Bass Pro Shops® Johnny Morris® Signature Series II Trigger Rods

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

6'8"

Medium

Action:
X Fast

Line Weight:
8-17 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
A

Model:
JML68MT

6'8"

Med Hvy

Action:
X Fast

Line Weight:
10-20 lbs.

Lure Weight:
3/8 - 1 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
A

Model:
JML68MHT

7'2"

Med Hvy

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
10-20 lbs.

Lure Weight:
3/8 - 1 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
B

Model:
JML72MHT

7'2"

Medium

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
10-20 lbs.

Lure Weight:
3/8 - 1 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
B

Model:
JML72MT

7'6"

Heavy

Action:
X Fast

Line Weight:
12-30 lbs.

Lure Weight:
3/8 - 2 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
C

Model:
JML76HT
  • Super-high-grade 85 million modulus graphite blank
  • Industry-leading Type 1 Slit Carbon Powerwall construction
  • Exclusive carbon cloth butt wrap for unprecedented strength
  • Fuji® New Concept stainless steel K-guides with Alconite® rings
  • Premium molded split handles with ultra-comfortable P-Tec polyfoam grips
  • Our super-low-profile two-piece exposed-blank reel seat with a Soft Touch finish    
There isn't a fish alive that can trash this rod; we've proven that. And our customers confirm that no other rod, at any price, can match it for sensitivity. The Johnny Morris Signature Series II Rod combines the proven performance features of the original series--one of the world's lightest, toughest, best handling rods--with some hot upgrades, without altering the core. Proven performance features include super-high-grade 85 million modulus graphite blank, industry-leading Type 1 Slit Carbon Powerwall construction, and exclusive carbon cloth butt wrap for unprecedented strength. Upgraded features include Fuji New Concept stainless steel K-guides with Alconite rings, premium molded split handles with ultra-comfortable P-Tec polyfoam grips, and our super-low-profile two-piece exposed-blank reel seat with a Soft Touch finish. 10 guides including tip.
Rated 4.6 out of 5 by 40 reviewers.
Rated 1 out of 5 by Rod isn't that light The adds made the rod seem extremely light. I have other rods that are lighter. I do like the reel that came with the combo. May 24, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Just when I thought it couldn"t get better I have always used the Signature rods and just when I thought they couldn't get any better, Bass Pro comes out with yet another better rod! This rod is light, sensitive, strong and very well made at a reduced price! You will not find a better rod at any price. May 23, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by Great Rod I'm very impressed with the 7' 2" Bass Pro Shops® Johnny Morris® Signature Series II Trigger Rod I purchased. It is light weight sensitive, and does not sacrifice on power. I have found that this is a great all around rod. I like it a lot for pitching soft plastics. I have also fished spinnerbaits, Chatterbaits, Texas rigged worms, jigs, and hollow bodied swimbaits with this rod and it handled it all. Also, I like the poly foam grips. I paired it with a Pro Qualifier, and now I have an affordable set up that can handle a lot of techniques. May 17, 2011
Rated 5 out of 5 by great value/great product Why are people giving this rod 3 of 5 stars, and 1 of 5 stars?? Did someone really buy a 7'6" rod and then say its too long?!?....Also, the guides on this rod aren't the best available, but they will last as long as the rod. There is by no means a dramatic or noticeable increase in weight. Great rod at a great price! Thank you Mr. Morris for finding ways to keep your quality products down in price without sacrificing quality. Don't know of anyone else who lowered their prices so dramatically to show customers that they are valued! I would have liked to seen an eva foam screw down on this rod to hold the reel in place though. This would have put the rod over the top! To have this option would be worth the price increase, because, lets face it, every detail counts! April 21, 2011
<<prev 6 7 8 9 10 next>>
8 Questions | 35 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
 
Q: 
1 answer

Is this rod telescopic

2 days ago
by
 - SW Florida
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Staff Answer
A: 
This rod is not available with the telescopic handle
2 days ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Details: 
I was just wondering which rod you would recommend for pitching and flipping.
1 year, 9 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I have 4 flippin rods but always lean towards the 7'10" Wild Green, HEAVY from Carrot Stix. My back-up is the Johnny Morris Sig Series 7'10" HEAVY. I use heavy to get out of thick grass.
1 year, 8 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Best Answer
A: 
Go with the 7'6" HEAVY or longer if available in the Johnny Morris series. I liked the Extreme 7'10" when they made it with the rod balancing kit for the handle. These are heavy rods for pitching 1/2 - 2oz jigs. I would recommend purchasing a separate rod balancing kit from BPS to even the weight distribution and a reel that has a flipping switch. The Extreme reel used to have a model that had the flipping switch, but I dont think the newer 2012 models do.
1 year, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

Specs

Details: 
It looks like the two 7'2" rods have the "other specs" flip-flopped between the MH and M. Am I mistaken?

MH:
Line Weight: 8-17 lbs.
Lure Weight: 1/4 - 5/8 oz.

M:
Line Weight: 10-20 lbs.
Lure Weight: 3/8 - 1 oz.
1 year, 10 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes, you can use this rod for flipping and pitching, and I use it with 1/2 ounce jigs.
1 year ago
by
 - Savannah, TN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
you are correct it was a typo I have both the JM2 m and mh
1 year, 6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Jackattack 1, you are correct....they are flipped. Good catch!
1 year, 7 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
3 answers

long handle?

Details: 
Is the handle on the 7'2 MH rod too long? Online it looks pretty long. (I have a 6'9 MH carbonlite and I like the length of that handle so I'm wondering if this handle is a lot longer than my carbonlite.) Thanks.
2 years, 8 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
The 7'2" rod is basically a 7' rod with an extra 2" of handle. I personally think the handle size is perfect but if you are happy with the 6'9" handle then this may not be the rod size for you.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
 - grand rapids
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
No it is not, and believe me you will like it. I know I do!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Connecticut
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Well i bought it for cranking and got it in the mail and saw it has Spinnerbait wrote on it. Im not much on eight foot rods. its not too long in my opinion
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Franklin VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 1 month ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
I has upgraded guides and an extra wrap of carbon fiber around the butt section of the handle to add to strength
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
 - grand rapids
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I think so. I have both and use them both. I think the graphite rod is still a wee bit more sensative.
1 year ago
by
 - Savannah, TN
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yes!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Connecticut
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
dont know if its better than a carbonlite i like it because of the coarse grain cork and power hump grip. Still a BPS made rod so im sure theyre close
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Franklin VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes...the guides are the new Fuji K ,they have a slant towards the tip of the rod,if your using braid it eliminates line tangle on the the guides.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
 - san francisco ,CA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
practically the same composition,both are excellent.
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
This rod and the carbon black rod have the same blank as the the one on the previous Johnny Morris Elite and Signature Seriers rods . The deference is the grips and eyes and color and graphics . That being said I don't own one of these newer versions but do have a Elite 7' med/fast and it is awesome . A little heavier than most $200-$400 rods but they are more durable blanks and very very sensitive and rate as equals to my more exspensive rods in sensitivity . The small amount of extra weight is not enough to make rods hard to handle when using all day for sure . That little extra weight makes them much more ding an scratch resistant than the new extremely light weight IM-10 rods out there . I have two carbonlite rods now and they are slightly lighter but not much . They are sensitive but not on par with the signature series blanks . As far as the eyes go the signature series has better eyes than the carbon lights thats why when I go back to BassPro tomorrow I'm buying a new signature 7'2" med/fast over another carbonlight . Hope that helps you out in some way . Good luck and tight lines !
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
8 answers

is this one piece or two?

3 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 25 Contributor
Top 25 Contributor
A: 
one piece, this saves weight and allows for more sensitivity
5 months, 2 weeks ago
by
 - grand rapids
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
One!
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Connecticut
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
dont know if two pc is an option mine is uno and i wouldnt own a two pc
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Franklin VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I bought the 7'2" it is one pc.
2 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i bought the 6ft 8 and it is a one piece i thing they r all 1 piece
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
One piece
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
These are one piece rods . As far as bass rods or actually anyother type of rods go they are all one piece unless they are listed as two-piece or more . They will tell you if they are two or more in the description or in the individual rod descriptions and usually it is in the latter of the two descriptions . Hope that helps you out . Good luck and tight lines !
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
these are all 1 pc rods.
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
Im going to have this paired with a johnny morris gold series and 14-17lb fluorocarbon and Im going to use it for nearly everything (cranks, spinners, jigs, plastics) except topwater. Ill be using my revo stx and a mojo bass with braid for topwater and heavy cover. I dont want to go bigger than the 6'8 but is the MH gonna to be too stiff?
3 years, 2 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Try a 7' 2" MH
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Connecticut
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
bought it just for crankbaits. Not TOO stiff but not too flimsy. Good resonance for feeling baits vibe.
2 years, 7 months ago
by
 - Franklin VA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
no i bought 6ft 8 it is super strong but still sensative
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Fishing rods are made for different applications. Texas rigged worms and jigs are usually fished with a MH. Usually cranks are fished with a medium or medium light action. If you are limited to having only one rod then go to a medium action.
2 years, 10 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I think that you could use the 6'8" MH for certain cranking applications, such as shallow cranking in cover/brush/sticks, etc. If I were you, I would really try to find a cranking rod for most of your other crankbait fishing. Try to find a 6'6 to 7' MH with a moderate or moderate fast action. You won't regret it, it really does play the fish better and lets the fish get more of the bait in its mouth, which aids in initial hook-up.
2 years, 11 months ago
by
 - St. Louis MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
Medium
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 10 Contributor
Top 10 Contributor
A: 
The answer depends on the action and power of your mojo rod . If it is being used in heavy cover then I will assume that it is a med/hvy or hvy power rod and if it is you don't need another one in a two rod arsenal . I would go with a med/fast rod to compliment your other rod offering you a better range of techniques with a rod better suited to them . Also if you do go med. I would definately consider 12# line for all around test for a med. rod . One thing to consider would be to get extra spools for each reel to even further set up more precise presentations for individual techniques . Also another thing to consider is the 7'2" med rod because its a fast action which if fishing cranks you will be much happier with it over a extrafast action rod . A even more precise rod for cranking alone is a 7'-7'10" med/mod rod with even more give than a fast action rod . With a two rod system the the fast is the the middle of the rod do all rod . Just remember to be easy with the fish and to back off your drag the closer you get it to the boat when landing them while cranking and to doulble set the rod on spinnerbaits and plastics unless the hook is small gauge hooks and then one good hook set will usually suffice. Hope that helps you in some way .
3 years, 1 month ago
by
 - Inola Okla.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
3 years, 3 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
Yes
2 years, 5 months ago
by
 - Connecticut
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Thata exactly what I bought, it iss also 1 pc. Love it.
2 years, 9 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
JML72MHT
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 50 Contributor
Top 50 Contributor
A: 
JML72MHT
is MH action and 7'2"
3 years, 2 months ago
by
 - Hickory NC
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 of 1
1 of 1

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime