Free Shipping on orders $50+ No code needed.

Select the "Economy Shipping" option at checkout.

Free Shipping on orders of $50 or more applies to economy shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed.

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4BD.

Free Offer Berkley Lightning Rod Shock Series Spinning Rod

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

6'

Medium

Line Weight:
4-12 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 3/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SHS601M
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548368

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

6'6"

Med Lt

Line Weight:
4-10 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
2

Model:
SHS662ML
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548369

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

6'6"

Medium

Line Weight:
4-12 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 3/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SHS661M
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548370

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

7'

Med Lt

Line Weight:
4-10 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SHS701ML
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548371

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

7'

Medium

Line Weight:
4-12 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 3/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SHS701M
  • $49.99

  • SKU: 1548372

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

7'6"

Med Lt

Line Weight:
4-10 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Model:
SHS761ML
  • $54.99

  • SKU: 1548373

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

Because superline fishing is here to stay, Berkley® designed their Lightning Rod® Shock Series Spinning Rods to give anglers a rod specifically designed to handle today's superlines. The Lightning Rod Shock Series Rod's 1K Power Helix construction creates extra strength with a lightweight feel, and the Strike Amplifying Tip (S.A.T) blends fiberglass with graphite to produce for a slower-reacting tip that results in fewer lost fish. Diamond-polished aluminum oxide guides reduce friction, decrease wind knots and other line management issues while remaining lightweight and tough. The Lightning Rod Shock Rod Series also feature a split-grip design that delivers more sensitivity and better balance with less weight, and a suspending reel seat keeps the reel from hampering vibration, ensuring maximum sensitivity.

  • Designed specifically for superline fishing
  • Diamond-polished aluminum oxide guides
  • 1K Power Helix
  • Strike Amplifying Tip (S.A.T.)
  • Split-grip design
  • Suspending reel
Berkley Lightning Rod Shock Series Spinning Rod 4.1 5 74 74
great price! The Berkley Lightning Rod was a great investment, especially for under 50 dollars. The only thing I am not sure about is that it could use an extra guide or two but for the price I don't think I can complain to much. I will definitely be purchasing a few more. This is a great rod for the weekend angler and can withstand a good bit of abuse because I haven't broke mine yet and I am pretty ruff on my gear. If you want a good rod without spending hundreds of dollars you need to check this one out! July 19, 2013
Best bang for your buck!! Well I've been reading some of these negative reviews about this rod and all I can do is laugh and shake my head!! Berkley is about as solid of a fishing product manufacturer as your gonna find. This is my third berkley rod I've owned and all three of them were as rugged as can be and gave me years of action packed fishing. I'll tell you right now that I think this rod performs just as good if not better than some of the more expensive rods I've fished with. You just absolutely cannot beat the price hands down!! I've got this rod paired up with a Daiwa Procyon 3000 spinning reel and I feel it's the best combo that I've ever fished with!! So if your skeptical on buying this rod, trust me don't buy into the negative reviews you might read on this rod!! This rod is made from the same basic materials as all other rods are so I promise it will not break!! Just think about it for a minute, do you know how hard it is to break a fishing rod!! Give me a break!! Lol. Oh and this rod is super sensitive so you can honestly feel everything from bottom structure to solid strikes!! Another winner from Berkley in my book!! June 27, 2013
dissapointed I was absolutely in love with this rod until this weekend. It was by far my favorite rod I have ever purchased. Great feel, light, looked cool, everything you could want until it broke! I was trolling crankbaits in the river and got snagged on a log. Initially I thought I had a bite and jerked on the rod to set the hook. To my surprise the rod snapped just above the real. Factory flaw? June 24, 2013
Best rod for your buck. Hands Down. I love my Berkley Lightning Shock. I liked it so much I bought another one for a different set-up. I own Shimano and Abu-Garcia rods also and can tell you with confidence that this rod is just as good or better, and $50 cheaper. I can't understand how some of these reviewers are having trouble with the tips because I fish at least 3 times a week, Inshore and Bass fishing and have never had any problems. I've had monster Reds on and Lunker Bass and these things perform flawlessly. Sensitivity is perfect. In the pic I uploaded you can see a 8lb beast and my Lightning shock rod I caught it with. Buy one and you'll see. May 17, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 ... 19 next>>
8 Questions | 52 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
1 year, 9 months ago
by
Anonymous
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Not certain, but it is a Berkely branded and sold by BassPro. Any normal use would be backed in case of a breakage. I fished a medium 7' one as my fave rod for 3 years #I put away Kistlers and the Shaw Grigsby model#. They are easy to buy and feel great and respond really well for bass and 5-6 lb catfish in Virginia.
1 year ago
by
 - Richmond VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
Berkley warrants to the original purchaser that its Berkley products are free from defects in materials or workmanship for a period of one (1) year from the date of purchase.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I fish primarily senkos and flukes, which rod would be the best choice? Thank you!
2 years, 11 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
I love it, very light weight and sensitive. This rod definitely shines for senko fishing. I have always preferred the 6'6 version. The 6' seems a little to small and lack sensitivity, but the 7' model is to big and bulky, especially for senko fishing.
1 year, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
flukes i would use a 6' mh with 30lb braid
senko 7' m to mh
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - connecticut
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
I dont want to say niether but I have too. When I fish a fluke, senko or SK zero I want a rod with enough flexabilty to sling a weightless one a mile but more importantly the sensativity to feel the slightest touch. I have found that the best is to use a spinning reel and 8-10 Lb Fluorocarbon on a good rod. I prefer the St Croix AVS 70MF but I know for a fact the Mojo Bass MBS 70MF is almost as good and half the price.
2 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Graham, NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
Either the 6-6 medium or the 7-0 medium would work fine for senkos and flukes. The 7-0 would be my choice but I know some guys that like a little bit shorter rod for finesse style presentations.

If you look at some of the other manufacturers rods, especially the ones that are technique specific, most of the senco style rods are 6-8 to 7-0 in length in medium action with fast or xtra-fast tips. One key is to be in that 3/16 to 3/4 oz lure weight range, which these rods are.

The 7-0 would make a great Senko rod. Good luck this season!
2 years, 10 months ago
by
 - Fox Lake, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
11 answers

I wanted to know

Details: 
I don't remember seeing in the description whether the rod has a hook keeper or not...........
4 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Sunnyvale, Ca
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Closed to New Answers
0
0

Answers

A: 
It does.
1 year ago
by
 - Richmond VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It does have a hook keeper
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Lake Villa, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes it does
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - connecticut
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes it does
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Kauai, hawaii
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
rod does have a metal loop hook eyelet just above the reel seat. is postioned in line with the line guides
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Phoenix/Whiteriver, AZ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
YES IT DOES!!!
3 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes it does!!!
3 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
has a hook keeper
3 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
There is a hook keeper on the Lightning Rod Shock.
4 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes it does
4 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Chandler, AZ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Bought mine last year, and it had one :)... but the rod snapped in half on me last week :(
4 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I am looking for a under-$100 rod to match with my new Quantum Cabo 40, and am considering both the Berkley Lightning Rod Shock (b/c I fish with braid) and the Berkley Cobalt Fire. Is the Lightning Rod Shock as good as the Cobalt Fire for inshore saltwater fishing? Does it stand up to the salt?
4 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Tampa, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
ive been useing for almost a year in salt water with noproblems and they are so sensitive and light i have no problem catching big red fish and snook from shore
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
1 year, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
If it didn't stand up to freshwater for me it probably won't stand up to saltwater for you man.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Lake Villa, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
if you like a stiff rod the berkley shock isnt the way the daiwa pro bass is a great rod for the price.
4 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
yes it is thats what makes it a better rod dont forget to rinse it off at the end of the day.
4 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
For Salt water I would use a heavey rod. See which one has the heavy'st and use that. You wont be disapointed.
4 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
6 answers

Which would you choose?

Details: 
If you had to choose only one, which of the 6 would you choose?
5 years ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I'll take a swipe at it based on my experience over 6-7 years and reading what pros use. A 7' medium or heavy spinning rod in a graphite or similar #like a Carrot Stick# covers a lot of ground. I really like the Berkely Lightning Shock rod in 7' medium for largemouth and smallmouth, bowfin, and smaller catfish #under 10 lbs# from a jon boat or canoe.
1 year ago
by
 - Richmond VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
7' m
4 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
6'6"ft. med. light -most versitle all around size
4 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I actully bought 6 of these rods of different strengths. It all depends on what your useing it for. A good all around rod I would chose a Med action. This will be good for 7lb fish and less.
4 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Depending on your application i would say the 6'6 was a good all around choice
4 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Western Wisconsin
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
Expert Answer
A: 
I'd go with item number 38-161-334-00 since it suits my needs (line/lure weight) the best.
4 years, 11 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
5 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Small fish (crappie and bluegill versus bowfin and largemouth) in a 7' medium rod would work well. Medium is the maximum 'spine' strength and these rods are light and with a sensitive tip. You can feel slight nibbles yet pull in an 8-10 lb fish to boatside to net it or release the hook. I like the 7' medium for Virginia lakes and James river smallmouth and gar.
1 year ago
by
 - Richmond VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
medium light would be better if you want to feel the fight more.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Lake Villa, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
i would not use this rod, i would get another rod in a light or ultra light
3 years, 7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
i have the 6'6 rod medium and i works great for panfish and bass. i have a pfulger trion g7x on it and the combo cant be beat for the price. if you chose the med go 6-8 pound mono and thats it or else it gets a little hard to cast. i like to use rosster tails and i cast like a dream with 6 pound mono. this rod is amazing and cant be beat for $50. go with a light reel and you will have an awesome combo.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Oak Lawn, Illinois
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Med light gives you more sensitivity and medium gives a stifer rod for hook set
4 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Circleville, Ohio
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Like my freind used to say about Quail Hunting, If you got it pointed at them when you pull the trigger, it don't matter if it's a 12 gauge or 410.
Casting a ML with small baits is easier and less tiring than with a Med. If you use a good reel with the drag set correct, you can catch much larger fish than you think. I've landed 5 LB bass on a Wally Marshall 6 1/2 foot ML with 6 lb test line on a crappie jig, Just took a while. Good Luck
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Tennessee River
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Realy depends on how much fun you want to have. for pan fish I would go for the ML..........
4 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
Medium light will allow a faster tip action which gives the fish more time to take the bait. heightens the sensitivity and casting of small lures.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Western Wisconsin
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
it depends on the amount of action you want. If you want pull the fish in quick or if you want a good fight. I would go with the medium light rod. happy fishing!!
5 years, 2 months ago
by
 - greenville,nc
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I'm thinking of buying the rod, but i dont know what reel i should buy. I'm looking for a reel in the $30-50 range.
5 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Plainfield, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Closed to New Answers
0
0

Answers

A: 
Hands down the Pflueger President 6935 is the reel I would put on this rod. Load it with braid and a fluorocarbon leader.
6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I found 2 brands that are consistent and very smooth operating,,,, Shakespeare and Daiwa. the Daiwas 2500 is my favorite and the Shakespeare Supreme or President are both very nice.
1 year ago
by
 - Richmond VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
get the Mitchell 308XE i have had one for 5 years and it looks brand new and it works like it is brand new i have caught 12 pound bass on it. im from IL too man. i fish hard and long. this reel is my baby man.
2 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Lake Villa, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
IF YOU WANT TO STAY IN THE $30 TO $50 RANGE I WOULD GO WITH A BASS PRO BRAND OR I KNOW PFLEUGER HAS A REALLY NICE SPINNING REEL GOING FOR I THINK $39.99 AT BSP. THATS WHAT I HAVE ON MINE
3 years, 3 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Bass Pro Shops® Tourney Special® Baitcast Reel
3 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I paired my Lightning Rod Shock with an Abu Garcia Cardinal spinning reel. I have used that reel for over 5 years, from pond fishing to landing spots on Lake Lanier and it still performs great! It's just as smooth as the day I got it. I'm planning on buying another Lightning Rod Shock and Cardinal spinning reel pair.
4 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Pflueger president XT
4 years, 3 months ago
by
 - Indiana
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use a Shimano Sedona 2500FD
and Pflueger President 6730.
Both work excelent. Both are only a couple of bucks more than your high price.
4 years, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
I would recommend these to you:

Abu Garcia® Cardinal 100i Spinning Reel

Shimano Sonora 2500fb
4 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Western Wisconsin
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The combination of the Lighting Rod Shock at $49.95 and Pflueger President Reel at $59.95 are hard to beat at four times the money. The Berkley rod, although you may experience a backorder situation, is as good as a $250 GLoomis trout rod or a $150 Carrot Stix. The Pflueger President is very smooth operating 10 bearing reel. I only fish for fresh water trout and use the 6735X reel and the SHS701M Lighting Shock Rod. I am extremely please with that combination.
5 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Western North Carolina
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
5 answers

What is the rod made of?

Details: 
Is this a fiberglass rod or is it graphite or what?
5 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
It's a hybrid of both.
6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Graphite.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Kauai, hawaii
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
rod is made of graphite.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Phoenix/Whiteriver, AZ
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
Its like a hybrid i would say. Fiberglass plastic. the AMP is like a IM8. Shock is like glass wrapped plastic. i have broken one its medium to thin wall. strong though.
4 years, 9 months ago
by
 - Western Wisconsin
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
carbon fiber
5 years, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime