would be better, im fishing out of a pontoon with limited room and wats better a the m or mh heavy action i have the 6ftm spinning and love it im lookin at the 6.6 for baitcast tho
4 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
It depends on what size fish you think you are going to hook in to if your catching 5-12lbs i would get the mh because it will be easy to rip them in rather than the medium. If you get the Medium you will be able to throw baits farther than the mh. its really your opinion
4+ lber got in easy
3 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
MH because you can use anything with a mh rod
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Cambridge, Maryland
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
If you are just going to us it for dock fishing it would be better to use a 6ft MH because you have better mobility with it. But if you are going to use it for other fishing the 6'6 MH would be better.
3 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Muskogee, OK
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
id say the 6'6" MH because of its superior castablility and power, but it is still very portable. just learn how to cast sidearm or underhand off the boat and you'll be fine.
4 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i would choose the 6'6. it has a lot more power and it has great sensitivity. the 6 foot is not as strong and doesn't cast as far. if you are fishing with live bait go with the 6 foot and if your going for big fish then get the 6'6 rod. these rods are great!!!
4 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i like the mh the best
4 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 3 next>>
2 3 next>>

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime