Free Shipping on orders $50+ No code needed.

For a limited time: no oversize shipping charge on rods!

Select the "Economy Shipping" option at checkout.

Free Shipping on orders of $50 or more applies to economy shipping only to US and Canadian addresses on all internet or phone merchandise orders. (Canadian orders will be charged a $3.50 brokerage fee, duty and tax.) Excludes gift cards, orders shipped outside of the US and Canada, expedited or additional shipping and hazardous, special fees. Shipping charges on previous orders will not be reimbursed.

You may also order by calling 1-800-BASS-PRO (1-800-227-7776). Give the phone representative key code L5HA.

Bass Pro Shops Johnny Morris CarbonLite CL Series Spinning Rod

   

Sale price: Clearance price: Starting at: Sale starting at: Clearance starting at: Reg. price:

Length Power Other specs Quantity Price & availability

6'6"

Medium

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
4-12 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 1/2 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
C

Model:
CL66MSF
  • $99.99

  • SKU: 1645467

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

6'6"

Med Hvy

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
6-17 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
C

Model:
CL66MHSF
  • $99.99

  • SKU: 1645468

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

7'

Medium

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
4-12 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/8 - 1/2 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
D

Model:
CL70MSF
  • $99.99

  • SKU: 1645471

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

7'

Med Hvy

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
6-17 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/4 - 5/8 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
B

Model:
CL70MHSF
  • $99.99

  • SKU: 1645472

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

9'

Med Lt

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
4-10 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/16 - 3/8 oz.

Pieces:
2

Handle Chart Reference:
E

Model:
CL90MLSM-2PC
  • $99.99

  • SKU: 1751644

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

5'6"

Ultra Light

Action:
Fast

Line Weight:
1-6 lbs.

Lure Weight:
1/32 - 1/4 oz.

Pieces:
1

Handle Chart Reference:
A

Model:
CL56ULS
  • $99.99

  • SKU: 1875111

  • In Stock
  • Add to Cart

    Add to Wish List

The featherweight 85 million modulus carbon fiber blank provides the ultimate combination of extreme power and mind-blowing sensitivity. The Bass Pro Shops® Johnny Morris® CarbonLite™ CL Series Spinning Rod features featherlight, stealth-black, Pac Bay DLC stainless steel-frame guides with super-hard titanium-carbide inserts and a unique PVD (physical vapor deposition) coating to make them extra-slick and damage-resistant. Ideal for traditional monofilament or modern superline braids! Ultra-lightweight two-piece P-Tec polyfoam grips with plenty of blank exposure so you can feel the lightest pick-ups; super-light two-piece Soft Touch reel seat with max blank contact. The bottom line with these rods is this: you’ve never held a spinning rod so light, and you’ll be so amazed by the way it performs, you won’t want to stop fishing with it. Try one today!

  • 85 million modulus carbon fiber blank
  • Pac Bay DLC stainless steel framed guides
  • Works great with mono, fluoro, or superlines
  • Almost weightless space-age P-Tec polyfoam grips
  • Two-piece Soft Touch reel seat with maximum blank exposure
Bass Pro Shops® Johnny Morris® CarbonLite™ Series Spinning Rods 4.3 5 95 95
Not so good!! I just puchased the 7"2 foot spinning rod and made my first cast with it and it snapped in half right in the middle of the rod. My lure never made it to the water. So needless to say, very disappointing. I am going to get another one and hope this was just a defect. I will write again to let you know how it performs... May 7, 2012
Love 'em I bought two. The action is great for my Pflueger Presidents. And they look awesome. I really like the design and style. I would recommend them. April 27, 2012
6'6" Med Fast Action This rod casts a country mile. I usually fish my St. Croix Premier and this Carbonite outcasts it by a LONG SHOT. It's INCREDIBLY SENSITIVE & LIGHT but don't be fooled into thinking it doesn't have a solid backbone b/c it does. For those whining about how it's fragile, I don't know what to tell you. I put mine through the ringer today and it performed exceptionally well. I'm fishing my 6'6 Carbonite with a Pfleuger President reel and I couldn't be happier. I would recommend the rod to anyone who wants a solid rod that's extremely sensitive, light, and can cast forever. April 17, 2012
Carbonlite I wouldn't pay too much attention to the negative reviews of this rod snapping on the hookset. Just read the reviews on other 85 million modulus (IM9) graphite rods. They all have the same problem. Graphite makes them lightweight and brittle and if you score them like scoring sheetrock that little cut is the weak spot wear it breaks on the hookset or lifting a 2 pound fish into the boat. If you throw them in the bed of a truck with nails, screws, tool boxes etc and are ruff on rods buy an ugly stick, not these. If you like these more expensive graphite rods you need to baby them as much as possible because of the materials they are made of. Get a deep scratch that you may not see and chances are that's where it'll break. I use these rods for all kinds of fish. I have caught a 16lb. and several 10 to 12 lb. carps on these rods and have not had one break yet. If I get a pretty good nick on the rod, say the second or third eye down then I pretty much already know that's were it's going to break sometime soon on a hookset. Take care of these rods & be more careful and easy with them than you would your ugly sticks & you should get good service out of them. Mine are over a year old (4 of them) and not a broken one yet. Got one carp that would have gone 20 plus pounds but it broke me off when I tightened the drag down & tried to horse him in. Line broke not the rod. Graphite rods breaking is pretty common with about every brand there is and you can see it in the reviews. It's just the nature of the beast when it comes to graphite. Need bullet proof rods go with fiberglass first, composite second. This rod is a nice bang for the buck no ifs, ands, or buts about it. Anyone saying this rod is junk is just plain foolishness. My 4 have not given me a problem in the last 14 months I have had them. April 6, 2012
<<prev23456...24next>>
19 Questions | 70 Answers

Outdoor Answers

Get help about this item from fellow customers.

Ask your questions. Share your answers.

 
 
Browse Q&A
 
 
Sort by
Details: 
I was wondering if anyone has fished 3/4 oz. lipless crankbaits (or other lures of the same weight) on this rod and if so how it has hadled them. I currently have a MH Tourney Special and the MH power rating is the same as this rod. On the Tourney Special I can throw 3/4 oz. lipless crankbaits without putting much stress on the rod and land largemouth bass up to 5 lbs. I am interested in upgrading to this rod paired with a shimano stradic FJ 3000 and 10 lb. test berkely xt as an "all around" spinning setup.
1 week, 6 days ago
Answer this Question
0
0
 
Q: 
1 answer

5'6 ultralight question?

Details: 
I just bought one, and is it just me or is the guide, the one next to the reel seat, oversized or something for this model? I put a picture for reference! It doesn't look proportionate to the other guide compared to other rods i saw at bass pro, It looks like a guide they would use on a 7' foot rod.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
The rod has more casting ability, so it needs a larger guide to allow the line to disburse properly. My 6'6" rod casts better than my 7' and 7'6" Gloomis
1 month, 2 weeks ago
by
 - Venice, FL
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
be totally honest my friend has one of both and i own the regular carbonlite imho there is no difference in performance
1 month ago
by
 - mechaincsburg, PA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
just bought a carbonlite and tip broke in the first hour!!! returning it.
3 months, 2 weeks ago
by
 - columbia sc
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I was just wondering how well does it handle fireline original fused, I know it's titanium guides, but I was just wondering does it cut into the guides when your battling big large-mouth or trying to unsnag your lure?
3 months, 2 weeks ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
I own one of them medium power. Very satisfied with that one, I use braid on it for deep fishing and mono for finesse and weightless applications... Never had any problem, even when I caught a 25 lbs carp on it while I was jigging for bass with braided line on the reel... The guides look very thin but they are good quality.
2 months, 1 week ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I use power pro 20 to 30lb and have had no guide issues. The guides are interesting, it almost looks like they are missing a ring. Nonetheless they perform very well with braid
3 months, 1 week ago
by
 - south jersey
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
I love it for drop shotting. I use a 7' Medium Fast spinning setup.
3 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i have a 6'6" mh with a plueger president 2000size and it works great for drop shotting. Also, i swap out the reel with the bps extreme 2000 with 20-30lb power pro, and i'm ready to fish the slop with topwater frogs. Its a good all around rod...one of the few true multi purpose rods
6 months ago
by
 - south jersey
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have this drop shot rod and I love it. I know people who use the carbonlites as well and swear by them so its really a matter of personal preference. Both are quality rods.
7 months ago
by
 - Boston MA
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
7 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
I believe they have a one year warranty but it is handled through their main location.
3 months, 1 week ago
by
 - south jersey
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Yeah, they have a 1 year warranty. Just have your receipt when you take it in.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
yes there is a 1 year warranty in store.
6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
8 months ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
i have the mh and it has no problems with the slop. i use it %95 of the time fishing for snakehead in heavy cover and it works great..the crazy part about this rod is with a 3000 size reel and braid its a beast for frogging, then i throw on my plueger president 2000 with 8lb fluro and its great for drop shotting..its a very strong rod, yet sensitive enough for multiple applications
8 months ago
by
 - south jersey
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
My Carbonlite has a really soft tip. Not sure I would recommend it for your application. Good rod for the money. I have 2.
8 months ago
by
 - Shell Knob, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
Details: 
I want to buy a good rod for skipping wacky rigged worms and ika's under docks. What would be a good setup?
1 year ago
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
6'6" Med Fast Action is best for skipping super flukes and other soft plastics under docks and other structure.
5 months, 2 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
Honestly your best bet is a St. Croix Mojo inshore rod, nice and light with incredible casting let alone feel and cheap in comparison to others.
10 months ago
by
 - Boca Grande, Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
The shorter rods work better for aiming under docks.
1 year ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Staff Answer
A: 
Just wanted to suggest that you may enjoy the video in the Outdoor Site Library with Wally Marshall "Shooting Docks with Mr. Crappie". His set up, of course, is for crappie, but he's got some tips that will translate for any species.
1 year ago
by
 - Springfield, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
 
Q: 
6 answers

jigs to cranks

Details: 
im thinking about buying a carbon lite but i still got some questions i must know before i make any purchases. i am looking for the shortest and most sensitive/flexible pole for the style i will be fishing. i need a pole that will be very sensitive for jigging but need something that will be able to chuck out crank baits and poppers and handle good size bass as well as trout, i was thinking of the 6'6" M, Fast or MH, Fast. if if anyone could tell me whether these would work out well or make other suggestions i would greatly appreciate it!
1 year, 3 months ago
by
 - Yakima Washington
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

A: 
this rod is very sensitive. i used it today and landed 2 brown trout. i also used it for walleyes for jigging. i feel everything. i have the 7 ft M fast. i love the rod.
6 months ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have the carbonlite 6'6 MF and its amazing for jigging, also a nice trout rod you wont be disappointed with these especially for the price.
10 months ago
by
 - Boca Grande, Fl
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
i use a medium lite for crankbaits/poppers on black bass and stripe/and reasonably sized catfish...also for trout . I do not use it for jigging. I would recommend the medium 6.6 to do it all..... the Medium heavy to me is too stout. I use shimano 3000 symetre reels on the two rods i have and am planning on buying two more carbonlites MH for my shimano 4000 reels for hybrids/rockfish and large cats...hope this helped...........
1 year, 2 months ago
by
 - tullahoma , tn
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I have the 7' M. Great sensitivity for jigs. I use this rod for bass/pike, using jigs/spinners. The cranks work well also. Rod is smooth, so put a good reel on it to compliment it. Average to good size bass around here is 4-6 lbs. Handles them with ease. Good fishin!
1 year, 2 months ago
by
 - S.W. PA.
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
I have a Carbon Lite baitcaster. It is a good rod. Caution on the spinning rods. The guides are too big for the tubes in a rod box.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
 - Shell Knob, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

A: 
I believe it would perform quite nice with what you want.
1 year, 3 months ago
by
 - McMinnville
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - Atlanta
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
Answer this Question
0
0

Answers

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
They already do
3 months, 3 weeks ago
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 100 Contributor
Top 100 Contributor
A: 
Micro guides would be great. But, beware of the first line guide up from your reel. If you have a tube system in your rod box, it won't fit.
1 year, 2 months ago
by
 - Shell Knob, MO
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting

Top 500 Contributor
Top 500 Contributor
A: 
Yes they are out now with micro guides also check out the carbon black rods there awesome as well
1 year, 4 months ago
by
 - Mesquite TX
Read all my Q&A (read all my Q&A)
0
0
Vote as Best Answer
Thanks for Voting
2next>>

Get help about this item from fellow customers.
Ask your questions. Share your answers.

19 Questions | 70 Answers
2next>>

Need Help? 7 days a week: 7am to 10pm CT or call 1.800.227.7776 anytime