Free Shipping – No Minimum!

Free Shipping applies when you select economy shipping on internet orders shipped to US and Canadian addresses. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax) Excludes gift cards, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed. Cannot be combined with other promotion or offers.

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L4CW

Bass Pro Shops® Pro Qualifier® Spinning Reels

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Model
Retrieve
Gear Ratio Other specs Quantity Price & availability

PQ10

Left/Right

5.6:1

Line Capacity:
6/90

Ball Bearings:
7+1

Max Drag:
19.5 Lbs.

Recovery:
31" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
7.5
  • $69.99

  • SKU: 1653242

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

PQ20

Left/Right

5.1:1

Line Capacity:
8/80

Ball Bearings:
7+1

Max Drag:
19.5 Lbs.

Recovery:
33" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
10.4
  • $69.99

  • SKU: 1653243

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

PQ20H

Left/Right

6.1:1

Line Capacity:
8/80

Ball Bearings:
7+1

Max Drag:
19.5 Lbs.

Recovery:
39" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
10.4
  • $69.99

  • SKU: 1653244

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

PQ40

Left/Right

5.1:1

Line Capacity:
12/115

Ball Bearings:
7+1

Max Drag:
22 Lbs.

Recovery:
36" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11
  • $69.99

  • SKU: 1653245

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

PQ40H

Left/Right

6.1:1

Line Capacity:
12/115

Ball Bearings:
7+1

Max Drag:
22 Lbs.

Recovery:
43" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11
  • $69.99

  • SKU: 1653246

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

PQ50

Left/Right

5.1:1

Line Capacity:
14/160

Ball Bearings:
7+1

Max Drag:
22 Lbs.

Recovery:
40" Per Turn

Reel Weight (oz):
11
  • $69.99

  • SKU: 1653247

  • In Stock
  • Include 2 Yr Premium Accident Protection Plan

  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

  • Ultra-slim body design with tournament-proven performance
  • Lightweight anodized-aluminum body/sidecovers
  • Forged-aluminum spool
  • Mag Spool Technology™
  • 8-bearing system with Powerlock™ instant anti-reverse
  • Carbon Fiber Sealed Drag
  • Includes FREE spare aluminum spool

If you fish tournaments, you've seen plenty of Bass Pro Shops Pro Qualifier Spinning Reels in use. The reason: tourney anglers need smooth, reliable reels they can count on, and for many the Pro Qualifier Reel remains the hands-down performance standard. Our finest version yet has retained the ultra-slim body design, popular Mag Spool Technology™, and premium eight-bearing system with double-shielded stainless steel ball bearings and Powerlock™ instant anti-reverse. But we’ve added our Carbon Fiber Sealed Drag, a major upgrade for long-term smoothness, power, and consistency—you’ll love it! Meanwhile, all the tourney-grade features are here: the lightweight anodized-aluminum body/sidecovers; forged-aluminum spool; stainless steel bail wire and mainshaft; strong machined-aluminum handle. Includes a FREE spare aluminum spool.

Line recovery in inches per handle turn.

Click to view Product Manual

Rated 4.4 out of 5 by 107 reviewers.
Rated 5 out of 5 by replacement for johnny morris signature after 5 yrs my johnny morris signature spinning reel took a dump on me and with money being a little tight lately i decided to try the pro qualifier.so far so good.seems to be basically the same reel minus a bearing or two.doesn't cast quite as far as the jm signature but it definately gets the job done.haven't hooked up with a monster yet so i'mn not sure how the drag will be.good for the money in my opinion. August 23, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Reel I purchased the smallest version of this reel along with a Bass Pro Shop's 5&1/2 foot Bionic blade rod. This reel has it all. It's super-smooth; has a good drag that's easy to adjust and cranks in a lot of line for its size. I spooled it with 10 lb braided line. I am very pleased with this outfit. I fish mostly for Bass and panfish and have been using spinning gear for over 50 years. This reel will cast the "smallest" Bream or Crappie jig with ease. It also has the speed to fish any crankbait. I recommend this reel. July 3, 2013
Rated 5 out of 5 by great purchase my boys liked the reel they seamed to work great . July 2, 2013
Rated 4 out of 5 by Good Quiet Reel with Handle Issues This is a wonderfully quiet reel that allows for easy casting. The handle is the one drawback; it expands and contracts in an odd fashion that puts it in the way of reeling fish in at inopportune moments. June 20, 2013
<<prev 2 3 4 5 6 ... 27 next>>
9 Questions | 63 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
2 years, 6 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
No will not hold up
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
 - Northwest Arkansas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes. This is a good Striper reel and good for crappie, Lg and Sm mouth Bass.

A: 
My grandson uses it for large swimbaits(up to 5oz). He has caught 20# striper using a triple trout and 80# Suffix 832. Reel handled the striper as well as any of our baitcasters.
1 year, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It might be a little light for fish over 15 LB. I use an old PO40 model for mackeral and it is fantastic
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Pensacola Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes absolutley i've caught fish up to 30lbs with mine so far
2 years, 1 month ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
I specifically purchased this model for striper fishing, but have yet to hook any :) I'll be going out with a guide next weekend and hope it works. Ugly Stik makes a rod specifically designed for Striper fishing, called the "Uglk Stik Striper" rod, which is sold at Bass Pro online. I have been to the two Bass Pro stores in the DFW area and neither keeps this rod in stock, but you can have it shipped to your local store for $6. I didn't have the patience to wait, so I purchased this inshore rod instead.
2 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I'd have to look but I think its to let the line free spool back out.
4 months, 2 weeks ago
by
 - Duluth, MN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
To secure line. Slip tag end of line from
spool under button.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Canyon Coutry,CA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
Line Retainer
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Florence, MS
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Its not a button, its a clip you can slide the line under to hold it in place while the spools not in use. It only works when the line isn't ran through the guides on your rod, so basically use it on the spare spool it comes with so the line doesn't fly everywhere while its in your tackle box.
2 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Va Beach
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
It's just a place to wrap the end of the line around, a line holder, when you are storing the reel.
2 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
to detach the spool
2 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Lebanon PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Closed to New Answers
0
0

Answers

A: 
I would use the 40
1 year, 6 months ago
by
 - TN River/Chickamauga Lake, TN.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The PQ20 is the perfect size for bass fishing. the PQ40 would be much too large.
1 year, 9 months ago
by
 - Kinston, North Carolina
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
I use the PQ20 for finesse fishing and can throw unweighted plastics as far as I want to. I purchased a Extreme in the 50 size and found that even though it is a great reel it was just to big to use all day bass fishing. The PQ20 Works great for me.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Florence, MS
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have the 40, on a 7' med. heavy rod, not to big at all. Perfect Fit.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Crown Point, IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have them both. I use the 20 on a Mojo Bass medium-fast taper rod with 8 lb test., and I use the 40 on a Mojo Bass Medium/Heavy-fast taper with 30lb braid. They both work and balance very well.
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It really depends on the type of line you are using. If you are using super line, like fireline, you can get away with a smaller spool becuase the line is so thin.
3 years, 2 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Id say go with the 20. the 40 is overkill in my opinion.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Ft. Lauderdale
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
20 works for bass rods. I am using 12 lbs and does well with 1/4 ounce jigheads.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - littel rock ar
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I got the 40 and am pleased. It is not that big with the stubby design. It is bigger than the 20 but is a good all around reel.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - South Central, Missouri
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
the 40 series isn't much bigger than the 20 in terms of weight. Also the 40 series will hold more of the higher pound test lines.
3 years, 6 months ago
by
 - Mongtomery, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
Go with the 20 its all the reel you need for bass unless you are flipping/pitching. In that case a 40 would be the ticket but I would recommend a baitcast combo as my first choice for flipping/pitching by far over spinning gear . With the 20 use a med-med / hvy rod and for the 40 use med/hvy - hvy rod . There aren't many hvy bass spinning rods out there to had. If memory serves me right St. Croix has a 7'er through bass pro but I'm not sure which model rod it is though . Maybe the Avid . Anyway when you go to spinning rods narrow your selection by checking heavy only . Hope that helps you in some way . Good Luck and tight lines .
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
No Bail return is plastic broke 3rd time using it
3 months, 3 weeks ago
by
 - Northwest Arkansas
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use an old PO40 in the intercoastal and the bay as well as the gulf. I am very happy with it.
1 year, 10 months ago
by
 - Pensacola Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 250 Contributor
Top 250 Contributor
A: 
It seems to be a high quality reel but I would be careful in salt water conditions. I would make sure to rinse it very well with fresh water after use in salt water and change the line often. I have salt water specific equipment I use for inshore fishing and I use it for that purpose only.
1 year, 11 months ago
by
 - Florence, MS
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Probably, I don't use them in Saltwater, but I would recommend that you rinse them in freshwater when you are finished fishing.
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Absolutely! Just remember to rinse reel with fresh water after salt water use. You'll love it bro.
3 years ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
Yes, but you would be better suited to buy a reel made specifically for saltwater . Look at top of page under saltwater instead of freshwater . Look under offshore and inshore and there will be a ton of fine reels in the same price range and Basspro has a model very similiar to this one in offshore spinning . The Basspro reels are called offshore angler . Hope that helps out in some way . Good luck and tight lines!
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
yes they would be perfect, just wash and rinse afterwards.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
10 answers

how heavy line

Details: 
is 15 lb fluoro ok on this thing. if not,what is the heaviest i can use? thanks.
3 years, 11 months ago
Closed to New Answers
0
0

Answers

A: 
I purchased a PQ50 for my grandson to fish large swimbaits. It has Suffix 832 80# line on it which is suspose to be as large as 20# mono. It handles it with no trouble at all so far. Great Reel for the money.
1 year, 4 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Floro 15 will work great on a PQ40. I use this for white bass/stripers
1 year, 6 months ago
by
 - TN River/Chickamauga Lake, TN.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
It depends on the line i'm currently running 20lb(mono) on my extreme with 20lb(floro) leader but as far as spooling i wouldn't go past 17lb vanish floro i find it best suited for spinning gear.
2 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I think 15 is to heavy on any spin cast. Maybe 15 braid. I have 8# nano on mine.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Crown Point, IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
15 flourocarbon is what i use and its great.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - terre huate,indiana
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yeah it should be able to handle 15lb. I have been using 12lb. fluoro and it has no problems at all.
3 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Bainbridge, NY
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
15 lb would be fine on the 40 or 50 model. The other models would be too small.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Lebanon PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
I have 4/15 braid on one spool and 12# P-Line Floroclear on the other and it does well. I wouldn't recommend the 15# fluorocarbon unless your putting it on the 40 or 50 model reels . If you are bass fishing the 20 model will handle anything you will throw at it except maybe pitching/flipping and in most cases I would use a baitcaster for that technique anyway . If you plan on flipping/pitching then be sure to partner it up with a 7' medhvy/ fast-extrafast rod. Since you are asking about 15# test then I think I might suggest the 40 model but like I said if your not planning on flipping/pitching then the 20 model will be all the reel you need . I love mine .
3 years, 8 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
8 lb flouro is as heavy as I go on any spinning reel
3 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
You can use 15lb fluoro with these, they just won't get as deep. I typically use 12lb flouro with excellent results, but I also tend to fish a little deeper on the drop. These will run about 6' on 15lb...they get down around 7 with 12lb and 8 with 10...just rough figures
3 years, 11 months ago
by
 - Mongtomery, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I see the specs and understand that one reels in more line per crank than the other. I assume the PQ20H would be better for cranking hard baits. But is there a physical difference? Why choose one over the other?

Thanks!
4 years ago
by
 - SF Bay Area
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The 2 reels are identical other then the gear ratio. The PQ20H is faster then the PQ20, meaning it takes fewer rotations to get the lure/fish back to the boat. The "H" I assume stands for "high speed". If you are using crank baits you are actually better off using the reel with a lower gear ratio like the 5:1:1. Also using a baitcaster is better for cranks in my opinion. Hope this helps!
2 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Va Beach
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
The only difference is the gearing. I bought the high retrieve versions and love them.
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Retrieve is faster with the H which is what i have. The size is the same.
3 years, 4 months ago
by
 - littel rock ar
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
They are identicle on the outside . Only the insides are different in that the H model has much quicker line pickup . I guess you already knew that . Anyway I just would like to say that the slower ratio would be the best choice for crankbaits although truley an even better choice would be a 5.1 to 1 low profile baitcasting reel for cranking. Not sure why the crankbait recommendations have come into play in the first place but here is my two cents worth.
3 years, 8 months ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
the only diff is the retrieve ratio.someone throwing crankbaits may prefer a faster ratio.
4 years ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
1
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
There is no physical difference...the only difference is in the gearing internally. The PQ20H is the high speed version. You probably want the PQ20 for crankbaits since it will be a slower retrieve speed.
4 years ago
by
 - Mongtomery, IL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
1
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
what's a good rod to go with it for pier fishing?
4 years, 4 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The 40 is a good all round reel unless you fish for small fish like bream/perch
1 year, 6 months ago
by
 - TN River/Chickamauga Lake, TN.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
That depends on how big your fish are. I use a 7' medium heavy Abu Garica.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Crown Point, IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
I would get the 50 model to be on the safe side. You don't want a brute of a fish to screw up your reel.
3 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Lebanon PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
i would se the pq50 for pier fishing.
4 years ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes you could , as long as you are using proper drag settings , if you are looking for a winch then this reel might not be for you but if you want a reel that is light in weight and has a smooth drag then this reel is fine , I use a 7ft star med action for snook redfish and pompano for tarpon a 7ft 4 teramar
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Florida west coast
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Niagara river
4 years, 5 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i just recently managed to catch a 5 pound bass on the 10 model which means the bigger models can handle even more. you should be fine
2 years, 5 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Should be no problem
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Crown Point, IN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
humble321321..I fish the pq 40 model landed many bass that size using it. Basically, the 20 and 40's are Pflueger reels in disguise. Either model lands bass & walleye at 2-5 lbs. Check,drag before doing so & i suggest spooling up with the moss green P-Line,floreocarbon 'coated'. It works very well on these reels.
Images for this Answer
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
3 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Absolutely, I just recently caught a 7lb Brown Trout with my Pro qualifier 10 on 4 lb. flourocarbon. And it comes with an extra spool that you could use braided line on. I would actually use a backing of mono or a strip of duct tape around the spool before the braid. Good luck, have fun and please keep only what you'll use.
And don't forget to take a kid fishing.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - New Jersey
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
well I use this reel for 20lb snook and tarpon up to 70 80lb class but what makes it so great is the same reel works fine also for pompano and trout , I would reccomend the pq4000 for your type of fishing over the 5000 I hope this helps

Capt. Mark
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Florida west coast
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Absolutely !! Use a quality rod and 10 lb line (floro is my preference) and you will rock the socks off of those bass and eyes. I caught up to 10/15 lb flatheads and 7 lb channel cats and the reels handles great even in the 20 series.
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Cincinnati, OH
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
What are the differences between the JMS & the PQ? The only difference seems to be 11 bearings versus 8? All the specs are exactly the same (i.e. weight, drag power, line capacity, gear ratio, etc.). In fact, they look like the same exact reel on the outside with the only difference being the color. The only other unknown: Does the PQ have the same gear hardness and the sealed body that the JMS has? Anyone know for sure?

I am looking for two reels for my new CarbonLite 7’M & 7’MH. I will buy the PQ if it has the same sealed body & gears and the only difference is the bearing count…
4 years, 9 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I can't answer about the gear hardness and sealed body but i have owned both and used both alot. Both are great reels and function the same to me. Only difference i have found is $ for the JM!
1 year, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
Ah hah Grasshopper ,You seek the answer to the age old question good over even better. Let me start by saying I often don't have the answer myself,but in this case you can't go wrong either way you go.Yes they are the same in every way except more bearings on JMS model.I have both models and love them both.I use the pq 20 for whitebass and the JMS 10 for crappie fishing and both have made me look like a pro, even if only in my own mind. My advise is if your only going to buy these two and it is for bass,crappie,or walleye or someother type of species that often requires a lot sesitivity to detect the light bite get the JMS.If you are buying for less sensitivity required fishing techniques then go for the PQ model. Again I'd like to reiterate that both are good all around reels. It's just that my experience tells me that out on the water I like to give Myself every advantage I can. Ultimately this gives me all the confidence I can get from my gear.That might sound a little crazy but for sure I know lots of other fishermen that feel the same way. Hope this helps you but if your like me you'll have to answer this question again a few more times before your convinced of a strategy of choosing that you have confidence in. By the way those rods are very good choices for these reels . I would choose a 20 size model for both of these rods . The 20 size is all you need for these rods .Lots of people use more reel than is needed on spinning rods. Good Luck and Happy fishing!
4 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I can't answer the question about gear hardness & sealed body, but I use both the PQ & the JMS and honestly can't tell the difference!
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Des Moines, IA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes it is sealed, I use both. Enjoy
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - New Jersey
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I cant speak for the JM reel but i can tell you I have never had any issues with pinion gears at all with the PQ reels using them in saltwater for tarpon and snook ,I feel these reels will set off your carbonlite rods , example from archery to take vibration out of your compound bow you add weight or mass like a stabalizer , the same effect happens to your graphite fishing rods , If you take a high end rod you paid for that feel and sensitivity . you add a heavy reel such a saltwater over built reel and alot off that goes away ,
I hope this helps with your decision
4 years, 4 months ago
by
 - Florida west coast
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 1000 Contributor
Top 1000 Contributor
A: 
The JM is stronger... Not sure about the gears, I've taken them both apart and they look the same... but little things like the rear accent & line roller/bail assembly are graphite coated to look like metal on the PQ and are actual metal on the JM... I'll put it too you like this I bought a PQ during the classic on sale... 3 hours into my first day fishing with it I was in love... that night I noticed a chip in the finish on the roller/bail assembly... Which was created by the back of the handle when walking with it folded down... The Handle is super strong almost like raw metal on the PQ... I drove 3 hours to take it back a few weeks later... But they had neither the PQ or JM available so I kept it... I know the chip is there but nothing has happened since and I still fish my PQ20H every day... I now own two JMs and have bought another PQ... Are they the same no... You get what you pay for... But they should both cost WAY more... My advice if you can afford the extra $$$ go with the JM

Tight Lines
4 years, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime